PDA

View Full Version : Crashes to Desktop and JVM.dll Errors - TIPS



XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 06:07 PM
Some of you may be experiencing a Crash to Desktop while playing IL2:FB. Sometimes you'll get an error message about the JVM.dll, sometimes it's just CTD with no notice. Even some of us that feel they have their system totally "in control" are getting this crash.

One possible relation is if you have an nVIDIA card and the newest RC of Riva Tuner... Read on.

Here's some tips and some advice (but not a solution-yet).

<div style="font-face:trebuchet ms;font-size:12px;background:#222222;color:#ffffff;">

<LI>If your computer is overclocked, use the default clock setting and CPU multiplier for a day or two while testing FB.


<LI>If your Video Card is overclocked, use the default driver and/or hardware settings for the clock speed of your memory (this is easiest to do if you're using Riva Tuner).


<LI>If you're running WHQL nVIDIA Forceware 52.16, uninstall, reboot, and reinstall a version of the nVIDIA drivers as suggested in Oleg's Thread Here (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=Olegmaddoxreadyroom&id=zucvm).


<LI>If you're using any of the Check Six "Java" file packages, Sun's Java Package as a replacement of what shipped with FB, you're kinda on your own here. Test a fresh install and patch of FB to 1.2 RC01 as outlined in my post here (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=Olegmaddoxreadyroom&id=ztyax).


<LI>Although likely not necessary, it wouldn't hurt to reinstall DirectX 9.x from Microsoft (http://www.microsoft.com/directx).


<LI><span style="background:yellow;color:black;">There is an error file generated</span> in your Forgotten Battles folder immediately when this crash occurs. I believe it ends in *.pid or something like that. It's a simple text file. Attach this file to an e-mail or copy the contents of the file to the clipboard and paste into an e-mail message to the bug reporting email AND to the Technical Support forum.

</div>

If any of these steps begin to clear the problem up, start with one thing and change it back to the way you had it (e.g. overclocking, etc.) until the crash occurs again. It can be a tedious process, but it's the only way to isolate problems.

The Java engine has not changed in IL2:FB since the CD installation.

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 06:07 PM
Some of you may be experiencing a Crash to Desktop while playing IL2:FB. Sometimes you'll get an error message about the JVM.dll, sometimes it's just CTD with no notice. Even some of us that feel they have their system totally "in control" are getting this crash.

One possible relation is if you have an nVIDIA card and the newest RC of Riva Tuner... Read on.

Here's some tips and some advice (but not a solution-yet).

<div style="font-face:trebuchet ms;font-size:12px;background:#222222;color:#ffffff;">

<LI>If your computer is overclocked, use the default clock setting and CPU multiplier for a day or two while testing FB.


<LI>If your Video Card is overclocked, use the default driver and/or hardware settings for the clock speed of your memory (this is easiest to do if you're using Riva Tuner).


<LI>If you're running WHQL nVIDIA Forceware 52.16, uninstall, reboot, and reinstall a version of the nVIDIA drivers as suggested in Oleg's Thread Here (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=Olegmaddoxreadyroom&id=zucvm).


<LI>If you're using any of the Check Six "Java" file packages, Sun's Java Package as a replacement of what shipped with FB, you're kinda on your own here. Test a fresh install and patch of FB to 1.2 RC01 as outlined in my post here (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=Olegmaddoxreadyroom&id=ztyax).


<LI>Although likely not necessary, it wouldn't hurt to reinstall DirectX 9.x from Microsoft (http://www.microsoft.com/directx).


<LI><span style="background:yellow;color:black;">There is an error file generated</span> in your Forgotten Battles folder immediately when this crash occurs. I believe it ends in *.pid or something like that. It's a simple text file. Attach this file to an e-mail or copy the contents of the file to the clipboard and paste into an e-mail message to the bug reporting email AND to the Technical Support forum.

</div>

If any of these steps begin to clear the problem up, start with one thing and change it back to the way you had it (e.g. overclocking, etc.) until the crash occurs again. It can be a tedious process, but it's the only way to isolate problems.

The Java engine has not changed in IL2:FB since the CD installation.

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 07:13 PM
bump

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 07:20 PM
Thank you, Tolwyn.

However, I am not convinced that it has to do with graphics card, because this error was occuring while I was using Savage4 card (now GF Ti4200).

Error file is named hs_err_pid##########.log.

Will look into info you provided.

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 09:48 PM
Right. It's not SPECIFICALLY graphic related.

However, I can almost generate this problem in about 5 minutes if I try Perfect mode with my TI4600 with Forceware 52.16 (not recommended).

I'm just saying the error is more consistent with this scenario.

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 10:55 PM
tolwyn.com wrote:
- Right. It's not SPECIFICALLY graphic related.
-
- However, I can almost generate this problem in about
- 5 minutes if I try Perfect mode with my TI4600 with
- Forceware 52.16 (not recommended).
-
- I'm just saying the error is more consistent with
- this scenario.

Nothing technical to add, just a "me too"... Ti4600, 52.16 official drivers. When I first installed the patch I was getting CTD's on "Loading Landscape" with error messages left in the Il-2:FB directory. I uninstalled FB, re-installed, patched to 1.1, then to 1.2 RC01, and the problem didn't come back.

I should have saved the error messages but I didn't. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Anyhow I think there's some sort of issue with newer NVIDIA drivers and "Perfect" mode that gives a Java error.

XyZspineZyX
11-13-2003, 11:57 PM
Majesty...

Check your conf.ini

Under OpenGL (if you're using OpenGL)...

do you have Hardware shaders enabled (1) ?

XyZspineZyX
11-14-2003, 03:31 PM
I am not running the beta, but I have caught a JVM error once (which returned me to desktop) in version 1.11. Some people have reported it occurring often /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif .

<center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_potter_anim.gif (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>

[EDIT: Oops, I didn't quite complete my thought here...I think maybe my 32MB nVidia card is part of the problem because 1) 32MB is probably not nearly enough texture memory for large FB maps [1C/Ubi recommends 64MB] with many planes 2) Most crashes I had seemed to occurr after running a number of missions with up to 8 different aircraft types. So, I think it might be that textures stored either in video memory (most likely), or textures/models/etc. cached in RAM are clogging up storage. Perhaps, the textures in video memory may not be actively purged each time a mission is completed, and "stuff" in main memory is not being "garbage collected"/recycled between missions--eventually, leading to an out of memory condition. The fact that I had a crash in JVM might just be coincidental because it was the routine executing code when memory ran out (or maybe it is the very java routines actively loading bitmap textures which stopped when memory was exhausted--just a speculation on my part)

Thanks again for taking the time to post suggestions. I think my <u>infrequent</u> problem will go away once I buy better hardware.]

Message Edited on 11/15/03 03:38AM by rbstr44

Message Edited on 11/15/0312:04PM by rbstr44

XyZspineZyX
11-14-2003, 07:55 PM
I'm only suggesting some steps to try to isolate what is causing the problem.

I too have received the error probably 3 times since FB has been released.

XyZspineZyX
11-14-2003, 08:56 PM
For what it worth I have had extensive FB trials with both a GForce2 Pro 32 meg and an ATI 9500 Pro 128 Meg.

Under both WIN 98se and XP Pro FB performance was identical through both cards and numerous drivers. Boot the game and within 15 minutes max the vjm.dll crash would show up.

With all the changes I have made to this machine the only things I have not changed is the sound card itself and the motherboard.

Check my hardware, do we have anything in common?

Abit KT7a-Raid (VIA KT133a Chipset)
Athlon 2100+ Palamino
512 Meg (2x256) Muskin Rev2 HP PC133 ram
Hercules Fortissimo II sound card
ATI 9500 Pro 128