PDA

View Full Version : 60 fps on consoles in 1v1's for competitive play

CalZeray
04-02-2017, 12:39 AM
Intro

I was always super excited for this game before it came out and i when i started playing i realized how it was framelocked at 30 fps for every mode even for 1v1 modes. Now that makes me very confused when it comes to competitive play and i'm going to break down this issue and talk about what the framelock is and what it does at high-level play as well as what we can do as a community to fix this issue and really take this game to the next level. All images and videos belong to their respective owner.

What is framelock?

http://blog.logicalincrements.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/fpsillustration.png

Frame locking is something the game devs incorporate in their titles when they want to achieve a constant refresh or repetition rate for each image in a game during a specific time interval. When they framelock a game at 30 fps (frames per second) the devs are looking to make the image repeat at a consistent rate per second no more and no less so that your eyes can stay immersed. In for honor's case, that repetition rate is 30 repetitions for one second. Let's say you're playing a game that is framelocked at 60 and your hardware can't keep up with the game then you'll experience drops in frame rate. So if you saw an explosion from up close in a shooter then your game would become instantly more choppy and the immersion would be broken. It also depends on the severity of the framedrop so if it's 3 frames that are dropped every time the game become chaotic than it's not that bad but if it's 20 frames in a game that runs at 60 fps then framelocking is a good thing.

How does it affect For Honor's competitive play?