PDA

View Full Version : Computer won't shut down or reboot any more?



1.JaVA_Razer
08-20-2004, 05:03 AM
Well I just bought a new Seagate Barracuda 200GB, partitioned it into 4 pieces( 1x10 2x 60and 1x 70GIG's)

Now I installed XP pro, updated, SP 1.....
the works also the latest Nforce drivers and such but now my XP refuses to reboot or to shut down, I have to do it by hand.

Anyone know how this is?
CTRL+ALT+DEL and then pressing shut down doesn't work either

------------------------------
Teamplay on a dogfightserverhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif
It sounds like a classic game of air-quake!?


Quote from extreme One


------------------------------
http://www.entity-project.tk
------------------------------
AMD 2500+ @3200+
Asus A7n8X-X
512MB DDR 3200 Apacer
Sapphire 9800 atlantis PRO
2x80mm Coolermaster fans
1x 120 mm PAPST fan
Thermalright SP 97 CPU cooler
Sunbeam rheobus

1.JaVA_Razer
08-20-2004, 05:03 AM
Well I just bought a new Seagate Barracuda 200GB, partitioned it into 4 pieces( 1x10 2x 60and 1x 70GIG's)

Now I installed XP pro, updated, SP 1.....
the works also the latest Nforce drivers and such but now my XP refuses to reboot or to shut down, I have to do it by hand.

Anyone know how this is?
CTRL+ALT+DEL and then pressing shut down doesn't work either

------------------------------
Teamplay on a dogfightserverhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif
It sounds like a classic game of air-quake!?


Quote from extreme One


------------------------------
http://www.entity-project.tk
------------------------------
AMD 2500+ @3200+
Asus A7n8X-X
512MB DDR 3200 Apacer
Sapphire 9800 atlantis PRO
2x80mm Coolermaster fans
1x 120 mm PAPST fan
Thermalright SP 97 CPU cooler
Sunbeam rheobus

1.JaVA_Razer
08-20-2004, 05:19 AM
just noticed, he won't log off no more either.

please help me out people...

------------------------------
Teamplay on a dogfightserverhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif
It sounds like a classic game of air-quake!?


Quote from extreme One


------------------------------
http://www.entity-project.tk
------------------------------
AMD 2500+ @3200+
Asus A7n8X-X
512MB DDR 3200 Apacer
Sapphire 9800 atlantis PRO
2x80mm Coolermaster fans
1x 120 mm PAPST fan
Thermalright SP 97 CPU cooler
Sunbeam rheobus

Maple_Tiger
08-20-2004, 06:06 AM
Just reinstall like us normal folks do.

Capt. 361stMapleTiger.
http://img52.photobucket.com/albums/v158/Maple_Tiger/FBAA2.gif
Proud member of the FBAA and Nutty Philosohpy Club.
-----------------------------
The more less you'r travelling, the further back in time you go.

Sandman_UK
08-20-2004, 06:13 AM
after you partitioned the drive and re-installed XP, did you go on a mad software installing binge and do it all in one go?

I had a similar problem with mine, had to re-install XP and like a fool loaded 50% of my software in one go and it would not shut down. Had to reinstall XP again and take it one program at a time with a reboot after each install.

For more help you could try a PC help forum, sorry though as i dont have a link to hand.

http://server6.uploadit.org/files/sandmanUK-c5b9.jpg

KGr.HH-Sunburst
08-20-2004, 07:23 AM
check in the taskmanager what programs you have running before you shut down ,some programs wont allow a shutdown or reboot i had the same when ventrilo was running in the background

so shutdown any program that doesnt looks important (most programs running under your PC's name arnt important only the ones under system)
and then try to shutdown

http://www.hell-hounds.de
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v94/sunburst/FW190A6sigHH.jpg
''All your Mustangs are belong to us''

CDN_Merlin
08-20-2004, 07:41 AM
If you install software that requires a reboot, do it before installing anything else.

Also, once you install XP Pro, install SP1 right away. Download it on anotehr PC if need be because XP without SP2 1 is prone to virii easily.

Beta tester for:
C&C Generals, Independance War 2,Starfleet Command 2,Settlers IV,Tzar,Allegiance,Starfleet Command,MAX 2,Defiance

S 8
08-20-2004, 10:40 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by 1.JaVA_Razer:
I have to do it by hand.

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Taylortony
08-20-2004, 10:46 AM
repost this in the community help as there are people in there that rock with this sort of stuff http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

1.JaVA_Razer
08-20-2004, 01:41 PM
I DID do a little software frenzy but problem/weirdness is it worked fine yesterday eve(when everything needed was installed already) and this morgnign after updating windows again(some security updates, Media player 9 codecs and such) and Norton( 2002 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif )
it wouldn't shutt off

So
i'm gonna try and throw Norton off an dsee what happens then :s

good thing I didn't install to many windows add ons yet .(like 3D vieuwers and stuff I need as plugins into internet explorer and such stuff)

------------------------------
Teamplay on a dogfightserverhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif
It sounds like a classic game of air-quake!?


Quote from extreme One


------------------------------
http://www.entity-project.tk
------------------------------
AMD 2500+ @3200+
Asus A7n8X-X
512MB DDR 3200 Apacer
Sapphire 9800 atlantis PRO
2x80mm Coolermaster fans
1x 120 mm PAPST fan
Thermalright SP 97 CPU cooler
Sunbeam rheobus

1.JaVA_Razer
08-20-2004, 01:41 PM
I DID do a little software frenzy but problem/weirdness is it worked fine yesterday eve(when everything needed was installed already) and this morgnign after updating windows again(some security updates, Media player 9 codecs and such) and Norton( 2002 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif )
it wouldn't shutt off

So
i'm gonna try and throw Norton off an dsee what happens then :s

good thing I didn't install to many windows add ons yet .(like 3D vieuwers and stuff I need as plugins into internet explorer and such stuff)

------------------------------
Teamplay on a dogfightserverhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif
It sounds like a classic game of air-quake!?


Quote from extreme One


------------------------------
http://www.entity-project.tk
------------------------------
AMD 2500+ @3200+
Asus A7n8X-X
512MB DDR 3200 Apacer
Sapphire 9800 atlantis PRO
2x80mm Coolermaster fans
1x 120 mm PAPST fan
Thermalright SP 97 CPU cooler
Sunbeam rheobus

BlackScorpion11
08-20-2004, 01:56 PM
I had i bit same kind of problem the 1st day I got my ADSL... The reason was Sasser then! I hadn't activated Firewall yet then...

flyingscampi
08-20-2004, 01:58 PM
Try closing down the non-essential services & processes and see if that works - Use task manager and the services control panel. If it does you'll need to find the culprit through elimination.

If it doesn't it sounds like it's porked.

1.JaVA_Razer
08-20-2004, 02:21 PM
well I just did system restore, worked fine reboot ability again, I could log off, everything

I install Itunes, put another desktop on and I get updates from windows
install them and BAM

here are the trouble again
:s

------------------------------
Teamplay on a dogfightserverhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif
It sounds like a classic game of air-quake!?


Quote from extreme One


------------------------------
http://www.entity-project.tk
------------------------------
AMD 2500+ @3200+
Asus A7n8X-X
512MB DDR 3200 Apacer
Sapphire 9800 atlantis PRO
2x80mm Coolermaster fans
1x 120 mm PAPST fan
Thermalright SP 97 CPU cooler
Sunbeam rheobus