PDA

View Full Version : Patch 1.22 any changes that affect OFFLINE PLAY?



nearmiss
01-24-2004, 01:39 PM
I dl the patch, but it appears only to be a server patch.

So, Thought I'd ask if anything in it changes the core IL2-FB. I'm an offline player only.

----------------- http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

nearmiss
01-24-2004, 01:39 PM
I dl the patch, but it appears only to be a server patch.

So, Thought I'd ask if anything in it changes the core IL2-FB. I'm an offline player only.

----------------- http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

SeaFireLIV
01-24-2004, 01:56 PM
Sure,
Good: I16`s and P40 aircraft have been slightly change. Some suspicions of AI Bf109 manoeuver change. AI landing procedeure....


Bad: replays don`t show player plane`s fire shots. Possible problem with explosions showing in replay. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

SeaFireLIV...

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/ijolly.jpg

TheGozr
01-24-2004, 02:18 PM
replays don`t show player plane`s fire shots

yep got the same

-GOZR
"TheMotorheads" All for One and One for All (http://www.french.themotorhead.com/themotorhead_fighters/)

plumps_
01-24-2004, 03:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by TheGozr:
replays don`t show player plane`s fire shots

yep got the same

-GOZR
http://www.french.themotorhead.com/themotorhead_fighters/ <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Only online tracks (.ntrks) are affected, not offline tracks (.trks).


Changes:

- On some buggy airfields where the AI used to crash when they were landing now they refuse to land at all. Once more instead of removing the bug they removed the feature that was buggy.

- Aircraft won't dive and crash anymore when their last waypoint is set too high.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

Troll2k
01-24-2004, 04:18 PM
There is a dedicated server patch, 1.22 over 1.21 and 2 client patches.Box to 1.22 and 1.21 to 1.22

dieadler
01-24-2004, 04:59 PM
I think the I-16 and other russian planes are harder to hit (the AI flys better)in the dynamic campaigns. Also, haven't seen the I-153 yet. Saw it lots in the Finn campaign before 1.22. This could be my imagination though. Also 109E does not seem to overheat as much in dynamic campaign.
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by nearmiss:
I dl the patch, but it appears only to be a server patch.

So, Thought I'd ask if anything in it changes the core IL2-FB. I'm an offline player only.

----------------- http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

LEXX_Luthor
01-24-2004, 05:20 PM
In case you near missed it, Oleg stated in Interview at the simhq that BoB will have Triggers. Look for "france" in the simhq FB webboard thread titles.

__________________
RUSSIAN lexx website http://www.lexx.ufo.ru/members.shtml
Stanly is a moron, kai is a walking dead beet, Xev just want sex.

nearmiss
01-24-2004, 09:00 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
In case you near missed it, Oleg stated in Interview at the simhq that BoB will have Triggers. Look for "france" in the simhq FB webboard thread titles.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

THanks LExx

Is that good news or what?

I've pretty well given up on Combat Flight Sims lately. Been too busy for the past couple weeks to even check out the boards.

To be honest I've pretty well given up on IL2-FB. Mission Building was about the only thing that has stimulated me for the past couple years. I've just gotten too frustrated with the lousy FMB.

The paid for add-on won't mean anything to me. I honestly believe IL2-FB needs a competent mission builder before it needs another aircraft, map or object. A good mission builder like a Jane's WW2 Fighters, CFS2, Jane's F/A-18 would really make the IL2-FB an exciting sim. Everything else is so great in the sim, but without a good mission builder you can't utilize the other great features properly.

I may buy the add-on, but at the moment I wouldn't buy it.

-------------------- http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Tully__
01-24-2004, 09:04 PM
Neutral trim has been tuned for different speed/power settings on a number of aircraft. That applies in both multiplay and single play. It appears to be set now for best cruise rather than best climb.

=================================================

http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg (http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm)

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)


Salut
Tully

plumps_
01-24-2004, 09:06 PM
One more small change: Seaplanes now have an automatic landing procedure. Before 1.22 it was possible to make them land with some tricks only. I could even make them stop right at the beach or in a harbour basin. That's not possible anymore as they will now avoid the land and only go down at a certain distance from the shore.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

nearmiss
01-24-2004, 09:17 PM
So the patch does mean something for us offliners...cool

I'll install it post-haste

THanks everyone http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Platypus_1.JaVA
01-25-2004, 04:15 AM
The AI appears to do more B&Z if you ask me. I think it is cool http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

1 Judge not, that ye be not judged.
2 For with what judgment ye judge,
ye shall be judged: and with what
measure ye mete, it shall be measured
to you again.

http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php

blabla0001
01-25-2004, 04:37 AM
LA7 has auto prop pitch now.

Extreme_One
01-25-2004, 04:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Platypus_1.JaVA:
The AI appears to do more B&Z if you ask me. I think it is cool http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

1 Judge not, that ye be not judged.
2 For with what judgment ye judge,
ye shall be judged: and with what
measure ye mete, it shall be measured
to you again.

http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You think so too. I wan't sure if I was imagining it!

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the RAF campaign folder here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-9.html).

Download the USAAF campaign folder here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-9.html). *NEW* Updated for FB 1.21

http://extremeone.4t.com/images/hurrisig.gif

blabla0001
01-25-2004, 05:16 AM
I also noticed that with 100% prop pitch and 0% throttle that the plane slows down lot faster then before.

OberstWileyII
01-25-2004, 11:38 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by plumps_:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by TheGozr:
replays don`t show player plane`s fire shots
...
-GOZR
http://www.french.themotorhead.com/themotorhead_fighters/ <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Only online tracks (.ntrks) are affected, not offline tracks (.trks).
...
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That is at least partially incorrect, plumps. OFFline, people can start and stop recording as often as they want using the *.ntrk procedure, in order to capture just portions of their ongoing missions...usually when the action is occuring or about to begin, so they do Not have to record(full*.trk) an entire 45 minutemission/track in order to view a specific minute or couple of minutes that occur near the end, or over the target area.

The 1.22 patch eliminated the ability of All OFFliners(95% of FB customers) to do that, in order to prevent Some cheating ON-line in dogfight rooms( Used by probably less than 3 or 4 percent of all FB customers)...Go figure!! .

http://imagehost.auctionwatch.com/preview/wi/wileycoyote2/IwoJimatiny2.gif (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Movies/SandsOne.WMV)
<A HREF="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Frameset/" TARGET=_blank>Click on Flag-Raising to view full length 4Mb version
...Or, click HERE to Visit Wiley's WWII GunCam World</A>

OberstWileyII
01-25-2004, 11:42 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by plumps_:
- ...Changes:

- On some buggy airfields where the AI used to crash when they were landing now they refuse to land at all. Once more instead of removing the bug they removed the feature that was buggy.

- Aircraft won't dive and crash anymore when their last waypoint is set too high.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Also, I'm told that since there were complaints about Crowded airfields and AI acft crashing into other planes or buildings while taxiing, that now after AI planes land, they Immediately DISappear!!! I've not seen that yet, myself, but it fits the same approach as mentioned above: instead of fixing a bugged feature, they eliminate the feature... odd way of doing business.

http://imagehost.auctionwatch.com/preview/wi/wileycoyote2/IwoJimatiny2.gif (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Movies/SandsOne.WMV)
<A HREF="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Frameset/" TARGET=_blank>Click on Flag-Raising to view full length 4Mb version
...Or, click HERE to Visit Wiley's WWII GunCam World</A>

plumps_
01-25-2004, 03:05 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
Originally posted by OberstWileyII:
That is at least partially incorrect, plumps. OFFline, people can start and stop recording as often as they want using the *.ntrk procedure, in order to capture just portions of their ongoing missions...usually when the action is occuring or about to begin, so they do Not have to record(full*.trk) an entire 45 minutemission/track in order to view a specific minute or couple of minutes that occur near the end, or over the target area.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I know. I used the word "Online track" because it's the official name of the .ntrks. My point was that not all replays are affected, especially the typical offline recordings.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
Originally posted by OberstWileyII:
The 1.22 patch eliminated the ability of All OFFliners(95% of FB customers) to do that, in order to prevent Some cheating ON-line in dogfight rooms( Used by probably less than 3 or 4 percent of all FB customers)...Go figure!! .
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
The .ntrk recording feature does work in 1.22! Only the replay is bugged. You can record as many .ntrks as you like in 1.22 and copy them to your second install of FB, which could be version 1.21. Use 1.22 to fly and 1.21 as track player for .ntrks.

If you don't have enough space on your HD for two installs of FB all you need to do is replace the files.SFS from 1.22 with the one from 1.21! You can place both of them in your FB folder (e.g. as "files121.SFS" and "files122.SFS") and rename the one you need "files.SFS".

It's a little complicated, but no reason to die from a heart attack.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
Originally posted by OberstWileyII:
Also, I'm told that since there were complaints about Crowded airfields and AI acft crashing into other planes or buildings while taxiing, that now after AI planes land, they Immediately DISappear!!! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yes this "improvement" came with the first patch some months ago.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

OberstWileyII
01-25-2004, 03:39 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by plumps_:
...The .ntrk _recording_ feature does work in 1.22! Only the _replay_ is bugged. You can record as many .ntrks as you like in 1.22 and copy them to your second install of FB, which could be version 1.21. Use 1.22 to fly and 1.21 as track player for .ntrks.

If you don't have enough space on your HD for two installs of FB all you need to do is replace the files.SFS from 1.22 with the one from 1.21! You can place both of them in your FB folder (e.g. as "files121.SFS" and "files122.SFS") and rename the one you need "files.SFS".

It's a little complicated, but no reason to die from a heart attack.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I agree..no reason for a heart attack...

SO let me get this straight...UBI made a fix to one Small cheating problem, and thereby effected the performance of their product negatively for 95% of their customers.

Now, the solution (called a work-around in business or military) is, as you described, a SIMPLE matter of Re-installing a second version of FB out of the box on my Hard Drive. Then download the 1.21 patch. Then fly my missions and record *.ntrk tracks in my 1.22 version. Shut that one down. Start my 1.21 version. Play the *.Ntrk file. If I don't like the result for whatever reason, I return to starting my 1.22 version, fly a mission, record a new *.ntrk, then go back over to my 1.21 version and play it...then..Ohh, you are right! It's simple!

Question: Do I need to copy over all the acft models and skins, etc from my current 1.22 version into my 1.21 version also??

OR... I record in 1.22...then, I shut down the program, swap out the files.sfs to the alternate(1.21) version of the file, then restart FB and view my playback... then shut it down, swap the files.sfs version, the restart FB and fly another mission...then, shutdown, swap, play, shutdown, swap, fly...

Dang!! That IS simple!!

I apologize to UBI for suggesting that they messed up...

http://imagehost.auctionwatch.com/preview/wi/wileycoyote2/IwoJimatiny2.gif (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Movies/SandsOne.WMV)
<A HREF="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Frameset/" TARGET=_blank>Click on Flag-Raising to view full length 4Mb version
...Or, click HERE to Visit Wiley's WWII GunCam World</A>

plumps_
01-25-2004, 04:13 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
Originally posted by OberstWileyII:
as you described, a SIMPLE matter of Re-installing a second version of FB <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I remember not writing "simple" but "a little complicated", but I may be terribly wrong as this was at least 30 minutes ago.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
Originally posted by OberstWileyII:
installing a second version of FB out of the box on my Hard Drive.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Not out of the box. Just copy your FB 1.22 folder and apply patch 1.21 to the copy.
I always make a back-up copy of my whole FB folder before I apply a patch.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
Originally posted by OberstWileyII:
Then download the 1.21 patch.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I'm sure that you did that some weeks ago and have kept the zip file on your HD.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
Originally posted by OberstWileyII:
Then fly my missions and record *.ntrk tracks in my 1.22 version. Shut that one down. Start my 1.21 version. Play the *.Ntrk file. If I don't like the result for whatever reason, I return to starting my 1.22 version, fly a mission, record a new *.ntrk, then go back over to my 1.21 version and play it...then..Ohh, you are right! It's simple!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I remember not writing "simple" but "a little complicated", but I may be terribly wrong as this was at least 32 minutes ago.

BTW of course you're free to stay with 1.21 even for playing as long as you're not going to join an online server.

BTW I also want to have a free bug fix for this!

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)

GT182
01-28-2004, 10:29 AM
plumps_ , you can join an online server and fly with 1.21 as long as the others you want to fly with are using the same patch. If not then you can't fly. There are some of us that have gone back to 1.21 and we can still fly together on our dedicated server or HyperLobby. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

We are waiting for a "free" fix for 1.22 before we go back to it. It's the problem with bandwidth, because of the security issues that UBI tried to fix with 1.22, that is causing all the problems. If you don't fly online you won't have any problems with FB using 1.22, except for not seeing your gunfire on the ntrk replay.

www.bombs-away.net (http://www.bombs-away.net)
"Fly to Survive, Survive to Fly"

GT182
01-29-2004, 09:40 AM
Here's quicker fix for 1.22 to get back to 1.21.

Unzip your 1.21 patch to a desktop folder. Now you have the readme , file.sfs file and mg_snd.dll plus others showing. Take the 1.22 file.sfs out of the Main FB folder and copy 1.21 file.sfs in. Then take the mg_snd.dll file from the 1.22 patch and put it in Main FB folder the same way. Now your back to 1.21 and have the new mg sound installed.

Everyone you fly with must do this to fly together tho. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif It's easier than running with 2 copies of FB on your pc.

Here's the reason we went back to 1.21 by vR at the BA site:

For what it is worth, post to Ubi Soft by yours truly
You all have a serious issue regarding the new 1.22 patch in both the game and the dedicated server. Our Stab "had" a super server running on broadband. With 1.21 everything flowed like clock work. Now people are getting kicked right and left. When they do get kicked, it hoses up there PC to the point of a cold reboot. Sometimes losing peripheral set ups like Tracker and Game pads. Playing on line the other night at Hyper Lobby, one of our pilots got kicked for no reason. Other people besides myself are complaining. When your "cheat protection" goes off the deep end, we get lots of lag and warping. My traces on my network prove that beyond the shadow of a doubt.

Using my network sniffer (I am a netwotk engineer for a major airline). I can see some very serous issues regarding secuirty protection. What the hell did you all find to try and secure this product so tightly. It is my opinion that the cheat protection is really not the true story here. You had better get your networking folks on this ASAP or you stand the potential of losing allot of money and popularity with this game.

Just a heads up guys. You got a big problem here.



www.bombs-away.net (http://www.bombs-away.net)
"Fly to Survive, Survive to Fly"