PDA

View Full Version : Taking off with two engined aircraft - HELP!!!



Brain32
06-11-2004, 03:03 AM
Can somebody give me samo tips on neutralizing torqe on taking of with planes like P-38, Go229 ,etc. I tried with rudder but it wasn't enough, thanks!

Brain32
06-11-2004, 03:03 AM
Can somebody give me samo tips on neutralizing torqe on taking of with planes like P-38, Go229 ,etc. I tried with rudder but it wasn't enough, thanks!

LEXX_Luthor
06-11-2004, 03:14 AM
mmm, no problem here.

What do you use for rudder?

What is your take off procedure?

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack

"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Brain32
06-11-2004, 03:30 AM
First I move flaps to take off position, then I start one engine, then almost immidiatly second, then I hit the brakes increase power to about 25-30% and push rudder full in direction opposite to where torque is leading me but the plane just won't listen, I managed to control P38 but it was sluggish after takoff, but Go229 is just making circles on the runway and I can't do anything to stop it except decreasing the power, final result - I am unable to take off in it! What is wrong in that procedure, I don't know. Could you tell me how you do it?
I am playing IL2 since orginal Sturmovik released but I was never taking off with multiple engined aircraft, I always use airstart with them!

Takata_
06-11-2004, 03:39 AM
- select engine one
- select engine two
- select both engine...
If you don't select both engine, you are only applying power to one of them. Just check you did it before any move.

Brain32
06-11-2004, 03:46 AM
Thanks Takata, it must be that, because it never occured to me I have to do that http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

ELEM
06-11-2004, 04:48 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Brain32:
Can somebody give me samo tips on neutralizing torqe on taking of with planes like P-38, Go229 ,etc. I tried with rudder but it wasn't enough, thanks!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Torque on a Go-229! I dont think so.

I wouldn't join any club that would have ME as member!

http://img35.photobucket.com/albums/v107/Elem_Klimov/I-16_desktop.jpg

Redwulf__26
06-11-2004, 05:28 AM
No torque but you will have assymetric thrust and with no rudder any correction made using ailerons will make it worse

VW-IceFire
06-11-2004, 01:37 PM
Use that assymetric thrust for taxi work on the Go-229 but outside of that keep both engines at the same power levels.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

Zeus-cat
06-11-2004, 10:27 PM
I have developed a habit that helps make sure both engines are selected. After starting the engines and letting them both come up to speed, I look down at the throttles and run them up to 20-30% and then immediately pull the throttle back to 0%. If only one throttle moves, I have only one engine selected. Simple, but it works,

Zeus-cat

Tooz_69GIAP
06-12-2004, 01:20 AM
actually, the Go229 DOES have torque on the taxiway. Don't ask me how, but it does. I noticed the other day when I wuz messing about with it (and yes, I had both engines selected, and at same power levels!!!!). It's kinda weird, but there you go!!

whit ye looking at, ya big jessie?!?!

http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/69giap/fileadmin/Image_Archive/badges/69giap_badge_tooz.jpg
Za Rodinu!

tonedogbf110
06-14-2004, 06:29 AM
Make sure you have both engines selected.

if you dont only one will throttle and cause what looks like severe torque.

sometimes you have to select each individually and then deselect them, then hit the key assigned to select all engines.

Cheers, Hope you get it sorted its great fun flying the 2 and 4 engine planes!

Cheers, Tonedog.

http://www.alliedwingedlegion.com/members/signatures/tonedog_sig.jpg

VMF513_Sandman
06-17-2004, 06:12 AM
u'll find it's alot easier to position the tb3 for takeoff if u use the engines that's opposite of the turn direction. meaning, if u want it to point to the right, start up both engines on the left wing and keep the engines on the right wing off. put these engines in synch with 'select all', add enough power to turn the ship in the direction u wanted. hit the brakes, then start up engines 3 and 4. resynch engines, and ur ready for takeoff.

Trigger_88
06-19-2004, 03:28 PM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gifheres the the procedure for a combat takoff in twin engine a/c: engines are both selected when you spawn so the steps is as follows: #1 unselect engines 1 and 2, #2 select engine 1 hit i then unselect engine 1 again, #3 select engine 2 hit i then uselect engine 2 again, #4 select engines 1 and 2 and your on your way. your engines will start as fast as a single engine a/c. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_eek.gif