PDA

View Full Version : NEED HELP with a ati 9800 pro !!



92SqnGCJimbo
06-07-2004, 03:54 PM
right lets get down to business
i have a amd athlon xp 2600
1024 gig of ram
128 mb 9800 pro ati
160 gig hardrive
now the problem i have is that ill be running a game and all of a sudden my computer will shut down not giving me any warning the screen just goes black and then it restarts. i then get a message saying my computer has just recovered from a serious error
i have looked it up with microsoft and they have something very similar happen but only with a 64 mb graphics card. ive tried to do what the site says but to no avvail. any help will be greatly appreciated as this is now gettin bloddy annoying
thanx

p.s this is a problem that has just popped up out of the blue i havnt changed anything at all and i have checked for viruses

[This message was edited by jimbolina25 on Mon June 07 2004 at 03:14 PM.]

92SqnGCJimbo
06-07-2004, 03:54 PM
right lets get down to business
i have a amd athlon xp 2600
1024 gig of ram
128 mb 9800 pro ati
160 gig hardrive
now the problem i have is that ill be running a game and all of a sudden my computer will shut down not giving me any warning the screen just goes black and then it restarts. i then get a message saying my computer has just recovered from a serious error
i have looked it up with microsoft and they have something very similar happen but only with a 64 mb graphics card. ive tried to do what the site says but to no avvail. any help will be greatly appreciated as this is now gettin bloddy annoying
thanx

p.s this is a problem that has just popped up out of the blue i havnt changed anything at all and i have checked for viruses

[This message was edited by jimbolina25 on Mon June 07 2004 at 03:14 PM.]

T_O_A_D
06-07-2004, 03:58 PM
How big is your power supply. I would guess you need a 350 wat or bigger. I have alot of fans and I require 405 watts. Go here http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/ anf figure out what you need.I'm getting away with a 450watt Antec.

If thats your problem then buy a quality namebrand I like Antec,Enermax,anf Thermaltake.

I haven't bought one in a long time but just poking aroun and Newegg is dam near tossing them away.

Antec (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?submit=manufactory&catalog=58&manufactory=1516&DEPA=1)

Enermax (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?submit=manufactory&catalog=58&manufactory=1400&DEPA=1)


Thermaltake (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?submit=manufactory&manufactory=1379&catalog=58&DEPA=1&sortby=14&order=1)

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

[This message was edited by T_O_A_D on Mon June 07 2004 at 03:11 PM.]

Xnomad
06-07-2004, 05:08 PM
Make sure you have updated your sound card, video card and motherboard chipset drivers. It sounds very much like a driver issue I've had the same for some games and I've had it with IL2 FB as well.

If this doesn't fix it then install FB again as I've had that problem a long time ago and a fresh install fixed it.

http://www.xnomad.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg

VF-19
06-07-2004, 05:55 PM
One other possible problem: Your computer is overheating, and the spontaneous shutdown and restart is a way of cooling down. When you boot up, press the delete key to get into your bios, and if they're available, check your temperature readings. If they're high (ie 80 Celcius), then you might want to invest in some more cooling.

gates123
06-07-2004, 05:59 PM
yeah vf-19's got it. Clean out your cpu heat sink and you should be good to go. Took me awhile to figure that one out too, but after you see your heatsink you'll know why. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif

http://www.flightjournal.com/images/index_photos/gunslinging.jpg
Did anyone see that or was it just me?

horseback
06-07-2004, 08:33 PM
If none of the above work, consider moving your sound card to another slot-that was a problem for me a while back...

cheers

horseback

"Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" -LTCOL Don Blakeslee, 4th FG CO, February 27th, 1944

Cragger
06-07-2004, 08:38 PM
There is only one AGP slot so he must put the card there. It can be several things.

1. overheating, most newer mobo's will restart the computer if it detects a too high cpu temperature.

2. Your core voltage is droppnig below 1.6 in which case many mobo's will reboot the computer.

3. You have a driver/software conflict and the ATI VPU recover is unable to restart the card and is rebooting the computer. This is least likely because it usually BSOD, but defaut WinXP setup doesn't BSOD and will just reboot the computer.


Please post an issue like this in the community help section next time.
http://redspar.com/redrogue/cragger_sig.jpg

crazyivan1970
06-07-2004, 08:43 PM
I think TOAD has it right on the money, late ATI `s are powersuckers, so more likely it`s PSU issue.

V!
Regards,

http://blitzpigs.com/forum/images/smiles/smokin.gif

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/coop-ivan.jpg

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/vfc/home.htm

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

Agamemnon22
06-07-2004, 10:40 PM
It can be anything of the above, it could also be bad RAM. Does this happen when you're doing something other than FB?
If its not heat and your cards and drivers are in order (make sure nothing is occupying the PCI slot below the AGP slot), pull out as much ram as you can (i.e. leave one stick in) then test and add back the RAM sticks one by one testing each time). If it only reboots after you add a certain stick then it's very possible you have bad RAM.

Urist
06-07-2004, 11:35 PM
omfg..

I went to that site out of curiosity and it has a special Palomino setting for the Athlon XP...

No wonder my damn PC runs so hot all the time.. 90 watts...

Time for another cpu..

1.JaVA_Hornet
06-08-2004, 03:48 AM
Jimbolina,

I am at work now so i have to write you
from here. Look at your graphics configuration
There is a tab that reads vpi or vpu recovery.
Untick the 2 possibilities. Problem must
be solved now.

1.JaVA_hornet
The Netherlands

Dom01
06-08-2004, 09:47 AM
I have the same problem. I am running a P4 2.4 gig with 1 gig of ram and a Radion 9600XT 256 Meg version.

I had put this down to the heat as checking bios on the reboot had the temp as 70c. I have 2 case fans in there but have taken the side off completely as this will make it a bit cooler. This is a new problem but we are having a bit of a heat wave in the UK at the moment.