PDA

View Full Version : Error at hooking API "LoadStringA"



Hachima
12-05-2016, 10:12 AM
Game fails to launch with


Error at hooking API "LoadStringA"
Dumping first 32 bytes:
66 90 0F 1F 80 00 00 00 00 4C 8B DC 49 89 5B 08
49 89 6B 10 49 89 73 20 4D 89 43 18 57 48 83 EC

Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview 14971.rs_prerelease.161111-1700.

GTX 1070 drivers 376.09. DirectX 12.

I had the same problem in Beta as others were that were also running the insider preview (redstone 2) version of Win 10.

Tom Clancy's The division launches fine still.

chadmonroe
12-06-2016, 06:57 AM
I posted the exact same issue a couple days ago also with several steps Ubi has had me try via a support ticket I opened. After several canned responses/generic troubleshooting suggestions failed they stopped responding and have not for a couple days now. You can find the thread here. (http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/1529111-PC-won-t-launch-due-to-Error-at-hooking-API-quot-LoadStringA-quot) If anything hopefully it will save you some time with Ubi if you open a case. Please reference my case number (in my post) if you have a case open as well.. maybe if a few of this report it they'll consider taking a look since all other instances of this issue I've found both on the forums, beta forums and reddit have gone unanswered.

blackbrizz
12-06-2016, 10:26 PM
Have you found a solution? Because i have the exact same problem

Hachima
12-07-2016, 03:36 AM
LoadStringA comes from C:\Windows\System32\user32.dll The offset for LoadStringA is different for Win 10 Restone 2(our insider build) vs Win 10 Redstone 1 (current version). I suspect they have code that checks the 'OS' and if it is 'Win 10' they use an offset that works for Redstone 1 but not Redstone 2. So when they try to hookinto a core os function (bad implementation decision on their side) with the wrong offset it fails. I think they need an additional check for Win 10 based on build number and use offsets that match the build of Win 10 if they want to try hooking into core OS files.

In Redstone 2 LoadStringA is located at offset 0x00031140
In Redstone 1 LoadStringA is located at offset 0x00032DF0

If they are trying to hook to the function by Ordinal that has also changed from 2095 to 2097.

Unfortunately until this gets escalated to an actual developer and now a CSR following some flow chart I don't expect a solution...Or Redstone 2 goes live in March and it gets more visibility and finally escalated up.

chadmonroe
12-10-2016, 02:59 AM
LoadStringA comes from C:\Windows\System32\user32.dll The offset for LoadStringA is different for Win 10 Restone 2(our insider build) vs Win 10 Redstone 1 (current version). I suspect they have code that checks the 'OS' and if it is 'Win 10' they use an offset that works for Redstone 1 but not Redstone 2. So when they try to hookinto a core os function (bad implementation decision on their side) with the wrong offset it fails. I think they need an additional check for Win 10 based on build number and use offsets that match the build of Win 10 if they want to try hooking into core OS files.

In Redstone 2 LoadStringA is located at offset 0x00031140
In Redstone 1 LoadStringA is located at offset 0x00032DF0

If they are trying to hook to the function by Ordinal that has also changed from 2095 to 2097.

Unfortunately until this gets escalated to an actual developer and now a CSR following some flow chart I don't expect a solution...Or Redstone 2 goes live in March and it gets more visibility and finally escalated up.

Thanks for the useful info. I've had a ticket open with Ubi and it seems to have been handed off to someone more senior so I've posted a reference both to this thread and the contents of your post in the case (I hope you don't mind). Hopefully it will help to get us an answer/fix quicker. I'll keep you guys updated if they come back with anything useful.

Hachima
12-27-2016, 05:37 AM
I've updated to the latest official insider build 148986 161202-1928 and the latest version of Steep and the issue still has not been resolved :(

mbarks81
12-27-2016, 09:01 AM
Me too! I also updated to the latest official insider build 148986 161202-1928 and the latest version of Steep and having the exact same issue.

We're stuck! Brand new game and I can't play it... I need compensation for this as I'm on holidays and finally have some time to play, but the game won't work.

NukacolaQuarts
12-27-2016, 09:21 PM
Same thing here. Ubisoft, please fix.

killing__kind
12-28-2016, 03:32 AM
I had the same issue on Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview 14986.rs_prerelease.161202-1928. Error at hooking API "LoadStringA" every time I started the game.

I wasn't patient enough to wait for customer support to reply so I tried to do something on my own to fix this - something very silly (messing with system files level of silliness) which of course resulted in my Windows not booting at all. It wouldn't even restore from a restore point so I did a full reset - reinstalled Windows (the same insider build) saving all my files.

The game is working now! No errors, no crashes. It might be that people who are getting this error have a corrupted Windows installation or something like that.

chadmonroe
12-28-2016, 04:03 AM
I've still got a ticket open with Ubi.. it's been moved to a couple of different support engineers but they all seem to think it's a driver problem so no real progress yet. Hopefully they'll look at this post (I referenced it in the ticket) as it has great info.

chadmonroe
12-31-2016, 12:36 AM
For those hoping for a fix from Ubi this is the most recent update in my case. Seems they effectively given up:

Thank you for that update. At this time we don't have a report from the development team that this is a known issue.

So I will forward this up to the development team for further review. However, that is all that we can do at this time, as we have no further information.

If any additional information becomes available, it will be posted to the game's official forum at http://forums.ubi.com and our Support Website (http://support.ubi.com).

Hachima
01-01-2017, 05:39 AM
Hopefully someone from the development team finally gets word of the issue... All customer support can do is follow a script to resolve known issues and can't investigate issues that need a developer to fix. I don't expect a fix until redstone 2 is officially released and they are forced to resolve the issue as people's OS get upgraded and people start experiencing the issue on a larger scale.

Hachima
01-11-2017, 05:32 AM
As an update I updated to teh new pre-release version of redstone 15002 170102-1700. Now instead of the error dialog the process just hangs without the error message. I suspect teh same issue but maybe now that the build is a pre-release version its being less verbose on errors that occur. Now when launching the game the process just hangs and nothing happens.

Hachima
02-03-2017, 07:57 AM
I just updated to version 15025 of Redstone and now the game will launch correctly :)

Hachima
02-03-2017, 08:30 AM
...

MemestressTV
11-07-2018, 01:11 AM
The firsat solution worked for me so hopefully one of these can help you guys

1. Disabling your background applications:

Go to the Start menu on your Desktop. Press the Windows key and the letter R at the same time.
Type in MSCONFIG and press Enter.
Go to the Startup tab, and click Open Task Manager.
For each Startup item in the Task Manager, select the item then click Disable.
Close Task Manager.
On the Startup tab of the System Configuration dialog box, click OK, then restart the computer.

Note: For Windows 7, you can simply click Disable All on the Startup tab within the System Configuration window.

2. Clearing your temporary files:

Go to the Start menu on your Desktop. Press the Windows key and the letter R at the same time.
Type in %TEMP% and press Enter.
Select All (Edit > Select All or Ctrl+A).
Click the Delete key.

Note: If you are using Windows 7, you will need to press Ctrl + A together to highlight the files. Once the files are highlighted, you will need to press the Delete key.

3. Make sure the drivers for your video card, sound card, motherboard and processor are up-to-date. Running 2 cards in SLI or running 2 screens can also cause issues. Deactivate SLI or unplug any additional screens you may be using. If you are overclocking, try running at the stock clock settings.

4. Make sure that any antivirus or firewall software on your system is disabled.

5. Install Windows Updates:
Click on the Windows Start button and go to All Programs --> Windows Update. In the left pane, click "Check for updates" and if any are found choose "Install updates."
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-vista/install-windows-updates

To troubleshoot this issue for you, I need two files from your system (Direct X and MS System Information). These files report information about system drivers for your video and sound cards, as well as other vital information about your computer hardware that will help me resolve your problem.

First, make sure you have the latest version of DirectX installed on your system. Download the latest version of DirectX from https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/179113.

After installing DirectX, follow these steps:

1. Press the Windows key and the "R" key at the same time.
2. In the Open box, type "dxdiag" (without the quotes) and click OK.
3. Once the DxDiag file is open, click on the "Save all information... button.
4. Click the save button to save the file as a text file to your Desktop.
5. Press the Windows key and the "R" key at the same time.
6. In the Open box, type "msinfo32" (without the quotes) and click OK.
7. When the program comes up, open the Software Environment section on the left side and select Windows Error Reporting.
8. Make sure that the Windows Error Reporting has also completely loaded prior to saving.
9. At the top, click on File. Then, click on Save.
10. Click the 'save' button to save the file as an .nfo file to your Desktop.
11. Click the following link: https://support.ubi.com/en-US/Cases
12. Enter your Ubisoft Account credentials, and click Login.
13. Click on 07311215 to find your incident.
14. Click "Attach documents"
15. Find the "dxdiag.txt" you saved earlier and click Open.
16. Click "+Add Files"to add another file.
17. Find the ".nfo" file to attach the MSINFO32 file.
18. Click "SUBMIT ATTACHMENTS" to complete the incident.

If you receive an error when attempting to upload the MSINFO32 file stating that it is too large, you will need to compress it using either WinZip or WinRAR. Once received, we will examine your system info and get back to you as soon as we can with a possible solution to your problem.

UbiGabrinth
11-07-2018, 07:08 PM
Thanks for leaving those here. Those are indeed great steps. Please keep the background applications disabled for the entirety of troubleshooting including if you send our team your system files.

PaxiniGaming
11-30-2018, 11:48 AM
Thanks you, I was searching for like two days and the first solution from you worked.

UbiMatcha
11-30-2018, 04:27 PM
Glad to hear it PaxiniGaming!

Vapulabis
05-19-2019, 12:23 PM
I've still got a ticket open with Ubi.. it's been moved to a couple of different support engineers but they all seem to think it's a driver problem so no real progress yet. Hopefully they'll look at this post (I referenced it in the ticket) as it has great info.

I was offered this game for free, I decided it would be worth a punt, so spent 40 minutes downloading the piece of rubbish coding as it throws this error everytime I try and start it, I am not going to go through all the steps you people who spent money for the game are needing to go through to create workarounds, I am just going to uninstall it and save the hassel, just thought I would bring up the fact that this fault is still present in the coding :confused::confused:

sarge_7319
05-20-2019, 08:08 PM
How can it be free, you would expect all issues to be resolved at this stage in the games life, its the only game in years I have had an issue with TODAY 20/05/2019.

UbiMorning
05-23-2019, 06:02 PM
Hey guys. I am sorry to hear you are getting this error code. Can you try these PC steps? (https://support.ubi.com/en-us/faqs/000025947) They should resolve the error code for you.