PDA

View Full Version : assign vegetation to texture



dUEDEN
03-28-2004, 09:09 AM
is it possible? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif i just watched the CryEngine movie and when the guy painted grass, vegetation was applied without him moving a finger! atleast so it seemed http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

_______________________
- Intel Pentium 4 3,2Ghz HT - FS 8x AGP 800Mhz FSB - 1024 DDR RAM PC3200 - Sapphire Radeon 9800 128M - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum - Western Digital Caviar 250GB - Logitech Z-540 / Sennheiser HD212 Pro - Logitech MX500 -

dUEDEN
03-28-2004, 09:09 AM
is it possible? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif i just watched the CryEngine movie and when the guy painted grass, vegetation was applied without him moving a finger! atleast so it seemed http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

_______________________
- Intel Pentium 4 3,2Ghz HT - FS 8x AGP 800Mhz FSB - 1024 DDR RAM PC3200 - Sapphire Radeon 9800 128M - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum - Western Digital Caviar 250GB - Logitech Z-540 / Sennheiser HD212 Pro - Logitech MX500 -

antistar_
03-28-2004, 09:30 AM
Yes, you can add a "detail texture" to your layer's surface detail. See the Surface Texture section on page 8 of the manual, specifically the last paragraph.

aka Tim Partlett

dUEDEN
03-28-2004, 10:26 AM
thanks, ill look into it! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
_______________________
- Intel Pentium 4 3,2Ghz HT - FS 8x AGP 800Mhz FSB - 1024 DDR RAM PC3200 - Sapphire Radeon 9800 128M - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum - Western Digital Caviar 250GB - Logitech Z-540 / Sennheiser HD212 Pro - Logitech MX500 -

Dont_Shoot_Here
03-28-2004, 10:54 AM
How do I paint textures onto terrain by clicking and dragging? I'd rather not spedn time reading through it all to find that out. I probably seem lazy, and yes, I am but no real time for me to spend ages on it. All help much appreciated.


http://members.lycos.co.uk/randomimages/dontshoothere22.gif

El_OSO
03-28-2004, 11:30 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dont_Shoot_Here:

How do I paint textures onto terrain by clicking and dragging? I'd rather not spedn time reading through it all to find that out. I probably seem lazy, and yes, I am but no real time for me to spend ages on it. All help much appreciated.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Do yourself a favor and don't even bother trying to make a mod. If you're too lazy to read the gift that Crytek supplied, you'll be too lazy to finish it.

Dont_Shoot_Here
03-28-2004, 12:07 PM
I don't understand one thing and you've already based my talent on that single question.

It's not what u don't know, it's what you do.

Want to hear what I've been able to do so far in only having the sandbox editor for 2 days?

Been able to make mercs stand in a line and pass water in buckets back and forth to put out a fire. Don't tell me that is n00by!

Do myself a favour indeed. I've been moddeling for ages now and I've created my own gun set for counter strike replacing the default ones. Only a little job I know, but it's more than most people have done.

http://members.lycos.co.uk/randomimages/dontshoothere22.gif

[This message was edited by infydave on Sun March 28 2004 at 06:18 PM.]

El_OSO
03-28-2004, 12:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dont_Shoot_Here:
I don't understand one thing and you've already based my talent on that single question.

It's not what u don't know, it's what you do.

Want to hear what I've been able to do so far in only having the sandbox editor for 2 days?

Been able to make mercs stand in a line and pass water in buckets back and forth to put out a fire. Don't tell me that is n00by!

Do myself a favour indeed. I've been moddeling for ages now and I've created my own gun set for counter strike replacing the default ones. Only a little job I know, but it's more than most people have done.

http://members.lycos.co.uk/randomimages/dontshoothere22.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

READ THE MANUAL AND DON'T CLAIM TO BE LAZY IS MY POINT!

If your too lazy to read, that's your problem not mine. If you need help with something ask a question and that's fine.

That's far from arrogant.

[This message was edited by infydave on Sun March 28 2004 at 06:20 PM.]

Dont_Shoot_Here
03-28-2004, 12:18 PM
Guess what? I was asking for help. That's why I asked a question!

Arrogance? Oh yes. You believe you are so mighty and all seeing that you are able to tell me that I should not mod!


Found out how to do it anyway, someone else was helpful enough to tell me online.


http://members.lycos.co.uk/randomimages/dontshoothere22.gif

[This message was edited by infydave on Sun March 28 2004 at 06:19 PM.]

SunshineMeat
04-25-2004, 04:43 PM
I'd like to know...

farmerTom
04-25-2004, 05:08 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dont_Shoot_Here:
I don't understand one thing and you've already based my talent on that single question.

It's not what u don't know, it's what you do.

Want to hear what I've been able to do so far in only having the sandbox editor for 2 days?

Been able to make mercs stand in a line and pass water in buckets back and forth to put out a fire. Don't tell me that is n00by!

Do myself a favour indeed. I've been moddeling for ages now and I've created my own gun set for counter strike replacing the default ones. Only a little job I know, but it's more than most people have done.

http://members.lycos.co.uk/randomimages/dontshoothere22.gif

[This message was edited by infydave on Sun March 28 2004 at 06:18 PM.]<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes I agree with ya about help! How did ya do the bucket thing? Be nice havin some bot bringin everyone ammoe like gun ga din eh!

Nick945
04-26-2004, 07:08 AM
I wish there was a way to have it auto generate the jungle/vegitation all over, then you just cut away bits as you need to, would be much easier that way round :/

Lo.TekK
04-26-2004, 07:25 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Nick945:
I wish there was a way to have it auto generate the jungle/vegitation all over, then you just cut away bits as you need to, would be much easier that way round :/<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
In vegetation tab, click the second last button on the toolbar (the mouseover text at the bottom of the screen should read something like "auto-distribute vegetation"). Sandbox will then distribute your terrain over the entire map based on the current vege settings (min/max altitude/slope, density, size/variation, etc).