PDA

View Full Version : Headsets...usefull?



lucas_valentine
04-05-2004, 10:33 AM
I've seen various pictures around these forums of some custom-made cockpit/computer desks with pedals, throttles, etc built in...but thats not what I'm commenting on here...although I do think they are pretty cool!...Anyway, my point is that these cockpits/desks always seem to incorperate a headset (mic and headphones in one). What I am wondering is how many of you actually have headsets and if they actually work online? I can imagine if they do it would be much easier than typing and flying at the same time...we all know what happens then! Are they worth paying money for?

lucas_valentine
04-05-2004, 10:33 AM
I've seen various pictures around these forums of some custom-made cockpit/computer desks with pedals, throttles, etc built in...but thats not what I'm commenting on here...although I do think they are pretty cool!...Anyway, my point is that these cockpits/desks always seem to incorperate a headset (mic and headphones in one). What I am wondering is how many of you actually have headsets and if they actually work online? I can imagine if they do it would be much easier than typing and flying at the same time...we all know what happens then! Are they worth paying money for?

carguy_
04-05-2004, 10:39 AM
Headset is a must,especially cuz it`s rather cheap and everybody can have it.One thing I`d like to tell you,Logitech`s hogh prices don`t necessarily reflect the overall quality.


If you want to communicate with yer buddies and fly with someone that is always ready to sweep bogies on yer six then it`s the way to go.
I went on comms and it`s pretty sad flying without them.
One more thing that makes online play so exciting.

http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sig23d.jpg

Snow_Wolf_
04-05-2004, 10:39 AM
Depends on what you need for. I for one just use a 2 dollar canadian mic for 7 years now and it work fine and transmit great.

http://aa.1asphost.com/seafury/Mononoke%20Hime/hime.jpg

lucas_valentine
04-05-2004, 10:45 AM
Can you actually hear coms through the normal speakers?...'cos I've never heard anything...also does it affect ping using a headset and is the sound good quality?

IAFS_Painter
04-05-2004, 10:49 AM
It comes down to circumstance. I have cheap speakers and a head-set.

A mike is (almost) essential if you fly with a squad.
If you fly alone, then it's (almost) useless.


Cans (head phones) will help keep the neighbours happy - they wont hear you flying.

Cans do interfere (sp!!) with domestic communication - you never hear that "Supper's ready" call.
There again, the rest of the house can sleep while you fly.

If you have a decent sound system (read big speakers and base unit) then you wont be using that at the same time as the cans ... the cans just become oversize ear plugs, and ear muffs.

As I said - assess your own circumstance.

http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/signature/paint_sig_003.jpg
il2airracing.com (http://www.il2airracing.com) Painter's Pages (http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2)
I've given up correcting my own spelling
Unless I've corrected it here

IAFS_Painter
04-05-2004, 10:51 AM
Yes you can hear coms through normal speakers ...

... it is most disturbing to hear your own voice comming back from somebody else's speakers and through their mike - at least until you get used to it

http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/signature/paint_sig_003.jpg
il2airracing.com (http://www.il2airracing.com) Painter's Pages (http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2)
I've given up correcting my own spelling
Unless I've corrected it here

lucas_valentine
04-05-2004, 10:59 AM
I've been looking in FB sound setup and there is a 'switch' to turn the radio on....but which is on?...switch pointing up or switch pointing down? Also if you have a headset does that mean all the sound goes to the headset??

[This message was edited by lucas_valentine on Mon April 05 2004 at 10:09 AM.]

carguy_
04-05-2004, 11:03 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lucas_valentine:
I've been looking in FB sound setup and there is a 'switch' to turn the radio on....but which is on?...switch pointing up or switch pointing down?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Why would you want to use FB`s comms?It`s laggy as hell!
D/l Ventrilo or Teamspeak or other comm progs.

http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sig23d.jpg

lucas_valentine
04-05-2004, 11:16 AM
That did'nt exactly answer my question...but thanks for the suggestion...if I use Teamspeak or the other one you suggested, will all the sound go through the headset, or just voices?
One more question...if you have Ventrilo or Teamspeak does everyone else have to have the same to communicate with each other, or could one person use Teamspeak and the other the FB comm system and still hear each other?

resev
04-05-2004, 11:39 AM
Lucas, it greatly depends on quality.

Using a comms program will make you hear both the sounds and the voices on your speakers.
It takes a bit of carefull configuration on both ends to make it work up to snuff.

Ping is not that much of an issue.
It does require a few resources, but if its a good program and well configured, chances are that you won't notice any diference, unless you are using very low bandwidth (56k), but in this case, even the act of flying online at all is allready hard enough on the connection.



About the switches, up is on, down is off.
This is true to all and any switches.

Cheers.

http://mysite.freeserve.com/resev/images/2-picture2.gif?0.3524929147671928

lucas_valentine
04-05-2004, 11:43 AM
Here is another question for you...I have a sound card and onboard sound on my motherboard...can I set it up so that the sound-effects etc go through the card and the comms go through onboard?

resev
04-05-2004, 12:03 PM
Only if you want a major hardware conflict! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

No Lucas, you can't, but your are making a storm in a glass of water.
There is no need to have a separate sound device to work the comms.
Most comms programs work in full duplex, and even like that it doesn't make any diference on where the sound is coming from.
What you can do, however, is for example, lower the game sound volume, and rise the voice comms volume, this way you'l hear it better, and you'l be able to find the center point of how much is enough.

Its not hard, realy.

Cheers.

http://mysite.freeserve.com/resev/images/2-picture2.gif?0.3524929147671928

lucas_valentine
04-05-2004, 12:10 PM
So what you are saying is that there is no way of seperating the sounds out so that comms go to phones and sound FX to speakers?..Effects go to speakers and phones at same time as do voices??

resev
04-05-2004, 12:20 PM
Pretty much, yes.

Besides, what would be the point of having comms on the headphones and FX on the speakers.
It would actualy work worse, you would either not hear the comms al that well, or if used with full cover headset, you wouldn't hear the FX all that well.
In either case, if resorting to that solution, you would have to disable either the comms or the FX, because you wouldn't be able to enjoy them both with clarity.

If used in conjunction with one another, and after configuring all well, you get the best results and the clearest sound trough a single device.

Cheers.

http://mysite.freeserve.com/resev/images/2-picture2.gif?0.3524929147671928

F16_Fatboy
04-05-2004, 12:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lucas_valentine:
Here is another question for you...I have a sound card and onboard sound on my motherboard...can I set it up so that the sound-effects etc go through the card and the comms go through onboard?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes you can! I have a NF7-S with a soundstorm that i use for my headset,Teamspeak, and a Audigy2 conected to 5.1 speakers that i use for IL2 sound. Easy to set up and no problem at all. Sometimes at night I turn of IL2 sound and just listen to my team m8s.

Happy chatting!

FLSTF

http://img41.photobucket.com/albums/v125/F16_fatboy/Album1/sig_fatboy.jpg