PDA

View Full Version : Help Pls...setting up small short range icons



EPP-Gibbs
05-09-2004, 04:49 AM
Chaps, I'm preparing a map to use online. In recent online sessions I've seen small black in-game icons showing A/C type only, which appear only at short range. I want to try and run my map today, can anyone help me by explaing how to set up this type of icon?

Cheers,

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"

EPP-Gibbs
05-09-2004, 04:49 AM
Chaps, I'm preparing a map to use online. In recent online sessions I've seen small black in-game icons showing A/C type only, which appear only at short range. I want to try and run my map today, can anyone help me by explaing how to set up this type of icon?

Cheers,

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"

Extreme_One
05-09-2004, 04:57 AM
type this into the console (shift and tab)


mp_dotrange DOT 0.001 ID 0.001 NAME 0.001 COLOR 0.001 TYPE 2

I think i've remembered everything... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the USAAF & RAF campaign folders here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-10.html).

Download "North and South" including the Japanese speech-pack here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-12.html). *NEW*

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/simplysimon-spit_sig.jpg

LEXX_Luthor
05-09-2004, 05:07 AM
Yes, and add it to your "rcu" file in FB folder and give it a short name--I use "q" so all I have to do is type in "q" after entering Chat Mode -- this does not interfere with the use of "q" when flying, I use "q" for my radiator settings too.


Here is my "rcu" file...



@set fast off
@set echo on
@set alias on
@set history 20

@alias h history
@alias s show

@alias f fps SHOW START
@alias nf fps SHOW STOP

@alias q mp_dotrange COLOR 2 DOT 10 RANGE .01 TYPE 2 ID 0.01 NAME 0.01

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Black Sheep
05-09-2004, 05:22 AM
Out of sheer curiosity, is there any way to do this with the offline game ?

I normally fly with icons off but if there were some way to switch on limited icons I might use them from time to time.

Extreme_One
05-09-2004, 05:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Moo.Cow:
Out of sheer curiosity, is there any way to do this with the offline game ?

I normally fly with icons off but if there were some way to switch on limited icons I might use them from time to time.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes - see the 2 posts above yours http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif - it works for offline and online.

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the USAAF & RAF campaign folders here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-10.html).

Download "North and South" including the Japanese speech-pack here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-12.html). *NEW*

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/simplysimon-spit_sig.jpg

EPP-Gibbs
05-09-2004, 06:13 AM
Hi Chaps,

Shift Tab brings up lines of text only while the game is running, ie in flight. I entered the text as shown and exited using 'return' then esc. I also modified the RCU file as shown. On flying a QMB flight, no difference. Same icons as default. ⬠for chat mode doesnt work in QMB so I flew mock online and tried there. Chat-mode hit q and nothing happens.
Or..do you mean the lines of chat that come up in the console?

one thing, when entering text into the 'console' it doesnt recognise underscore.


Where am I going wrong?

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"

Extreme_One
05-09-2004, 06:19 AM
It is definatley the console not the chat-box where you need to type.

I don't understand why you can't type an underscore in the console. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

The only thing I can think of is that I did have trouble getting the 'space' key to work in the console but I realised I had the 'space' key assigned in my TrackIR profile and TrackIR had 'trapped' that key. I disabled 'trapping' (or whatever it's called) in the TrackIR software and it was fine from then on.

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the USAAF & RAF campaign folders here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-10.html).

Download "North and South" including the Japanese speech-pack here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-12.html). *NEW*

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/simplysimon-spit_sig.jpg

EPP-Gibbs
05-09-2004, 08:53 AM
Yep, I realise it's not the chat window...

The console comes up when you hit Shift+Tab, right?.. a load of white text overlaid on the game screen with a &gt; cursor at the bottom? if you toggle the Ctrl key it seems to flip between chat lines and event lines. The underscore thing was simply it being cut off at the bottom of the screen and out of view.

I enter the text as posted like this.

&gt;6 mp_dotrange DOT 0.001 ID 0.001 NAME 0.001 COLOR 0.001 TYPE 2

hit return to enter it and again Shift+Tab to exit the console...start up a mission, and nothing is different, same blue or red icons as usual.

I have no idea how to do this, and can't find anything about it in the manual (without an extensive search as there is no index as such)

heeelp!

Cheers,

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"

Extreme_One
05-09-2004, 09:02 AM
OK you're there I reckon.
The only thing is that you start the mission 1st and then enter the line. (and press shift and tab to close the console) If you do it with planes in front of you on the runway - open the console, it freezes the game type your command and you'll see the icons change.


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>&gt;6 mp_dotrange DOT 0.001 ID 0.001 NAME 0.001 COLOR 0.001 TYPE 2<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


(I take it that the 6 was a typing mistake http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif)



The way I do it is to have the word "sim" as the switch for my icons - I save it in the rcu file, as described by LEXX_Luthor a few posts above, and open the console, type "sim" (without the quotes) and that activates my preferred icon settings.

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the USAAF & RAF campaign folders here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-10.html).

Download "North and South" including the Japanese speech-pack here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-12.html). *NEW*

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/simplysimon-spit_sig.jpg

lil_labbit
05-09-2004, 09:20 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by EPP-Gibbs:
Yep, I realise it's not the chat window...

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
... and that's probably where you went wrong...

Simply DO use the chat... so

start chat '~'
start console '&gt;'

(pressing Esc at this point will display console messages during game and also display chat messages)...

NOW type the command mp_dotrange etc
that's it realy - press Esc will leave console on at this point, pressing BackSpace will delete the console prompt ('&gt;') and return to normal chat.

You can also automate this... check out ScriptPark

http://scripts.sturmovik.de/html/index_english.html

When the console prompt is up you can get help by pressing '?' which will give a table of commands. Entering '? &lt;command&gt;' will give you more info on the command...

And No it does not work in QMB...

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

Black Sheep
05-09-2004, 03:02 PM
Cheers Extreme_One !

EPP-Gibbs
05-10-2004, 04:53 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Extreme_One:
type this into the console (shift and tab)


mp_dotrange DOT 0.001 ID 0.001 NAME 0.001 COLOR 0.001 TYPE 2

I think i've remembered everything... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif



_S! Simon_
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the USAAF & RAF campaign folders http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-10.html.

Download "North and South" including the Japanese speech-pack http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-12.html. _*NEW*_

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/simplysimon-spit_sig.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm still having trouble.... I added those settings into the console (offline, but a mission, not QMB)...and upon exiting the console the icons just disappear, nothing, not even at close range. I added your settings to my .rcu with a hotkey, and still the normal icons just disappear.

I also followed the link posted in this thread, and downloaded the scripts. The instructions say to unpack into the FB folder...the iconscripts unpack as a folder containing the scripts which sits with all the rest of the folders. I added the entries provided to .rcu as instructed and gave it a go....

no deal...says , "cannot find iconscript....something something something...."

Where am I screwing it up, or does it only work online?

Sorry to be a pest, but I want to get this working.

Cheers,

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"

lil_labbit
05-10-2004, 07:21 PM
Read the "Iconscript.html" located in the FB folder, it explains...

Scripts are stored in directory "iconscript" under main FB folder, you also need to add:

@a 0 f iconscript/icons0.il2script
@a 1 f iconscript/icons1.il2script
@a 2 f iconscript/icons2.il2script
@a 3 f iconscript/icons3.il2script
@a 4 f iconscript/icons4.il2script
@a 5 f iconscript/icons5.il2script
@a 6 f iconscript/icons6.il2script
@a 7 f iconscript/user.il2script

to the rcu file...

After that you should be able to use "0".."6" console commands to set the mpdotrange values...

so "&gt;6" will use icon6.il2script

It does work offline - even in QMB - you need to enter into console using Shift-Tab, then use script commands "0" to "6" - you will see the dotrange sub-commands apear after you hit Return, after that leave console by pressing Shift-Tab again, the game will unfreeze and the dotrange commands take effect (try sending wingmen back to base and observe)...

And oh yeah you do have to have Icons on under difficulty http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

[This message was edited by lil_labbit on Mon May 10 2004 at 06:29 PM.]

EPP-Gibbs
05-10-2004, 07:37 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lil_labbit:
Read the "Iconscript.html" located in the FB folder, it explains...

Scripts are stored in directory "iconscript" under main FB folder, you also need to add:

@a 0 f iconscript/icons0.il2script
@a 1 f iconscript/icons1.il2script
@a 2 f iconscript/icons2.il2script
@a 3 f iconscript/icons3.il2script
@a 4 f iconscript/icons4.il2script
@a 5 f iconscript/icons5.il2script
@a 6 f iconscript/icons6.il2script
@a 7 f iconscript/user.il2script

to the rcu file...

After that you should be able to use "0".."6" console commands to set the mpdotrange values...

so "&gt;6" will use icon6.il2script

It does work offline - even in QMB - you need to enter into console using Shift-Tab, then use script commands "0" to "6" - you will see the dotrange sub-commands apear after you hit Return, after that leave console by pressing Shift-Tab again, the game will unfreeze and the dotrange commands take effect (try sending wingmen back to base and observe)...

And oh yeah you do have to have Icons on under difficulty http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

[This message was edited by lil_labbit on Mon May 10 2004 at 06:29 PM.]<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Cheers, guys, all fixed now. All i have to do is work out settings for V. short range black icons for Plane type only, or player name.

I prefer no icons but some of the people who fly when I host like the icons, so it's a compromise.

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"

lil_labbit
05-10-2004, 07:47 PM
Good thing is it will influence the arrows on wonderwoman few too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

WUAF_Badsight
05-10-2004, 10:08 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by EPP-Gibbs:

&gt;6 mp_dotrange DOT 0.001 ID 0.001 NAME 0.001 COLOR 0.001 TYPE 2

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

commands are sensitive

you entered a command in yes , but you didnt start the command correctly

you typed 6 & then a space

open the command console (shift+tab)

then simply type

mp_dotrange DOT 0.001 ID 0.001 NAME 0.001 COLOR 0.001 TYPE

add in any values you like instead of the 0.001 if you want a certian part of that icon different

& Simon . . . . .


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Extreme_One:
I think i've remembered everything...

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

. . . . what aboot RANGE ?

WUAF_Badsight
05-10-2004, 10:10 PM
BTW

using a pre-entered command from the RCU by entering your short cut letters in the command console IS FAR EAISER !

Extreme_One
05-12-2004, 05:12 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WUAF_Badsight:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by EPP-Gibbs:

&gt;6 mp_dotrange DOT 0.001 ID 0.001 NAME 0.001 COLOR 0.001 TYPE 2

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

commands are sensitive

you entered a command in yes , but you didnt start the command correctly

you typed 6 & then a space

open the command console (shift+tab)

then simply type

mp_dotrange DOT 0.001 ID 0.001 NAME 0.001 COLOR 0.001 TYPE

add in any values you like instead of the 0.001 if you want a certian part of that icon different

& Simon . . . . .


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Extreme_One:
I think i've remembered everything...

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

. . . . what aboot RANGE ?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oh yeah!

mp_dotrange DOT 0.001 ID 0.001 NAME 0.001 COLOR 0.001 TYPE 2 RANGE 0.001

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the USAAF & RAF campaign folders here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-10.html).

Download "North and South" including the Japanese speech-pack here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-12.html). *NEW*

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/simplysimon-spit_sig.jpg

EPP-Gibbs
05-13-2004, 10:01 AM
the &gt;6 was me mimicking the numbers and cursor you get in the console. My entries all start mp_dotrange..

Anyway, I got it working and have been manipulating the parameters to get what I want. One odd thing....I can enter the command in console, and it works fine, but if I want to enter the same command into the .rcu file to assign a hotkey ie precede it with an alias command just like the others in the .rcu file file...it doesn't work! For example....At the start of the mission the default icons come into view...I go into the console and hit the hotkey I've assigned to the following iconscriptin the .rcu file

@alias q mp_dotrange DOT 14 COLOR 0.01 TYPE 1.30 NAME 0.01 ID 0.01 RANGE 0.01

What happens is the default icons disappear...so far so good.

If you look at the script you can see visibility of dot is 14km, then a black icon showing type of A/C should appear at 1.3km and at all practical ranges less than that, that's it. A black icon for type of A/C only.

So, the distance reduces and nothing happens, we close to within 1.3km, right up to close range ,and there is still no icon. It just doesn't appear.

Like I said, if I enter the same command mp_dotrange DOT 14 COLOR 0.01 TYPE 1.30 NAME 0.01 ID 0.01 RANGE 0.01 directly into the console it works fine.

Thank you all for your patience as I muddle through what is new ground for me.

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"

F19_Orheim
05-13-2004, 10:26 AM
Read Tully's excellent thread here (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=915100643&r=530103643#530103643)


http://216.12.202.106/~f19vs/F19bannerA.jpg
http://216.12.202.106/~f19vs/F19banner.jpg

lil_labbit
05-13-2004, 10:39 AM
After you issue the command, check if it did work by just entering

"mp_dotrange"

in console... You get a list of settings then.

Could be the 0.01 values are too small...

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

TacticalYak3
05-13-2004, 12:30 PM
Don't think anyone else stated the obvious, but you do realize that this icon setup requires realistic plane sets? (i.e., Allied forces against Axis)

I personally like this setup too. I have hosted with these settings -

mp_dotrange COLOR 6.0 DOT 15.0 RANGE 0.8 TYPE 6.0 ID 0.005 NAME 3.0

In cycling scripted DF maps using FBD2, however, I had to revert back to a standard system that uses COLOR since individualized settings didn't load proper in the next map (sorry, did I lose you? OT).

----------------------------

By the way, setup a "no icons" setting and access the console when watching your tracks if you want to take pictures without any icons.

Regards,
TactS!

‚"Throughout the story of air fighting runs the quest for height, for the fighter on top had control of the air battle.‚"Ě (Air Vice-Marshal J.E. ‚"Johnnie‚"Ě Johnson, RAF)

:FI:TacticalS!

TacticalYak3
05-13-2004, 12:32 PM
Sorry, didn't edit my paste - should have looked like this mate (COLOR 0.005 NOT 6.0)

mp_dotrange COLOR 0.005 DOT 15.0 RANGE 0.8 TYPE 6.0 ID 0.005 NAME 3.0

‚"Throughout the story of air fighting runs the quest for height, for the fighter on top had control of the air battle.‚"Ě (Air Vice-Marshal J.E. ‚"Johnnie‚"Ě Johnson, RAF)

:FI:TacticalS!

LuckyNed
05-13-2004, 01:48 PM
S! A few additional question-please. Does the host server control thses icon settings for all?

I gave the rcu file changes a whirl and I like but wonder if I'm seeing what others are.. I see only the plane type and BLUE(enemy). Is that what I should see?

I get the idea I could have multiple icon settings and I would like to play tracks without seeing the icon info- how? I add another rcu file or just add addition lines with a name "Tul" or "q" to the original?

TacticalYak3
05-13-2004, 06:50 PM
Start playing the track and access the console (press SHIFT+TAB) and type your shortcut name you used in the rcu file OR type it manually mp_dotrange . . .

As host you determine the icon settings. What to test it? Turn off all the icons in a "less real" server and hear the screams (especially when using the same plane sets for both sides)! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

‚"Throughout the story of air fighting runs the quest for height, for the fighter on top had control of the air battle.‚"Ě (Air Vice-Marshal J.E. ‚"Johnnie‚"Ě Johnson, RAF)

:FI:TacticalS!

TacticalYak3
05-13-2004, 06:55 PM
Here's an actual example (my rcu file) -

@set fast off
@set echo on
@set alias on
@set history 20
@alias a alias
@a h history
@a s show
@a myicons mp_dotrange COLOR 0.005 DOT 15.0 RANGE 0.8 TYPE 6.0 ID 0.005 NAME 3.0
@a teamicons mp_dotrange COLOR 6.0 DOT 15.0 RANGE 0.8 TYPE 6.0 ID 0.005 NAME 3.0
@a noicons mp_dotrange COLOR 0.005 DOT 15.0 RANGE 0.005 TYPE 0.005 ID 0.005 NAME 0.005

‚"Throughout the story of air fighting runs the quest for height, for the fighter on top had control of the air battle.‚"Ě (Air Vice-Marshal J.E. ‚"Johnnie‚"Ě Johnson, RAF)

:FI:TacticalS!

LuckyNed
05-13-2004, 07:56 PM
S!

Alrighty then! That sure makes a big difference. I tried it out ona quick mission and lost the enemy after he flew past me..lol. (Hmm, what heading was that guy on?)