PDA

View Full Version : Computer specs required for Pacific Fighters & BOB?



Bulls-eye
04-17-2004, 11:54 AM
I'm in the "thinking about it" stage of up-grading my ageing AMD 1Gb/512Mb/Windows98 computer. I was leaning towards an AMD 2500+ Barton/1 Gb DDR Ram/XP, but after reading about what we can expect from Pacific Fighters (sometime this year) and B.O.B. (maybe next), I'm beginning to wonder if even that spec will be up to it. I read a lot of posts where players are struggling to play FB on perfect mode on quite high-end kit. Is anything less than an AMD64 going to be able to cope? What are your views?

Bulls-eye
04-17-2004, 11:54 AM
I'm in the "thinking about it" stage of up-grading my ageing AMD 1Gb/512Mb/Windows98 computer. I was leaning towards an AMD 2500+ Barton/1 Gb DDR Ram/XP, but after reading about what we can expect from Pacific Fighters (sometime this year) and B.O.B. (maybe next), I'm beginning to wonder if even that spec will be up to it. I read a lot of posts where players are struggling to play FB on perfect mode on quite high-end kit. Is anything less than an AMD64 going to be able to cope? What are your views?

Stalker58
04-17-2004, 01:04 PM
IMO Barton 2500+, 1GB of good DDR and GF5900/AIT9800 will be for sure enough for PF and hopefully for BoB too (altough probably NOT for everything maxed up in the case of boB)

Altitude, speed, manoeuvre and.... CRASH!

Willey
04-17-2004, 02:12 PM
PF?? If FB AEP runs, it will run, too. Maybe a tad slower.

BoB? Oleg once said: Be ready to upgrade your PCs.

So if you can live with the details you have now, wait for BoB. If not, you'll have to upgrade it anyway when BoB comes http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Xiolablu3
04-17-2004, 07:42 PM
The Cpu is not the most important thing for running the latest games, the graphics card is.

A very fast graphics card will make up for a slower cpu (anything from 1ghz should run FB fine, I was running IL2 on a 800), but not the other way round.

Even if you have a 3ghz cpu, I would think that an original Radeon or GeForce 2 will have real problems running BOB.

Therefore a 2500+ will most likely be easily enuff to run BOB, its a good Gfx card that you need to be sure of having.
Probably anything with a Pixel Shader MINIMUM, which means GF3 any GF4 EXCEPT the MX, Radeon 8500,9xxx or later should be fine.

Fennec_P
04-17-2004, 08:34 PM
Oleg sez the performance of BoB on low detail will be like the performance of FB on perfect.

http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/legalsig.jpg

Tully__
04-18-2004, 01:16 AM
Real data on performance expectations wont be available until the beta test program is fairly well advanced, but predications are that BoB will require substantially more performance than FB/AEP/PF to run with maxed eye candy.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

LEXX_Luthor
04-18-2004, 01:54 AM
Xiolablu3:: <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>The Cpu is not the most important thing for running the latest games, the graphics card is.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>For very large FB missions with 100+ planes and AA or tanks firing, the CPU chokes, causing 9800 Ultra to give same fps as Trident mobo video. For smaller missions with the traditional 10-20 AI aircraft flying, then grafix card is an issue. Don't laugh, 100+ planes is needed to sim frontline environment beyond what you see from your cockpit.



__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Yellonet
04-18-2004, 02:07 AM
Even with the fastest hardware of today you will not be able to run BoB maxed out. Probably.


- Yellonet