PDA

View Full Version : Fallback Solution to Steep

TrialsFusioniot
07-14-2016, 08:58 PM
If Ubisoft does not manage to make the landings and small bumps more realistic than the current Super Mario Gameplay, I found something that I can play instead. :cool:
They managed it 18 years ago.

From 7:03min, especially 7:09min.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecu8WBSOM6E#t=423

Malcot
07-15-2016, 02:55 PM
I vaguely remember that game! Yeah, I hope so too. It still all looks a little stiff to me on the E3 gameplay.

Fruitarian
07-20-2016, 09:28 PM
6 months and a Beta will bring a LOT of fine-tuning, I think we'll be surprised how it improves. You both now I agree that right now the impact could use work, been banging that drum from day one ;)

TrialsFusioniot
07-21-2016, 07:54 AM
The actual gameplay and response from characters is the most important thing in sports games. Will keep banging the drum! Might even get a second drum :)

I am a hobby developer myself and know for sure that physics-animation blending is not difficult, but a design decision. Right now Ubi runs the decision to have it Arcade-Style.
Not sure if I should post my stuff and self advertise, but the forum is not that crowded so it might be ok. Please delete the link if not.

http://www.bluebudgiestudios.com/

I want proper physics blended animations and reactive gameplay in Steep as an optional realistic mode! :rolleyes:

Fruitarian
07-21-2016, 10:54 AM
Had a look at your folio Trials, very cool. Loving your physics ocean tests. I always thought a game where you were castaway and had to navigate raging seas to land, and then island-hop would be engaging with the right atmosphere and physics. Keep it up!

PedroFlinstone
07-21-2016, 06:49 PM
Had a look at your folio Trials, very cool. Loving your physics ocean tests. I always thought a game where you were castaway and had to navigate raging seas to land, and then island-hop would be engaging with the right atmosphere and physics. Keep it up!