PDA

View Full Version : POLL:: Most "Crappy" Crap Plane of them ALL



LEXX_Luthor
03-08-2004, 09:51 PM

LEXX_Luthor
03-08-2004, 09:51 PM

JR_Greenhorn
03-08-2004, 10:05 PM
I haven't flown AEP yet, so I can't vote, but I was wondering if the I-16 is an "uber crap plane?"



Did you know you can't start the I-16's or I-153's engine on the ground when you aren't on an airfield? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-sad.gif
Are any of the new biplanes like this?

So much for my off-the-beach interceptor missions in the FMB...

Maple_Tiger
03-08-2004, 10:07 PM
I hate by planes.

There too slow. I end up falling asleep on my way to the tagret all the time.

Capt. 361stMapleTiger.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid78/pd6c878f0006c224805da6c9645408b41/fb291d3e.jpg

Proud member of the FBAA and Nutty Philosohpy Club.

LEXX_Luthor
03-08-2004, 10:09 PM
JR_Greenhorn:: <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Did you know you can't start the I-16's (or I-153) engine on the ground when you aren't on an airfield? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>GOOD NEWS!!! When you get AEP, try your beach missions with the I~16 SPB version. The new I~16 SPB start on the ground with engines running already (even far away from the official FB aiports), both player and AI. They are supposed to hook up to a TB~3 SPB, but they don't have to. And they take off too. Yes I tried this just to see if this would work, and it did hoo hoo http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif No cure for I~153 though.

Fiat G.50 and CR.42 suffer the same fate off the official FB airports. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif They too can't start engines. Like the others, they must have some airspeed going to start.


__________________
"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"I don't have the V2 or B25s, so I'm going to reinstall" ~Bearcat99
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

arcadeace
03-08-2004, 10:16 PM
The I-153 is one of my faves. I love turn/burn. I can take on a half dozen 'ace' 109s http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_222_1073167658.jpg

LEXX_Luthor
03-08-2004, 10:26 PM
Yes, I just confirmed the I~16 SPB will take off from open ground and follow waypoints and engage enemy aircraft like normal. I suggest you explore your interceptors taking off from the (rather few) flat valleys to be found in the south east Kuban map (lower left of map). Beach is nearby if you must insist on a beach.

Just had 4 SPB I~16 take off from open ground and they engaged 4 G.50 and 3 G.50 lost for one I~16. Granted the machine gun armed I~15 type 18 would be more "fair" but they don't start with engines running like SPB. This is a dream come true for I~16 Fans looking for missions starting in open ground.

__________________
"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"I don't have the V2 or B25s, so I'm going to reinstall" ~Bearcat99
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

JR_Greenhorn
03-08-2004, 10:31 PM
Lexx, other than the ability to hook to the SPB and start running, are the new I-16s any different from the existing ones? (Sadly, I don't have AEP yet) Thats good news about the engine running anywhere.



I built a fortification on the online map 6 (inspired by the one nsu posted), and I tried to hide an I-16 in the city. Much to my dismay, the engine wouldn't start, and the AI found me as if I were just out in the open. I tried a P-47, but it couldn't get airborne before slamming into the city walls, and the AI strafed it anyway. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

I had another mission where a Bf 109 hidden in the trees took off from a beach to intercept C-47s.

Those kinds of things just don't work with the I-16 and crap planes. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-sad.gif
Its too bad, because crap planes are easier to take off with when you're not on the runway.

JR_Greenhorn
03-08-2004, 10:39 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
I suggest you explore your interceptors taking off from the (rather few) flat valleys to be found in the south east Kuban map (lower left of map). Beach is nearby if you must insist on a beach.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>I liked the beach for the mission I made, but other than that, it seemed like the beach sand is smoother really close to the waterline. Maybe that was just my imagination. It is nice to take off over water though, as there is nothing sticking up to run into!

LEXX_Luthor
03-08-2004, 10:57 PM
SPB is pretty much the same as type 24 except the only load option is 2 FAB 250 bombs. It may be interesting to try to take off with them, they may be supposed to be used with takeoff help from TB~3. hmmm. No rockets for interceptiong. That's not good. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Also, you can set a I~16 "normfly" waypoint for Player plane at zero altitude and zero speed (editing this now) and you start on the ground engine running. AI wingmen blow up however. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I think that is the procedure that works (am checking now). Gets lonely with no wingman though.


__________________
"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"I don't have the V2 or B25s, so I'm going to reinstall" ~Bearcat99
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

LEXX_Luthor
03-08-2004, 11:19 PM
Okay...checked it out...set a round waypoint for player plane, say I~153, and just make it TAKEOFF (if it moves to nearby airfield, drag it back). This will set the height and speed to zero. Afterward do not cycle to this first waypoint the Prev button because that will re-calculate the minimum speed and set it to a value other than zero. If the minimum speed is not zero you will blow up.

Both the "NORMFLY" takeoff waypoint height and speed must be zero. Another waypoint must be added or you begin mission with engine stopped. The other waypoint will define takeoff direction anyway. Also, you start with engine throttled about 75% so be ready.


__________________
"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"I don't have the V2 or B25s, so I'm going to reinstall" ~Bearcat99
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

JR_Greenhorn
03-08-2004, 11:27 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
Also, you can set a I~16 "normfly" waypoint for _Player_ plane at zero altitude and zero speed (editing this now) and you start on the ground engine running. AI wingmen blow up however. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I think that is the procedure that works (am checking now). Gets lonely with no wingman though.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>I was trying to set something similar up this weekend, but with Hurricane Mk IIb's. The FMB would change the 0 speed to 174 or something and the AI would blow up. The player a/c wouldn't, but you had to catch the trottle quickly or you'd have real trouble. I guess I didn't try it with the I-16 though.



I spent a whole lot of time with the FMB this weekend because I broke my joystick again (3rd time now). http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-sad.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

Its not a total loss, though. I lent FB to a friend for the week, so hopefully I'll get him hooked enough that he'll buy the AEP Gold Pack if it ever hits shelves around here. Its our duty to spread the word, right?

LEXX_Luthor
03-08-2004, 11:39 PM
If you don't cycle through the waypoints the FMB won't reset the takeoff zero speed value to minimum NORMFLY values. You can still look at the first (round) takeoff waypoint by clicking it, just DON'T cycle to it with the Prev or Next buttons.

Basically, a round takeoff waypoint that is not square. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I am doing this on another computer right now, so I can't post my example mission here.

__________________
"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"I don't have the V2 or B25s, so I'm going to reinstall" ~Bearcat99
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

JR_Greenhorn
03-08-2004, 11:56 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
If you don't cycle through the waypoints the FMB won't reset the takeoff zero speed value to minimum NORMFLY values. You can still look at the first (round) takeoff waypoint by clicking it, just DON'T cycle to it with the Prev or Next buttons.

Basically, a round takeoff waypoint that is not square. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I am doing this on another computer right now, so I can't post my example mission here.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>So if I'm following you here, you are using a NORMFLY waypoint as takeoff, but its settings are 0 speed and 0 alt? Then you can takeoff anywhere if you can start the plane's engine? or it will be started & at 75 throttle?

I can't even run (install) FB on this computer, so I couldn't see an example mission anyway. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

LEXX_Luthor
03-09-2004, 12:00 AM
Oh...I forgot to mention...

You mouse click in a new plane with waypoint, set this waypoint to TAKEOFF--FMB sets height and altitude to zero, then set it to NORMFLY. The height and speed numbers both stay zero. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Again if you cycle to this waypoint later with the Prev or Next button, FMB will re-calculate the waypoint speed and it won't be zero and you go BOOM.

__________________
"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"I don't have the V2 or B25s, so I'm going to reinstall" ~Bearcat99
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

JR_Greenhorn
03-09-2004, 12:10 AM
So does this trick work for AI, or just for the Player a/c?

LEXX_Luthor
03-09-2004, 12:18 AM
Last I checked, Player only. You never know how things may change with each new update so....will try now to see if it works for Fiat G.50 and CR.42 (you can't wait to see these cockpits, be sure).

But the I~16 SPB takeoff thing we rapped about above works well with Player, AI, or both.

__________________
"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"I don't have the V2 or B25s, so I'm going to reinstall" ~Bearcat99
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

JR_Greenhorn
03-09-2004, 12:29 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
But the I~16 SPB takeoff thing we rapped about above works well with Player, AI, or both.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Neat trick then. I doubt it was intended to work this way, but its neat it works nonetheless.



I'm not the best pilot, but I really like messing with the FMB. Its so simple, yet it can do so much. I hope Mr. Maddox expands its power in BoB to include things that we have to work-around now.



I've waited for the IAR cockpits the most, but the G.50 will be great to fly too. Good to hear the cockpit was worth the wait.

I like the idea of biplanes, and I hear the J8 is pure art, but I have a lot of practice to do in biplanes before any thing but pigeons fear me.

For now I'm content with early war and crap planes, as well as so-called 2nd class fighters.

Also, I can't resist curiosities like Mistel sets, parasite fighters, pulse jets, composite power fighters, and rocket planes.

I'm looking forward to broadening my horizons (and FMB possibilities) with flyable nightfighters and seaplanes/flying boats.

Old_Canuck
03-09-2004, 12:45 AM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif FB doesn't have any crap planes.

OC

"You don't stop playing because you grow old, you grow old because you stop playing."

LEXX_Luthor
03-09-2004, 12:45 AM
Confirmed:: AI don't show up, but some careful observation of the sky will show distant burning debris high up there. AI explodes. The good news is I just confirmed you can do the trick with the Fiats, and.... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/icon_twisted.gif

...I forgot to mention it always worked for Me~262 and now...it works for all the jets. But they are a very bumpy ride on the ground and most certainly NOT worth the effort. Given these operated from well prepared fields this is fine with me. Me~163 rocket bug still gives you "inoperable engine" message so it doesn't work. Taking off on winter map with BI~1 rocket on skis off the open snow fields is interesting, but this plane starts engines normally like most others so no tricks needed here.

One more point:: when you change aircraft, the FMB will recalculate the wapoint speed, you must again set the waypoint to TAKEOFF followed by setting it to NORMFLY so you get the zeroes again. Also, if for some reason the height does not goto zero, you can set that to zero yourself. The FMB problem only relates to the automatic attempt to set speed value.

Yes the Gladiator is sheer enjoyment to fly. Unlike the CR.42 you can throw it around the sky with abandon. CR42 needs a little more care especially with the engine cutout. I need to compare dive speeds for these two. Also, you can restart I~16 and I~153 engines (and the other crap planes here) at a lower airspeed than before (about ~200km/hr). Props stop spinning now on all planes with stopped engine at much higher airspeeds without shutting off magnetos. Nice effect.

*bah* nothing builds one's ManHood more than cranking up landing gear by hand (or keyboard). http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

__________________
"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"I don't have the V2 or B25s, so I'm going to reinstall" ~Bearcat99
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

JR_Greenhorn
03-09-2004, 12:56 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Old_Canuck:
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif FB doesn't have any crap planes.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>I think you mean FB doesn't have any crappy planes. "Crap planes" is an affectionate nickname for the planes on the other end of the spectrum of uber planes.



Maybe someday I'll get a joystick with crankwheels for manual landing gears. That would be cool. I wonder if one could make them squeak obnoxiously when cranked. Its all about immersion, baby.

BluesmanSF
03-09-2004, 04:36 AM
I think the reason that the engines of I-16 and I-153 won't start in open ground, is that the starting procedure was so comlicated, that it needed few mechanics and a pilot(ofcourse http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif) to put the engine running...

I was also thinking that can you hook up again to the TB3 SPB in air? I mean, when you have first "dropped" from the TB3, can you hook up again in air? I think that would be kinda cool.. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Cheers!

ElAurens
03-09-2004, 05:17 AM
The Gladiator rocks my world.

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/ElAurens-Charity.jpg

"Charity" over "Malta" in my defence of Malta DF server.

A big thanks to Capt. Haddock for the wonderful model and skin.

Will the RAF/RN MkI and MkII Gladiators ever be made flyable?

_____________________________

http://www.blitzpigs.com/forum/images/avatars/Curtiss_logo.gif

BlitzPig_EL

LEXX_Luthor
03-09-2004, 05:39 AM
No mechs needed to start I~16, or we would see them in the game (just some basic logic here). http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif No mechs needed to keep any FB plane running, or we would see them in the game too.

The point about off airfield takeoff is to sim operating from historically small frontline airfields as opposed to the large international airports we have now in FB. In Italy the Germans use airfields that were built to support only two (2) Fw190s. Any larger and it would be found and bombed. Granted, the FB airports are a good model for the airbases used by USAAF mostly cos they operated far from frontlines.


__________________
"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
"I don't have the V2 or B25s, so I'm going to reinstall" ~Bearcat99
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

BluesmanSF
03-09-2004, 06:14 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
No mechs needed to start I~16, or we would see them in the game (just some basic logic here). http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif No mechs needed to keep any FB plane running, or we would see them in the game too.

Okay, maybe I was wrong... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
I thought I read that from somewhere...

But I agree with you that those air"fields" are more like airports in FB now.
The Finns used all kind of flat land as a runway, beaches for example, I would like to see more real airFIELDS in this game, but maybe in BoB... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-sad.gif
But this sim is so d**n awesome, that I personally don't care that so much..

Cheers!