PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion: Having to taxi instead of starting on runway?



XyZspineZyX
09-09-2003, 10:20 PM
what do you think?

Boosher-PBNA
----------------
<center>On your six 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.<center>
<center>Boosher-ProudBirds-VFW<center>
http://proudbirdswing.tripod.com/proudbirds.htm

http://www.escadrila54.com/logo_sm.jpg

<center><marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"The ProudBirds..Flying High and Proud..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee>

XyZspineZyX
09-09-2003, 10:20 PM
what do you think?

Boosher-PBNA
----------------
<center>On your six 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.<center>
<center>Boosher-ProudBirds-VFW<center>
http://proudbirdswing.tripod.com/proudbirds.htm

http://www.escadrila54.com/logo_sm.jpg

<center><marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"The ProudBirds..Flying High and Proud..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee>

XyZspineZyX
09-10-2003, 01:20 AM
i brought this idea up another time------didn't go anywhere
lou69

THE BATTLE OF BRITAIN WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN WON WITHOUT THE CANADIANS

XyZspineZyX
09-10-2003, 01:37 AM
You call always try this after a mission when you get back to end of mission. Start it up and taxi out and takeoff if you want to. Have fun....

Jib01 /i/smilies/16x16_man-happy.gif


"I thought you told me they would break formation if we pressed home a good frontal attack."

XyZspineZyX
09-10-2003, 09:08 AM
i think sometimes ground crew pused you air plane to the runway

---------------------------------------
A to the K to 4 to the 7 little
devils dont go heaven Freedom got a AK
---------------------------------------

XyZspineZyX
09-10-2003, 10:02 AM
people want this since IL-2 ver. 1.0.

XyZspineZyX
09-10-2003, 06:46 PM
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/hangar.jpg


You want it? You can have it. I have just uploaded a complex mission which I had been working on for quite a long time. I tried to include some workarounds for features that are generally thought to be not available in FB:

* Starting in the hangar (solo flights only).
* Some destroyed static aircraft on the bases.
* Some ground units that don't start firing as soon as you get to the target, but should appear only some minutes later.
* An element of randomness within a mission: Depending on your skills and the results of AI dogfights the outcome of the mission can be extremely different.

In the mission you have to prepare the ground for a bombing raid on an airbase by destroying AAA and preventing enemy fighters from take-off. Playing time without time compression is about one hour.

You can download it here. (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/FB111-mission-novoross.zip) Originally it's a ground attack mission for the IL-2 3M, but I also made a slightly different escort fighter version for the La-5fn. Unzip to folder Ubi Soft\IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles\Missions\Single\RU\. The missions can then be found in the FB Single Missions menu under USSR/IL-2 or USSR/La-5fn respectively. Name: Bombing Raid on Novorossiysk Airbase ("Angriff auf Flughafen Novorossiysk" for German interface).


---------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

XyZspineZyX
09-11-2003, 12:40 AM
BUMP!!!

I've also asked about this before, and got a second hand answer that they can't make the AI taxi to the runway. If this is truely the case, then leave the AI on the runway. Please allow us to choose whether we humans can start on the runway or not. Coops are missing a big part of the whole mission feeling. This has to be a very very simple thing, since an apron start is already standard in dogfights. Why has this been ignored for so long?

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
09-13-2003, 01:28 AM
This isn't a little tiny addition that won't change anything. This SIMPLE option will be a big deal to a lot of us interested in realism. And you'll never find an opportunity to do so with such little effort. Can 1C at least acknowledge this? Can anyone give a legitimate reason why this should not be added?

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
09-13-2003, 01:40 AM
Simple fix If you are hosting and you dont want all planes to start on the runway just edit the mission file with your mision builder. If you just use live pilots its great but AI's should be able to taxi to the runway but its alot of work making them go point to point, then takeoff, but I believe it can be done.

<table style="filter:glow[color=blueviolet, strength=3"><tr><td> <font color="FFCC66">Colonel Eagle
Online flight since 1998</font></td></tr></table>

XyZspineZyX
09-13-2003, 02:06 AM
How do you make human a/c start off of the runway in a COOP by using the FMB???

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
09-13-2003, 02:31 AM
Stecher_3.-JG51 wrote:
- How do you make human a/c start off of the runway in
- a COOP by using the FMB???

place a WP in its parking place (alt 0, speed 0), and another WP close just to give the nose direction.

Then edit the .mis with a text editor, be sure altitude is 0 and give the plane 0 fuel too

beware, if the plane is a bomber, then you should be sure she has no bombs (or the bombs will fall and explode at spawn if no human choose to fly it)

When you launch the mission:
- all planes so placed that are not taken by human will see their pilots bail out and the plane will disapear a few sec later
- on all plane used by humans, they will be able to define fuel and armament as usual
- on start, human players should quickly down gaz to 0 and use breakes... or the plane will start rolling full gaz.

we use that almost allways in our mission. One of our teamates even wrote a random mission generator placing the planes on the parkings, we call it NWP missions (No WayPoints)




Ou Vais-je?
Ou Cours-Je?
Dans quel Etat j'Erre?

XyZspineZyX
09-13-2003, 03:50 AM
First of all, thank you for taking the time to tell me this. I apologize if this is common knowledge, as I have not heard of this method before.

However, it seems to trade one obstruction of realism for another. And since the throttle starts at 75 percent, such a violent change can damage the engines (we fly the Me 262). With the engines already on and running at high thrust at the very moment of the game beginning, it almost ruins the immersion even more.

Please 1C, allow people the choice to begin off of the runway on COOPs.

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
09-13-2003, 05:34 PM
bump, I also want to have some object templates which can be selected in the Base object in FMB to add some prefab trees, hangars, shelters, etc so the users don't have to do it on their own every time. Would be cool to have hangars to start in when you spawn in a DF... That adds a lot of atmosphere /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif .


<hr>

<p align=center style="width:100%; filter:glow[color=#33CCFF, strength=2)">

<img src=http://mitglied.lycos.de/eldur190d9/bilder/willey110.jpg border=0 alt="Hier geht's zur I/JG78"> (http://www.jg78.de)

</p><font color=59626B>