PDA

View Full Version : @ Lexx_Luthor (and anyone interested) FPS Test



tsisqua
04-09-2004, 07:47 AM
Ok, I ran a Quick mission, max planes, excellent settings, 4.4 catalyst drivers (the new ones), 8x time compression, FSAA at 6x, AF at 4x. From inside cockpit: fps ran at about 28 at start of mission while on autopilot. When the lead started to fly my fps dropped to 7!!!!!!!!!!!! My poor little machine had slowed to a crawl.

I ran the same mission at normal speed, and the lowest seen at all was 29. At times I was getting well over 100, close to 150!!!! When the shooting started (of course) was when the FR dropped.

Well, I now see that FB is quite capable of stressing my system, as well as my new 9800 Pro. I also see that since I got the new card, the speed of normal gameplay has been improved WAY beyond my expectations.

To be able to play the average mission with dozens of bombers in the air, lots of stuff on the ground, lots of squadmates in the same planes as me . . . . smoothly, is worth way more to me than I spent on this card.

note: For the love of salt! DON'T use the 4.4 drivers for perfect! These drivers absolutely SUCK crap for perfect, but for excellent, they rule. The water is very close to the first time that I saw the perfect, even at excellent settings.

Thanks
Tsisqua

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Galvladi

tsisqua
04-09-2004, 07:47 AM
Ok, I ran a Quick mission, max planes, excellent settings, 4.4 catalyst drivers (the new ones), 8x time compression, FSAA at 6x, AF at 4x. From inside cockpit: fps ran at about 28 at start of mission while on autopilot. When the lead started to fly my fps dropped to 7!!!!!!!!!!!! My poor little machine had slowed to a crawl.

I ran the same mission at normal speed, and the lowest seen at all was 29. At times I was getting well over 100, close to 150!!!! When the shooting started (of course) was when the FR dropped.

Well, I now see that FB is quite capable of stressing my system, as well as my new 9800 Pro. I also see that since I got the new card, the speed of normal gameplay has been improved WAY beyond my expectations.

To be able to play the average mission with dozens of bombers in the air, lots of stuff on the ground, lots of squadmates in the same planes as me . . . . smoothly, is worth way more to me than I spent on this card.

note: For the love of salt! DON'T use the 4.4 drivers for perfect! These drivers absolutely SUCK crap for perfect, but for excellent, they rule. The water is very close to the first time that I saw the perfect, even at excellent settings.

Thanks
Tsisqua

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Galvladi

chris455
04-09-2004, 08:02 AM
You are right , Tsisqua.

On the ATI boards (shortly after the release of 4.4) there was language that was somewhat cryptic about 4.4 and perfect. Read in a certain way, it sounded as though the 4.4 cats had solved the framereate hit in Perfect we saw in the 4.3 release.
That info has now been amended and states that ATI is aware of the problem (the loss of FPS in perfect in FB) and it is under investigation.

Hopefully the 4.5s will be our salvation.
S!

http://members.cox.net/miataman1/P47.jpg

Zen--
04-09-2004, 09:04 AM
I'm using an Nvidia Ti4600 and can't complain really...but the way you guys talk about the 9800 makes me wonder if I'm missing out.

Am I? Is the 9800 that much of an improvement? Is it an order of magnitude better or just incrementally better?


Tsisqua, I'd be interested to hear your thoughts, I know my graphics don't look as good as those screenies you posted the other day.

-Zen-
Tracks (http://209.163.146.67/tracks)

fireman1969-69
04-09-2004, 09:20 AM
I had been playing FB and AEP with a TNT2 w/64mb for quite awhile and just recently picked up a nvidia 5200 w/256mb and have been considering an ATI 9600 pro or one of the 9800 series but have no idea which is best when considering an xt, se, or pro version of the base card. Anyone that can clarify which is better and why I'd like to hear it. I was very pleased with how things have improved since switching to the 5200. I play with excellent settings and tried perfect but it was a slideshow.

Fireman

Udidtoo
04-09-2004, 09:21 AM
Zen, I just switched from a 4600ti. Like you I didn't really have any complaints. I'm just greedy.

I would have to say , at least for me the difference wasn't incremental. It was more like having a brand new game. That not just applicble to FB/AEP either. I have re-installed games just to look at them again with "New eyes"

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

tsisqua
04-09-2004, 09:24 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zen--:
I'm using an Nvidia Ti4600 and can't complain really...but the way you guys talk about the 9800 makes me wonder if I'm missing out.

Am I? Is the 9800 that much of an improvement? Is it an order of magnitude better or just incrementally better?


Tsisqua, I'd be interested to hear your thoughts, I know my graphics don't look as good as those screenies you posted the other day.

-Zen-
http://209.163.146.67/tracks
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hello Zen http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

With a little shopping I got the 9800 pro for $219.00 US, and to think about it, that was not that much more than I paid for the Ti4200. Remember that the 9800 Pro was like 400 bucks last year (!). The increase in performance is good. The overall appearance is WAY good. The only complaint, and yes, it's a legit complaint, is that after making such a great graphics processor, are the driver issues. Functions that are supposed to be available are disabled, and it seems they have moved even farther away from getting the perfect landscape detail in FB correct. I tried the old 3.8, and there was some really bad tearing, even with v-sync on. With these drivers, though, I was getting GREAT FR's in perfect. I just couldn't stand the tearing.

I'm going to continue to run with new 4.4's, because in excellent settings all I am missing is the water, and it still looks real good . . . VERY good.

Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase. The little things? I hope they get ironed out before the new boards come out and I lose support from ATI. However, I've noticed that they have continued their support on older cards, so I think that as soon as enough of us gripe about the drivers, I'll be a very happy camper indeed.

Tsisqua

TheGozr
04-09-2004, 09:48 AM
Zen i use to have a 4600 ti overclocked then i got 9800 pro 256.. day and night. my res is much higher now the image is so beautyful and smooooth.

get a good setting for te evo and a track ir2 and the 9800pro 256..

If you think you are addicted wait til you do that.. you'll sleep in fron your pc ... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

"I WILL NEVER FLY AGAIN WITH OUT THE TR2"

If you wanna see how the tr2 look inside just watch the reccord i did on France vs USA track.

-GOZR
http://www.french.themotorhead.com/themotorhead_fighters/images/pix/il2fbtmhlogosmall.jpg &lt;--Competition Level IL2fb here (http://www.french.themotorhead.com/forgotten-battles/)

SeaFireLIV
04-09-2004, 10:01 AM
Still, it all kinda depends on your system though, doesn`t it? i`ve got only an Athlon 2100 (1.8) with a GF4Ti4200 128 and it runs very well.

I doubt a 9800 pro would help much until the system was beefed up to support it...

SeaFireLIV...

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/spitfpetite.jpg

tsisqua
04-09-2004, 10:05 AM
Seafire, you are probably correct. My Ti4200 really started being able to perform when I got the new AMD64. I'd still say that getting the Ti4200 was a good idea when I did it, and now I have a superb backup in case I have a serious problem.

Tsisqua

Skullin
04-09-2004, 10:31 AM
SeaFireLIV
Same thing here, and i just switched to the 9800 pro. If you can do it, DO IT !! it's amazing.

My 3dmark 01 score jumped from 10,500 up to around 14,000 so far, and i'm still not done seeing how far i can push the overclocking. I really want to break 20k on 3dmark'01, but from what i've seen you need to be running your FSB well over 200. I can't push my KD7 nearly that far, but as soon as i can get ahold of some better cooling for the 9800pro, i'm gonna push it as far as it will go !!!!

all in all, i should be able to break 16k and there is no way that my 4200 would have ever gotten to 12k.

SeaFireLIV
04-09-2004, 10:49 AM
Hmmm... sounds positive. May be I`m wrong.

LW_lcarp
04-09-2004, 11:51 AM
Got the 9800 256 mb card and was getting excellent frame rates till the 1.22 patch for FB and they have been horrible since still havent figured out the problem to fix it

"If winning isnt everything why do they keep score"
Vince Lombardi

LEXX_Luthor
04-09-2004, 11:53 AM
Thanks tsisqua.

Interestingly, I too slow down with 32 planes when QMB combat starts. From my memory of earlier tests my slow down gets bad at 2X time speed, but that shuld be normal for my Athalon 1700+ compared to your Athalon64.

For numbers I must redo the test. Thanks!

tsisqua
04-09-2004, 11:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
Thanks tsisqua.

Interestingly, I too slow down with 32 planes when QMB combat starts. From my memory of earlier tests my slow down gets bad at 2X time speed, but that shuld be normal for my Athalon 1700+ compared to your Athalon64.

For numbers I must redo the test. Thanks!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You are welcome, Sir
Tsisqua

DangerForward
04-09-2004, 12:58 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by tsisqua:
Ok, I ran a Quick mission, max planes, excellent settings, 4.4 catalyst drivers (the new ones), 8x time compression, FSAA at 6x, AF at 4x. From inside cockpit: fps ran at about 28 at start of mission while on autopilot. When the lead started to fly my fps dropped to 7!!!!!!!!!!!! My poor little machine had slowed to a crawl.

I ran the same mission at normal speed, and the lowest seen at all was 29. At times I was getting well over 100, close to 150!!!! When the shooting started (of course) was when the FR dropped.

Well, I now see that FB is quite capable of stressing my system, as well as my new 9800 Pro. I also see that since I got the new card, the speed of normal gameplay has been improved _WAY_ beyond my expectations.

To be able to play the average mission with dozens of bombers in the air, lots of stuff on the ground, lots of squadmates in the same planes as me . . . . _smoothly_, is worth way more to me than I spent on this card.

note: For the love of salt! DON'T use the 4.4 drivers for perfect! These drivers absolutely SUCK crap for perfect, but for excellent, they rule. The water is very close to the first time that I saw the perfect, even at excellent settings.

Thanks
Tsisqua

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Galvladi<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Have you done the Black Death track test with fraps? I'm curious because I have a similar setup to yours. Also, what rez do you run at?

Thanks,

DangerForward

BaldieJr
04-09-2004, 01:02 PM
Are you using Tir or Tir2 Tsisqua?

My only complaint with my card is slowdowns during fast panning. No framerate counter seems able to keep up with the changes, but I can definately see it.

I almost bought a 9800 Pro last week for this very reason, but chose to wait for the next-gen cards instead ( i still have several months of building left to do on my cockpit so I can wait for a new card ).

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

adlabs6
04-09-2004, 01:17 PM
I still use a Ti4200. I've wondered if it was a really big step up to some of the newer cards, clearly so. Thanks for the info.

Baldie... when you say that frame counters can't keep up, but you can see the slowdowns during panning... Could it be that the sim is still rendering at the same fps, but the TIR refresh is lower than the sims framerate? I just wondered, since in that case, the sim isn't really slowing down, you'd just be seeing the limits of the TIR refresh "shadowed" against the blazing sim framerate.

In anycase, I'll probably not upgrade my card for another 6 to 8 months, budget permitting.

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON (http://777avg.com/omegasquad/) | ScreenshotArt.com (http://www.screenshotart.com/)

BaldieJr
04-09-2004, 01:35 PM
Well, I'm using Tir2, which is supposed to run at 100 cycles per second. My card holds at 42 frames per second while the view is static. Animations are smooth, planes slide by my canopy like they are made of grease...

But when panning with tir or my mouse, the fps counter (in-game or fraps) gets jumbled a bit and external animations become choppy. This only happens when the cockpit camera moves.

I'm hoping the next-gen cards can do excellent settings at around 100 Frames/second. That should be enough to smooth out the panning problems.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

CapBackassward
04-09-2004, 01:54 PM
Yepper. Radeon is the way to go right now. I just up-graded from the Titanium myself. The only thing I can compare it to was way back when - when I went from a Direct Draw card I had to a Voodoo card and could see the visible difference it made to Red Baron 3D and EAW.

Rick

tsisqua
04-09-2004, 02:19 PM
I should have mentioned:

This was at 1152x864 res.

Nope, I do not have track IR.

I used the in game fps counter because it doesn't make any sense to me to have a second program (i.e. Fraps) running when I want to know what FB is doing to my system.

Tsisqua

ddsflyer
04-09-2004, 05:14 PM
Ckeck with the ATI website, there is a known bug with IL2FB and the 4.4 drivers. Switch back to the 4.2 drivers and your problem will go away.

Baron pilots do it with class!