PDA

View Full Version : Why do my aircraft bank to the left?



XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 06:50 PM
Hi,

I was wondering why my aircraft bank to the left without any joystick input in IL2-FB?

My joystick is a Saitek Cyborg but it is calibrated correctly because it works fine with all the other flight sims I have.

Annoyingly the aileron and rudder trims seem to have no effect for most aircraft.

To fly level I have to constantly hold the joystick slightly to the right.

Any ideas?

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 06:50 PM
Hi,

I was wondering why my aircraft bank to the left without any joystick input in IL2-FB?

My joystick is a Saitek Cyborg but it is calibrated correctly because it works fine with all the other flight sims I have.

Annoyingly the aileron and rudder trims seem to have no effect for most aircraft.

To fly level I have to constantly hold the joystick slightly to the right.

Any ideas?

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:00 PM
I find this effect a bit annoying too; my X45 is a bit 'sticky' when making very small adjustments, and a bit stiff, so it can be quite hard to compensate for his when flying straight and level. I think it's basically realistic. there are various forces on the plane - e.g. engine torque, and the prop wash hitting the tail fin - that cause the plane to roll. But I would have thought that a well designed plane would have a 'sweet spot' around cruising speed where these forces are compensated for.

Maybe there is and I'm just too cack-handed to find it!

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:02 PM
The aircraft banks to the left because if has a big prop on the front spinning to the right.

It's one of the problems with flying a propeller powered aircraft. Twins, with counter rotating props don't have that problem, and jets don't have much (though if you stick a big enough jet into a small enough aircraft, you will actually run into that there, too).

Just tap in a couple notches of rudder and aileron trim, and it should sort itself out.

Harry Voyager

Addendum: Not all aircraft had a sweet spot. The P-51, actually, was notorious for being impossible to fly without constant pilot input. Considering how on long escort missions, it would be up there all day pilots were less than happy about that little folible.

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0YQDLAswcqmIpvWP9dLzZVayPXOmo6IJ16aURujNfs4dDETH84 Q6eIkCbWQemjqF6O8ZfvzlsvUUauJyy9GYnKM6!o3fu!kBnWVh BgMt3q2T3BUQ8yjBBqECLxFaqXVV5U2kWiSIlq1s6VoaVvRqBy Q/Avatar%202%20500x500%20[final).jpg?dc=4675409848259594077

Message Edited on 11/08/0312:04PM by HarryVoyager

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:05 PM
Cuz your left arm is so very very heavy !!!! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Engine Torque is actualy the reason.....

You can counter it by using Rudder Trim......

Most AC you must trim the rudder &/or the alerons to get them to fly nice and straight this helps for long range shooting as well.....

I shouldnt be telling you these things /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<CENTER> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1068129235.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:17 PM
I think rudder trim can help, but I find it difficult to totally eliminate sideslip and the roll tendency with rudder trim alone.

Basically what you need is aileron trim, and if you haven't got it on a high power prop plane, I guess it's inevitable you're going to to have to compensate yourself.

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:17 PM
I figured engine torque was the reason but never realised it would affect an aircraft THAT much!

Anyway thanks for the responses.

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:29 PM
ColinIL2Fan wrote:
- I figured engine torque was the reason but never
- realised it would affect an aircraft THAT much!
-
- Anyway thanks for the responses.
-

Oh it does. On the F4F Wildcat, an aircraft with only 1200hp to its engine, on the ground the engine torque is strong enough to flatten the left tire, if you run the engine up to full power.

The engine torque we see in FB is rather mild by compairison.

Harry Voyager

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0YQDLAswcqmIpvWP9dLzZVayPXOmo6IJ16aURujNfs4dDETH84 Q6eIkCbWQemjqF6O8ZfvzlsvUUauJyy9GYnKM6!o3fu!kBnWVh BgMt3q2T3BUQ8yjBBqECLxFaqXVV5U2kWiSIlq1s6VoaVvRqBy Q/Avatar%202%20500x500%20[final).jpg?dc=4675409848259594077

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:30 PM
Because the Right wing is too conservative.

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:33 PM
Because the Left Wing gives away on everything and is true to nothing.

<center>
http://members.verizon.net/~vze2cb22/KosSig.gif

Is the Bf-110C-4/B ready yet?<center>

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:34 PM
rudder teim input is third thing i apply after egnition and throttleing towards the runway strip, yaks take a few clicks, some the 109s take up to 14 clicks for best rudder under full throttle, of course if ya going into gun a dude down, and reduce throttle at saddle, youll need to reduce rudder trim also or it will have opposite affect.

MAD

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 07:43 PM
I'ld give the best answer awards to Cool Hand Luke and Cossack13 /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://sjlundin.home.mchsi.com/vargasAvatar.jpg

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 08:31 PM
Should I receive a text message when I am using trim, e.g. how throttle and flap position changes are noted?

Whenever I try to trim a plane, I do not notice a difference, and lacking a text confirmation, I am not sure that I am trimming correctly.

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 08:44 PM
Progressive banking? /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif (get it?)


Actually, go into windows and recalibrate the joysitck.
I used to have that stick and it worked just fine.

Also even at center position, they tend to drift a bit. Give it a wiggle on center and see if it doesn't correct.



<img src=http://home.insightbb.com/%7Edspinnett/NonSpeed/SpeedToys.jpg </img>
http://hometown.aol.com/spinnetti/

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 09:45 PM
yeah they need to mak rudder trim stay trimmed on the keyboard, when you rudder trim on the keyboard as soon as you move the controller it reset the trim, only way to have it cenetered for all craft is to have it on a rotory slide and not everyone has them. If you rudder isnt perfectly lined up you wont achieve your max speed if if its off by a hair

<center>http://www.geocities.com/leadspittersig/LS1.txt
Good dogfighters bring ammo home, Great ones don't. (c) Leadspitter
<a HREF="http://www.il2skins.com/?action=list&authoridfilter=:Leadspitter:&comefrom=top5&ts=1068087655"> LeadSpitters Skins
</center>

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 09:55 PM
Rudder trim does stay, even if you tap it in on the keyboard.

Are you sure you aren't using the keyboard rudder command, instead of trim?

Most German aircraft do not have rudder trim, but they all respond to the keyboard rudder inputs.

By default, keyboard rudder trim is ctr-z and ctr-x, while the rudder commands are < and >.

Harry Voyager

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0YQDLAswcqmIpvWP9dLzZVayPXOmo6IJ16aURujNfs4dDETH84 Q6eIkCbWQemjqF6O8ZfvzlsvUUauJyy9GYnKM6!o3fu!kBnWVh BgMt3q2T3BUQ8yjBBqECLxFaqXVV5U2kWiSIlq1s6VoaVvRqBy Q/Avatar%202%20500x500%20[final).jpg?dc=4675409848259594077

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 09:59 PM
or re-setting your joystick. Sometime older joystick will go off aligment.

Regards
SnowLeopard

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 10:02 PM
ColinIL2Fan wrote:
- Hi,
-
- I was wondering why my aircraft bank to the left
- without any joystick input in IL2-FB?
-
- My joystick is a Saitek Cyborg but it is calibrated
- correctly because it works fine with all the other
- flight sims I have.
-
- Annoyingly the aileron and rudder trims seem to have
- no effect for most aircraft.
-
- To fly level I have to constantly hold the joystick
- slightly to the right.
-
- Any ideas?
-
-

I had the same problem with a Saitek cyborg (I don't play any other flight sims, so can't really speculate, but it may be to do with IL2's dead band). Check the hardware input on the main page in IL2 and check the green and red squares line up. You may want to check the Saitek forums, they're littered with complaints about cyborg sticks pulling left, Saitak admit that it's their problem too and offer to replace faulty sticks free, but I read complaints about replacements so I just got a different stick and haven't had a problem since. Besides, if you haven't got rudder pedals then a twist handle joystick and the extra rudder control is a big plus.

XyZspineZyX
11-08-2003, 11:13 PM
In aircraft without manual trim tabs the airframe is generally trimmed for cruise, and in the real world cruise is usually around 65%-75% power, not the much higher numbers we all like to use in the sim, in this case the "sweet spot" should still be there, it just isn't at the power setting that we consider to be cruise. In addition the aircraft in the sim have a bit less roll stability around wings level than do most of their real world counterparts which will aggravate this effect.

S!
TX-EcoDragon
Black 1
TX Squadron XO
http://www.txsquadron.com

Member-Team Raven
http://www.waynehandley.com

(Former)Reserve Pilot Aircraft #2 of Gruppo 313
Pattuglia Acrobatica Virtuale
http://www.vhvt.com/

http://www.attitudeaviation.com/

http://www.calaggieflyers.com/



http://www.txsquadron.com/uploaded/TX-EcoDragon/ravenvert.jpg

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 01:44 AM
HarryVoyager yes im positive its rudder trim < left > right / center when when ever i move the stick even with no rudder it resets the trim, right now i have my controller calibrated perfectly centered for the p51d and all other a/c the rudder seems to be almost all the way to the right. only thing that will make it stay is trim where its trimmed to on a rotary knob, when you trim it so the ball is perfectly centered and move the stick it dont stay where its trimmed to

<center>http://www.geocities.com/leadspittersig/LS1.txt
Good dogfighters bring ammo home, Great ones don't. (c) Leadspitter
<a HREF="http://www.il2skins.com/?action=list&authoridfilter=:Leadspitter:&comefrom=top5&ts=1068087655"> LeadSpitters Skins
</center>

XyZspineZyX
11-09-2003, 05:12 AM
LeadSpitter_ wrote:
- HarryVoyager yes im positive its rudder trim < left
- > right / center when when ever i move the stick
- even with no rudder it resets the trim, right now i
- have my controller calibrated perfectly centered for
- the p51d and all other a/c the rudder seems to be
- almost all the way to the right. only thing that
- will make it stay is trim where its trimmed to on a
- rotary knob, when you trim it so the ball is
- perfectly centered and move the stick it dont stay
- where its trimmed to
-
- <center><img
- src="http://www.geocities.com/leadspittersig/LS1.t
- xt">
- Good dogfighters bring ammo home, Great ones don't.
- (c) Leadspitter
- <a
- HREF="http://www.il2skins.com/?action=list&authori
- dfilter=:Leadspitter:&comefrom=top5&ts=1068087655">
- LeadSpitters Skins
- </center>

Well, then make sure to check again(like most of the whinning you post here without back up information) because Im 100% sure rudder trim works perfectly well in FB.
I always keep my aircraft as fully trimmed as possible while flying, and never had any problems with rudder trim "reseting" like you say.

One thing that happens often though, is that I mistakenly press the > key, instead of "m"(for map), which makes the rudder move to the right and stay in position, but a quick rudder movement should fix it, and trim remains intact.

So please, check and recheck the supposed "errors" or bugs you post in these boards, and dont do it when you are not really sure of what youre talking about.

http://www.uploadit.org/files2/031103-StukaTB.jpg