PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong?



XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 07:47 AM
When I play back my raw footage it's all messed up. I've recorded with Fraps 1.9D and the 2.0 demo. Both times the avi plays back looking like this. Can anyone help?

http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/frapsthing.jpg

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 07:47 AM
When I play back my raw footage it's all messed up. I've recorded with Fraps 1.9D and the 2.0 demo. Both times the avi plays back looking like this. Can anyone help?

http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/frapsthing.jpg

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 08:21 AM
Pic doesn't show so can't help.

____________________

Vengeanze

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 08:35 AM
Hmmm, shows up fine on both of my computers. Can anyone else see the picture up there?


Message Edited on 10/24/0312:38AM by Stecher_3.-JG51

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 09:42 AM
yes i can

http://images.ar15.com/forums/smiles/anim_sniper2.gif
U.S INFANTRY 1984-1991

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 11:12 AM
While trying to retrieve the URL:http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/frapsthing.jpg


The following error was encountered:

Access Denied.
Access control configuration prevents your request from being allowed at this time. Please contact your service provider if you feel this is incorrect.


____________________

Vengeanze

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 02:40 PM
S! Stecher_3

I'm sure that Scragbat, and Davinci, and others know more about this.

Couple three things come to mind:

1. What is the speed of your harddrive? Fraps is very demanding on your harddrive during captured.

2. What are the Res setting you are using in the game?
The idea setting is 640x480 during captured..and set the frame captured in Fraps between 15fps to 24fps and again that depends on the speed of your harddrive.

3. What Graphic card are you using?

I'm sure others will have better questions and answers for you.


Falcon

<center>http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig07.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 06:15 PM
I know some folks cant scrub/process the video without first running it through virtualdub or some other program. That wouldnt explain just viewing native avis from fraps.

Maybe the video card is having problems too??

<center>http://www.blitzpigs.com/john/BP-johann-9-4-03.gif <center>

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 06:56 PM
Stecher,

I haven't seen that, but I have found out that 15 fps is about the most my hard drive can handle when capturing with Fraps.

That's the usual fps to use, and capture at half speed.

There are ways around the "record from track at half speed."

I can record live, at 15 fps, then adjust playback speed with an editor I have.

Zip

<center>BlitzPig_Zip

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/gingernuts/blitz_anim.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 07:45 PM
Man, I can see the pics now but wish I couldn't.
Jikes. Looks like the Matrix. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

In addition to the half-speed and 15 frames trick and running captures through VirtualDub this might help:



<FONT color=#60ff70 size=+1>What are the system requirements for video capture of games?
</FONT>

You need a fast system to make movies of your games in realtime. Below are the minimum specifications required to capture at decent framerates.



</P>
<MENU>
<LI>1 GHz+ CPU
<LI>Windows XP or Windows 2000
<LI>7200 rpm hard drive </MENU>Before capturing, your game should be configured to use the following screen resolution:
<MENU>
<LI>640x480x32bit (for DirectX & OpenGL games)
</MENU>


Setting the color mode to 16-bit may improve the capture speed of older DirectX games.</P>Capturing games running in 8-bit (256 color) mode is not supported. You should also disable any form of anti-aliasing to ensure capture speeds are high.


<FONT color=#60ff70 size=+1>When I try to play the AVI file recorded by Fraps, no suitable codec can be found. Where can I find the correct codec? </FONT>

If you play the AVI in Windows Media Player it should connect to the Internet and download the appropriate codec for you.
Alternatively you can install the following codec
pack from Intel's website:

http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts-df/download.asp?url=/2846/eng/codinstl.exe (http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts-df/download.asp?url=/2846/eng/codinstl.exe)

____________________

Vengeanze

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 10:21 PM
I'm on Windows XP, with a 2.40 GHz Pentium 4, ATI 9700 Pro, 512 MB of RAM, and currently 71.3 GB of free disk space. I had Fraps set to 15 fps, and I am using 32 bit for OpenGL. The picture I posted was when I recorded with the game resolution at 1024X768, but I also tried it with 640X480, and it did the same thing. I have the latest codec for playing avi files on Windows Media Player. When played in Windows Movie Maker and Real One Player, it appears the same. That's why I'm so puzzled about this. Am I missing something?

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)



Message Edited on 10/24/0302:26PM by Stecher_3.-JG51

XyZspineZyX
10-24-2003, 11:13 PM
Stech, can u record a short vid, couple of mb, with em weird artifacts and then one of us can test it on our systems to narrow it down?

U can mail it to me at larm@home.se or post the url if u got a place to host it.

Try un- and then reinstall fraps.

Any other weird vid-problems?

____________________

Vengeanze

XyZspineZyX
10-25-2003, 12:33 AM
Ok, here's the wmv version. This one was recorded in 640X480. Only 760 KB. No, never had any serious problems before. Thanks for your help on this.

http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/badclip.wmv

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

Message Edited on 10/24/0304:35PM by Stecher_3.-JG51

XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 09:58 AM
Bump

Has anyone had an idea magically pop into their head that will fix this?

<center>http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
www.jg51.com</center> (http://www.jg51.com</center>)

XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 10:30 AM
I checked your clip there and I get same results.

This means the clip is FUBAR.
Consecuently this means something's wrong with recording.

Guess u removed and reinstalled fraps.

What if u try to record with another capture program??
Same or..?

____________________

Vengeanze

XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 06:30 PM
Is the key you are using to record video, assigned to anything else, as well?

http://www.hollowlife.net/IL-2.gif

XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 08:07 PM
I can't shed any light, sorry /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

<center>http://www.appy55.dsl.pipex.com/FB/squigsig.jpg

Monty_Dan
03-04-2004, 06:45 AM
Try this and see what happens. Set res to 640x480 but on your fraps options set the recording to "capture half size". Also set the fraps record sound to "no". This will ease the amount of work your hard drive is doing, and hopfully give you a better result. If this happens it may help direct you to the real problem!!!!

deepo_HP
03-05-2004, 12:28 AM
hi stecher,

never download codecs via mediaplayer!
the automatic download of codecs by windows often will delete mp3-codecs, for example... same with other "similar to ms-proprietary" ones. since the automatic download can't be disabled, try to watch with windows mediaplayer only, when not connected to internet!

and furthermore, there are no "avi-needed" codecs. avi is only a container for audio/video-streams, and has nothing to do with codecs.

you should check your 'fraps'-installation!
'fraps' installs his own, lossless codec (which can't be used for encoding by other applications) and the "decompressor" part should show up in your codec-list. you can check your installed codecs in the "device-manager" under "audio-, video- and gamecontrollers" and there under "videocodecs". it should name there as "fraps-decompressor"

anyway, your system should easily handle 'fraps'-recording.
so i would recommend a new install of 'fraps', but only try one (!) version! before that, uninstall 'fraps' by "software" in your "system-manager" (it says "remove only" there) and afterwards search our whole system for 'fraps.dll' and 'fraps.exe' (which is all, that 'fraps' is) and delete them all!
then reboot and install 'fraps' again. when you don't have the full 'fraps2', you should stay with 'fraps1.9'

don't install both versions together! since the 'fraps.dll' are different for both, your system may be confused by which of them to use...


edit:
don't use "record half-size" within 'fraps'. that will make 'fraps' use more cpu-power to encode. if you have a 7200rpm-drive, 640x480 should be no problem.
watching your picture, i don't think, that the harddrive is the problem. 'fraps' will drop frames when the drive is not fast enough, but it will not distort single frames!
best to check the record is indeed 'virtualdub'. load your 'fraps'-record in 'virtualdub', if it appears ok there but distorted in other players, then save it to other place. use 'huffyuv' for reencoding the recording lossless in that case (and 'audio-&gt;direct stream', if you have used audio-recording in 'fraps')


deepo of "homeoputes"
lapinot as no17 @ il2airracing.com

[This message was edited by le_deepo on Thu March 04 2004 at 11:38 PM.]

deepo_HP
03-05-2004, 12:40 AM
oh well,

some else... have you tried to put 'vsync' on for replaying the track inside the game?

deepo of "homeoputes"
lapinot as no17 @ il2airracing.com

3.JG51_Stecher
03-10-2004, 03:54 AM
Wow, how did this get back here after five months? Thanks for the suggestions guys, but I fixed this long ago. Sorry you went to the trouble to help, I appreciate it. The problem, when I realized it, was very embarassing. My ATI drivers were too old for Fraps! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/34.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif
This was one of the first things that I "eliminated" as a possible cause. I emailed the Fraps guy, and that led me to go check that again. It turned out that I had downloaded the new drivers, but never installed them. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif Anyway, it works fine. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://flygirl.dhs.org:8080/jg51/Alpine-Thunder.jpg


3./Jagdgeschwader 51
3./JG51_Stecher
www.jg51.com (http://www.jg51.com)