PDA

View Full Version : Ok, what the Bloomin heck is going on.



lucas_valentine
07-31-2004, 11:48 AM
I just fired up IL2 for the first time in a week and for the first time since downloading the new patch. I went for a quick battle and something weird is happening. Everytime a bullet hits a plane, large and badly modelled arrows stick out and then large speach bubbles appear saying things like "I'm on Fire" and "RTB". What the hell is going on??? Please someone tell me what it is and how I can get rid of this rather irritating intrusion. Also, where the hell did it come from???

lucas_valentine
07-31-2004, 11:48 AM
I just fired up IL2 for the first time in a week and for the first time since downloading the new patch. I went for a quick battle and something weird is happening. Everytime a bullet hits a plane, large and badly modelled arrows stick out and then large speach bubbles appear saying things like "I'm on Fire" and "RTB". What the hell is going on??? Please someone tell me what it is and how I can get rid of this rather irritating intrusion. Also, where the hell did it come from???

Weasel53
07-31-2004, 11:54 AM
Your config file changed. Go into it and under "game" look for arcade. Then type in arcade=0. That will make the arrows go away.

_VR_ScorpionWorm
07-31-2004, 11:54 AM
Arcade mode has been switched on, go to your FB main directory and open config.ini with notepad, scroll down to where you see arcade=1 and change the 1 to 0, save.

http://img55.photobucket.com/albums/v169/Scorpion08/Hurri-1.jpg

www.vultures-row.com (http://www.vultures-row.com)

Franzen
07-31-2004, 11:56 AM
Ha ha ha, I seem to remember reading a thread about this before. Sorry, I know nothing about it but I think it was something to do with your difficulty settings. Check them out. I heard there was something called "arcade play" but as I said, I know nothing about it. I hope it helps.

Fritz Franzen

Udidtoo
07-31-2004, 12:17 PM
Reading this makes me go " OK, but if he didn't manually change arcade setting from 0 to 1 then what happened?"

Until yesterday I was seeing 'Great patch, sound much improved" and Great patch, best AI yet" and I was thinking really? Because in my game the horrible popping is back worse than ever and my AI was completly futzed up.

After a complete uninstall, new patch Dl's, both 2.01 and 2.04 I now have the sound at a decent level and my AI stopped being suicidel maniacs.

Can corrupted downloads still give us a functioning game but with things like Arcade being on without us setting it or AI bent on self destuction?

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

lucas_valentine
07-31-2004, 12:20 PM
Cheers guys, I didn't even know there was an arcade mode. I certainly haven't changed my difficulty settings in the last year so I don't know how the hell that got turned on! Apart from the weird arrows, what else does acarde mode do??

Udidtoo
07-31-2004, 12:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lucas_valentine:
Cheers guys, I didn't even know there was an arcade mode. I certainly haven't changed my difficulty settings in the last year so I don't know how the hell that got turned on! Apart from the weird arrows, what else does acarde mode do??<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Its found in your configuration file in the FB folder in program files. I have never enabled it but as I understand it it does exactly what you saw, converts all your bullet stikes into visible little arrows and makes all conversation into little cartoon ballons.

By default its listed as arcade=0 in your config. If it shows as a =1 just change it back to 0 and it will go away.

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

F19_Ob
07-31-2004, 12:45 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lucas_valentine:
I just fired up IL2 for the first time in a week and for the first time since downloading the new patch. I went for a quick battle and something weird is happening. Everytime a bullet hits a plane, large and badly modelled arrows stick out and then large speach bubbles appear saying things like "I'm on Fire" and "RTB". What the hell is going on??? Please someone tell me what it is and how I can get rid of this rather irritating intrusion. Also, where the hell did it come from???<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Dont worry.....Olli72 have explained it to us already.

"FB is age rated 11+, but AEP is rated 7+..... "

So nothing wrong here. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/icon_twisted.gif
Good find olli

LeadSpitter_
07-31-2004, 03:33 PM
go into your config.ini with notepad, change arcademode=1 to arcademode=0 and problem solved. Its listed under [game].

It just shows the gunhits and ricochets.

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v43/leadspitter/LSIG1.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-31-2004, 07:03 PM
Is it possible someone else has access to your machine and they changed the .ini file ?


If not, how the heck did an update change something that hasn't changed on other player's machines ?

tttiger
07-31-2004, 11:20 PM
"Bloomin heck"?????

Is cussing allowed in here?

Never a mod around when ya need one http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

ttt

"I want the one that kills the best with the least amount of risk to me"

-- Chuck Yeager describing "The Best Airplane."

Maple_Tiger
08-01-2004, 07:17 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by F19_Ob:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lucas_valentine:
I just fired up IL2 for the first time in a week and for the first time since downloading the new patch. I went for a quick battle and something weird is happening. Everytime a bullet hits a plane, large and badly modelled arrows stick out and then large speach bubbles appear saying things like "I'm on Fire" and "RTB". What the hell is going on??? Please someone tell me what it is and how I can get rid of this rather irritating intrusion. Also, where the hell did it come from???<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Dont worry.....Olli72 have explained it to us already.

"FB is age rated 11+, but AEP is rated 7+..... "

So nothing wrong here. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/icon_twisted.gif
Good find olli<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>



Are you implying that i have a mind of a 7 year old?

......Proubly right. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

Capt. 361stMapleTiger.
http://img52.photobucket.com/albums/v158/Maple_Tiger/FBAA2.gif
Proud member of the FBAA and Nutty Philosohpy Club.

tsisqua
08-01-2004, 09:02 AM
Mild Swear Test: Bloody Hell

Your attention to the rules on profanity are admirable.

Arcade mode on? Interesting. I've seen people post with problems that were due to the cfg file changing after patching . . . Never happened to me yet.

Good Luck, Mate

Tsisqua

http://server6.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-bird1.JPG

Zero Niner
08-01-2004, 08:44 PM
IMO arcade mode is a misnomer. Doesn't convert the game into an arcade type game with unlimted ammo, powerups etc.
I find arcade mode useful as a training tool, it tells me where I've hit the bandit, how dispersed my shots are, and in game it tells me when it's time to go for another bandit. Eg when it says "PK" it means (I think) that you killed the pilot.

lucas_valentine
08-03-2004, 03:51 AM
Cheers guys, problem solved. How the bloody hell it got turned on in the first place is a damn mystery!...I Honestly thought it was some kind of hack or something like that! It's not the sort of thing you expect to see in a game like this!