PDA

View Full Version : Perfect mode on Radeon 9800



XyZspineZyX
09-16-2003, 12:14 AM
OK, I enabled perfect mode on my box but that resulted in nothing but the ground disappearing completely (i.e. other than runways or other "non-landscape" objects, there was just sky everywhere). I tried quitting IL-2 and reopening it, but I still experienced the same strange groundless environment. Anyone else have this problem? Here are my system specs:

2.8 GHz Pentium IV w/ HyperThreading
1 GHz DDR RAM
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128 MB

XyZspineZyX
09-16-2003, 12:14 AM
OK, I enabled perfect mode on my box but that resulted in nothing but the ground disappearing completely (i.e. other than runways or other "non-landscape" objects, there was just sky everywhere). I tried quitting IL-2 and reopening it, but I still experienced the same strange groundless environment. Anyone else have this problem? Here are my system specs:

2.8 GHz Pentium IV w/ HyperThreading
1 GHz DDR RAM
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128 MB

XyZspineZyX
09-16-2003, 12:30 AM
Get the latest cat drivers 3.7 and you'll be fine in OpenGL.

XyZspineZyX
09-16-2003, 11:35 AM
I have the 3.7 drivers and I tried perfect mode in OpenGL. I still got the "groundless" landscape though.

Zayets
09-16-2003, 11:36 AM
here should come an nvidia fanboy , hehehe

Zayets out

http://www.arr.go.ro/iar81c.JPG

XyZspineZyX
09-16-2003, 11:39 AM
ScoPi wrote:
- I have the 3.7 drivers and I tried perfect mode in
- OpenGL. I still got the "groundless" landscape
- though.

Disable texture compression in the IL2Setup.

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/banners/Giobanner.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 10:34 AM
Er, um... I don't see an option to disable texture compression.

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 10:36 AM
OK... I found it on the Video tab by switching the settings select list to "Custom". However, it's already disabled. Any other ideas?

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 10:51 AM
Combine must be checked also.. at least on my 9800 pro.

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 02:26 PM
This is really a mysterious bug. I have encountered it some time I know I have but I don´t run in perfect mode anyway because if there isn´t a screen corruption bug with ATI hardware it´s definiatly a bug with overly low performance.

Have a hard time getting fps over 30 (can´t get blow 27 so it´s pretty stable) in perfect mode at 1280x960x32 4xaa and 16x anisotropic but I have no screen anomalies whatsoever currently on my CAT 3.5 which should contain this bug.

It´s a really weird issue. It can come and go it seems. Not much difference anyway. The only difference is that the water is a bit better from what I can tell and there aren´t much water in IL 2 FB. Would be useful in CFS 2 I would think.

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 04:03 PM
I've not had disappearing objects, a slight color change to water at some angles but only in flyby views.

Can you post a screen ?

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.uploadit.org/files/120903-rogo2.jpg>



"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 04:27 PM
Ya, I'll post a screen this weekend. Thanks.

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 05:54 PM
1280x960x32 4xaa and 16x anisotropic


What is 4x AA and 16x Anisotropic.

I've seen it in a few posts about graphic setting but I don't know what it is? I never see it as any otions in the game? Do you have to have a super fast graphic card before you get the option to put it on?

Thanks for any info

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 06:54 PM
I don't want to disappoint you guys. So here goes. My 5900 runs perfect......well.....perfect../i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------<center>
No Guts No Glory
<center>
http://www.jpmagazine.com/jpmag/eventcoverage/p95932_image_small.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 08:50 PM
My heavily overclocked MX 440 runs perfect too/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif


<center>http://users.compulink.gr/ilusin@e-free.gr/bf109[2)1.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-18-2003, 10:03 PM
AA= antialiasing. Removes those disturbing edges that tells you that you are playing a computer game.

anisotropic helps detail on textures a bit further apart especially. Very helpful for IQ. Running just trilinear tend to lead to more blurriness.

And yes older video cards take a huge performance hit with these on or blurrs the image more than they antialias it (especiall quincunx on nVidia cards).

You need newer video cards like 5800 Ultra or faster to take full advantage of it. But then those runs at higher resolutions which makes your need for aa less... However AA takes less performance hit then upping the resolution so it´s still useful.

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:12 AM
Look, FB is friendly with geforce. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

=======================================
Athlon XP 3200+, FIC AU13 MOBO, DDR 1024M, GeForce4ti4200,
MCP-T SoundStorm, Seagate Barracuda IV 7200rpm 60G HDD,
Yes,I got TrackIR/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif , Two M$ SW Pr2(weird but good HOTAS.Bill,let sticks be made!)

=815=Squadron in South Korea
http://cafe.daum.net/il2sturmovik

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:39 AM
The texture preference in the OGL driver must be AT least on the second notch from the left, NOT the first notch. At the first notch...you get no Textures in perfect mode.

nVidia fanboys...wait for Half Life 2 and then sing your song...

<CENTER><img src=http://myweb.cableone.net/edmondsonm/cp_sig.jpg></CENTER>
<center>3DMark03 Score:5600 (service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=1283120)</center> <center> 3DMark01 Score:17,766 (service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6999395) </center> <center> PCMark02 Score:7063,5902,1172 (service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1429745) </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:48 AM
HL2 is for kids.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------<center>
No Guts No Glory
<center>
http://www.jpmagazine.com/jpmag/eventcoverage/p95932_image_small.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 02:01 AM
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif


Maybe Lo-mac will make us cry with their DirectX but I think both nvidia and ATI fanboy would cry and should buy next gen cards.

I don't care HL2, either.

Rocrawler wrote:
- HL2 is for kids.
-


=======================================
Athlon XP 3200+, FIC AU13 MOBO, DDR 1024M, GeForce4ti4200,
MCP-T SoundStorm, Seagate Barracuda IV 7200rpm 60G HDD,
Yes,I got TrackIR/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif , Two M$ SW Pr2(weird but good HOTAS.Bill,let sticks be made!)

=815=Squadron in South Korea
http://cafe.daum.net/il2sturmovik

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 09:14 AM
Thanks for the info Oeqvist

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:44 PM
Before you can determine it's the R9800's problem
Check and update:

*DirectX to 9.0b

*Motherboard Chipset Driver (like Intel875 chipset you should download its driver form the Intel's web site)

*Lastest ATI Driver 3.6 or later from ATI's website

*Run "Setup" from IL2FB's shortcut menu, Chose Setting: "ATI Radeon 9700/9500" under "Video"

*If problem insist, your 9800Pro may be a hardware defeat one, call retailer for RMA to exchange it.

*If after the 9800Pro replaced and it still doesn't work, do the same RMA to Motherboard and call their technical support

ZG77_Nagual
09-19-2003, 01:56 PM
My 9800 pro runs it fine. don't know if it's been suggested - but try uninstalling all the video drivers then reinstalling 3.7

http://pws.chartermi.net/~cmorey/pics/p47janes.jpg


http://pws.chartermi.net/~cmorey/pics/p47janes.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 02:08 PM
i found perfect to chug a lil on mine /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif
i also got odd strechmarks in the ground textures
the water tho, mmmmmmmmm /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif
atm i got barton @ 2.2 and 9700 @ 9700pro
1gig at 400/200 too /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 03:02 PM
Everytime when I close the IL2FB with R9700Pro, it would show up an "illegal operation" to my desktop. There is no way I can exit it except rebooting. That's why I switched to FX5800, even the imagine quality in Perfect is not as good as 9700 which only refer to the water reflection.

Some ATI cards have hardware design fault with some manufactories. As I have tried SAPPHIRE TECHNOLOGY is pain in the.....

ZG77_Nagual
09-19-2003, 03:19 PM
Saphire makes boards for ati - I have a 9700 non-pro - modded to pro and overclocked quite high - it benches the same as my 9800pro - but it does not handle perfect mode as well as the 9800pro. I've flown online in perfect a few times with the 9800 pro - it is flyable but I like high frames so I don't use it much.

http://pws.chartermi.net/~cmorey/pics/p47janes.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 12:58 AM
perfect chugs on mine too /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

(256Mb 9800 Pro, P4 2.66Ghz, 1Gb RAM) - I suspect it's because of the crap motherboard, it won't do 8xAGP, it only does 4x.

/m

<TABLE CELLPADDING=0 CELLSPACING=0 BORDER=0 BGCOLOR=#000839>
<TR>
<TD>http://www.airtattooshop.com/shop/images/Homepage/RAFBF_Logo.gif (http://www.raf-benfund.org.uk)</TD>
</TR></TABLE>

http://www.world-data-systems.com/lomac/icagbaderanim2.gif (http://www.icaghq.com)

XyZspineZyX
09-20-2003, 01:06 AM
8x agp is pretty much pointless :\
perfect seems tobe fancy water, i ran it for a while and it chugged a lil
i need to overclock more it seems /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif