PDA

View Full Version : Voice Recognition SW (Shoot 1.6) and multiplayer question



SithSpeeder
02-14-2004, 12:34 PM
Hey all--

I've been playing with this really slick voice recognition software, primarily offline (called Shoot 1.6). There were some setup and keystroke quirks, but now I think I'm through that. Anyways, more to the point...

I'm trying to use Shoot 1.6 to type precanned messages in the chat window for online/multiplayer play. In other words, I have 0 through 9 messages that I can "can" or "pretype". This works GREAT. For example, in the xml file if I put:
<command name="MULTI Salute" phrase="salute">
<key type="`" />
<key type="2" />
<key type="Enter" />
<key type="Enter" />
</command>
and then in the game I say "salute", it enters the chat (via "'"), selects the second entry (precanned message "Salute!"), Enters the message into the chat buffer, then Enters/selects the current "ALL" selection.

The problem I am having is that 3 of the messages I want to only go to MY_TEAM. I have tried inserting a "Down" to pick MY_TEAM as in:
<command name="MULTI Check 6" phrase="check six">
<key type="`" />
<key type="6" />
<key type="Enter" />
<key type="Down" />
<key type="Enter" />
</command>
...but this only works once because the next time, it tries to go "Down" again (which doesn't exist) when selecting who to send it to. The absolute value of the "who to send it to" doesn't seem to work. That is, if I type "1" to try to get MY_TEAM, it won't do that. It only seems to like the "Down" arrow.

So my long, convoluted question is, is there a way to absolutely select the first item in the "who to send it to" box (ALL) and a way to absolutely select the second item in the "who to send it to" box (MY_TEAM) that I am unaware of? Or is this going to need to be a request for a future release?

Thanks for reading.

* _54th_Speeder *

http://members.cox.net/~ijhutch/_images/400x200sig.jpg

SithSpeeder
02-14-2004, 12:34 PM
Hey all--

I've been playing with this really slick voice recognition software, primarily offline (called Shoot 1.6). There were some setup and keystroke quirks, but now I think I'm through that. Anyways, more to the point...

I'm trying to use Shoot 1.6 to type precanned messages in the chat window for online/multiplayer play. In other words, I have 0 through 9 messages that I can "can" or "pretype". This works GREAT. For example, in the xml file if I put:
&lt;command name="MULTI Salute" phrase="salute"&gt;
&lt;key type="`" /&gt;
&lt;key type="2" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Enter" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Enter" /&gt;
&lt;/command&gt;
and then in the game I say "salute", it enters the chat (via "'"), selects the second entry (precanned message "Salute!"), Enters the message into the chat buffer, then Enters/selects the current "ALL" selection.

The problem I am having is that 3 of the messages I want to only go to MY_TEAM. I have tried inserting a "Down" to pick MY_TEAM as in:
&lt;command name="MULTI Check 6" phrase="check six"&gt;
&lt;key type="`" /&gt;
&lt;key type="6" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Enter" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Down" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Enter" /&gt;
&lt;/command&gt;
...but this only works once because the next time, it tries to go "Down" again (which doesn't exist) when selecting who to send it to. The absolute value of the "who to send it to" doesn't seem to work. That is, if I type "1" to try to get MY_TEAM, it won't do that. It only seems to like the "Down" arrow.

So my long, convoluted question is, is there a way to absolutely select the first item in the "who to send it to" box (ALL) and a way to absolutely select the second item in the "who to send it to" box (MY_TEAM) that I am unaware of? Or is this going to need to be a request for a future release?

Thanks for reading.

* _54th_Speeder *

http://members.cox.net/~ijhutch/_images/400x200sig.jpg

Airhead_777_AVG
02-14-2004, 12:47 PM
S! Speeder,
This is weird because I was trying to figure out this very thing last night! I ran into the same stumbling block you are having. I finally mapped the up and down keys to a vacant hat switch on my X45 and select from the list...not the best solution, but way better than I had before. If anyone else knows how to work around this...I'm all ears!

http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig03.gif

Airhead_777_AVG
02-15-2004, 08:25 AM
Speeder,
Give this a try. After a couple of hours or so scripting and an evening of testing, it seems to work.

&lt;command name="MULTI I'm on your six" phrase="On your six"&gt;
&lt;key type="`" /&gt;
&lt;key type="8" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Enter" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Down" /&gt;
&lt;key type="BackSpace" repeat="3" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Delete" repeat="15" /&gt;
&lt;key type="CapsLock" /&gt;
&lt;key type="M" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Y" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Shift -" /&gt;
&lt;key type="A" /&gt;
&lt;key type="R" /&gt;
&lt;key type="M" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Y" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Capslock" /&gt;
&lt;key type="Enter" /&gt;
&lt;/command&gt;

http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig03.gif

SithSpeeder
02-15-2004, 09:06 AM
Ooooh. I see how you did it. YOu basically are recreating the "who to send it to" list on the fly. Very smart.

Minor improvements might be then:
1. Don't worry about the "Down" because you are going to recreate it every time anyway. But I guess if you are typing a normal message (not pre-canned), then the choices might not be there. Hmmmm.
2. Also, why "Delete" repeat=15 times? MY_ARMY is only 7?
I have generally found typing (especially deleting) to be very slow. Is that why you bumped it to 15? Does the command go out fairly quickly like this?

Great stuff, Airhead. Thanks so much for sharing. That is kinda weird/funny that you were trying to do the same thing on the same night. I want to go totally HOTAS (X45, CHPro Rudder Pedals, TrackIR2, Shoot 1.6, and Ventrillo) and hate having to go back to the keyboard. Now I can do coop missions with my squad and tell the AI what to do while still talking to my squad normally.

Anyone else have any tips or tricks? What would be cool would be to specify the "who to send it to" with a switch on the end of the message itself, like "1. Check your 6 &lt;MY_TEAM" so as to avoid the second menu altogether.

* _54th_Speeder *

http://members.cox.net/~ijhutch/_images/400x200sig.jpg

Airhead_777_AVG
02-15-2004, 09:39 AM
Speeder,
I had to put the "down" line in because I couldn't get FB to recognize key strokes otherwise. The reason I repeat "Delete" 15 times is because I'm also gonna use it to communicate directly to single players in-game and some pilots have long nicknames. Change the setting according to your needs and the script should run a bit faster.

Sounds like we are pretty much on the same path here. I have the same exact HOTAS setup, except I'm still using the first TIR.

http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig03.gif

SithSpeeder
02-17-2004, 06:51 AM
bump

http://members.cox.net/~ijhutch/_images/400x200sig.jpg