PDA

View Full Version : Graphical problem... little help?



MrCalavera
08-15-2004, 01:18 PM
Ok, I'm right at the start of the game and when I exit the building where you find the radio and go outside for the first time the whole floor (ground, water, mountains etc) is blue. I can see all the buildings and people and even the plants but the ground doesn't seem to have any textures to it.
Can anyone help me out?

My specifications are as follows:
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700LE
512 DDR RAM
AMD Athlon XP 3000+

and i'm running it on windows XP if that makes a difference.

MrCalavera
08-15-2004, 01:18 PM
Ok, I'm right at the start of the game and when I exit the building where you find the radio and go outside for the first time the whole floor (ground, water, mountains etc) is blue. I can see all the buildings and people and even the plants but the ground doesn't seem to have any textures to it.
Can anyone help me out?

My specifications are as follows:
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700LE
512 DDR RAM
AMD Athlon XP 3000+

and i'm running it on windows XP if that makes a difference.

RevoluShawn
08-15-2004, 01:45 PM
Are you using the newest nVidia drivers for your card? Did you make any adjustments to your display settings? Are you OC'ing your card at all?

08-15-2004, 08:17 PM
I'm having the same problem. The ground is blue most of the time, like I can see through it to the ocean.

my sepcs..

AMD Athlon XP 2400+
1024 MB DDR PC3200
ATI X800
Windows XP PRO

i downloaded the latest catalyst files from the ati website...
i downloaded the v1.1 patch for farcry...

I just beat Doom 3 in ULTRA settings...why can't i run this?

soldierman_89
08-15-2004, 08:23 PM
I'm having the exact problem and am waiting for a reply.

fabulouscoops
08-15-2004, 08:52 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dukefrukem:
I'm having the same problem. The ground is blue most of the time, like I can see through it to the ocean.

my sepcs..

AMD Athlon XP 2400+
1024 MB DDR PC3200
ATI X800
Windows XP PRO

i downloaded the latest catalyst files from the ati website...
i downloaded the v1.1 patch for farcry...

I just beat Doom 3 in ULTRA settings...why can't i run this?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
If you have an x800, try loading the 1.2 patch. It is supposed to be a fix for high end ATI cards.

gain967
08-15-2004, 09:04 PM
Try this, it solved many problems with far cry for me. I have a 9700 pro on 1 of my 3 pc's i never had a problem with it. go to the control panel click ad or remove programs click far cry then select repair, the wizard will ask you for discs 4 and 5 but do what it says till it completes, if you get an error message just cancel out. When the wizard completes your version will be 1.0. Now click "here we go " in this link and install patch 1.2 over 1.0... you dont need 1.1 , let me know how it works .
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=452106891&m=486108365

soldierman_89
08-15-2004, 10:55 PM
Problem for me is that I'm using the demo version. So that patch is useless for me.

08-16-2004, 09:38 AM
i'll try that tonight after work, let you guys know my results...

soldierman_89
08-16-2004, 09:52 AM
Yeah please do. If it works I'm just gonna risk it and buy the game. Then I'll try that and pray to God it works.

08-16-2004, 06:54 PM
Okay, it fixed the blue ground... but with an X800 i would think lines would be smoother around people and objects... every once in a while i'll come across something, (say a person)and the outline around the person will be black and jagged... but at least it fixed the blue ground

suprnova;// is heaven

gain967
08-16-2004, 06:57 PM
download cat 4.8 's they are out today.www.ati.com (http://www.ati.com)

08-20-2004, 09:28 AM
didn't work... im returning it for a different card

suprnova;// is heaven

09-01-2004, 05:51 PM
Just to let everyone know:

The problem I was having was because I had a VisionTek Extasy ATI X800...The company I purchased the card from sent me the wrong card. When I installed the New ATI Radeon X800, it fixed ALL problems. It just goes to show you how a real card directly from ATI will perform vs. the VisionTek, ASUS, Sapphire and Gigabyte. ROCK ON.

suprnova;// is heaven

xcyanide
09-04-2004, 06:35 PM
the blue prob seems to be an update to v1.1 as i understand it...

athalon XP 2400+, 266/400FSB...512 DDR PC3200...GeForce FX5700LE...WD 80 Gig 7200 HHD with 8 Mb cache...ECS all-in-one mobo...Audigy 2 ZS...17" NEC MultiSynch moniter