PDA

View Full Version : Could someone help me please? veteran players?



kchickenlord
07-27-2004, 05:33 PM
I have a homebuild i put together quite a while ago for playing the original il2 and for college work.
P4 w/533 fsb @2.53GHz
1 gig of ddr333 (400 was dodgy at the time)
a gf4 ti4600 (4x but the mobo will take an 8x)

ive replaced the hdd with a new raptor after the original was damaged.

What should i upgrade, im thinking the Graphics card, but with what and will the cpu bottleneck the whole thing so as to make it a waste of time?

im on a budget of the strictest variety, im not as minted as many older simmers,
i cant afford a new alienware pc with 2 6800s in parallel and a screen that wouldnt fit on my wall, but at the same time i want to be able to continue my hobby,
the game stops frequently and im sure pacific fighters will be unplayable (the game regularly freezes at important moments such as takeoff and landing causing me to crash etc.)

Cheers

kchickenlord
07-27-2004, 05:33 PM
I have a homebuild i put together quite a while ago for playing the original il2 and for college work.
P4 w/533 fsb @2.53GHz
1 gig of ddr333 (400 was dodgy at the time)
a gf4 ti4600 (4x but the mobo will take an 8x)

ive replaced the hdd with a new raptor after the original was damaged.

What should i upgrade, im thinking the Graphics card, but with what and will the cpu bottleneck the whole thing so as to make it a waste of time?

im on a budget of the strictest variety, im not as minted as many older simmers,
i cant afford a new alienware pc with 2 6800s in parallel and a screen that wouldnt fit on my wall, but at the same time i want to be able to continue my hobby,
the game stops frequently and im sure pacific fighters will be unplayable (the game regularly freezes at important moments such as takeoff and landing causing me to crash etc.)

Cheers

p1ngu666
07-27-2004, 05:35 PM
gfx card is the obivous one
and oc the cpu http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg
<123_GWood_JG123> NO SPAM!

Cess-Harp
07-27-2004, 05:43 PM
I would suggest that you upgrade you MOBO and chip, you are at the bottom of the middle of the pack to put it litely .
If you can and you upgrade now you will be ready for what is comming out the next few months. And computers like yours are going to be hardpressed to keep up .
And if your ram was iffy then you will need new ram also. That is what I would do if I was in your place.

WTE_Galway
07-27-2004, 05:56 PM
the 4600 is your biggest bottleneck at present, do it first

kchickenlord
07-27-2004, 05:59 PM
Cant afford new mobo, chip and ram, therin lies the problem, if i did buy a new mobo and chip it would only be marginally better than what i have (i could afford a cheap mobo and say a low GHz fsb 800 chip) and so prob. not worth the cash as i wouldnt be able to afford the graphics card, and new ram would have to be sidelined.
I have maybe enough for a gf5900 of a 9800 pro, what i really need to know is if this is good enough, i wont be able to afford another upgrade until maybe this time next year, i cant get the hours to make enough cash to cover it during the college year.
If i cant find a cheap solution i may just have to bag the whole idea and forget pacific fighters. theres nothing that would pain me more than spending my last reserves on a video card only to find it doesnt help!

TgD Thunderbolt56
07-27-2004, 06:05 PM
Vid card...be sure. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Our server http://www.greatergreen.com/il2

Slick750
07-27-2004, 06:07 PM
Those 9800 pros are pretty cheap now...while they last, I sold my unstable 9600 pro and bought one, Best bang for the buck since my ti4200 years ago. BTW even a 9600 has much better image quality in IL2 then a geforce ti.

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2004, 06:13 PM
Your CPU is fine; you don't need much more than 1.5 GHz to run this acceptably. The RAM, likewise is fine.

It's that G4. New vid card is definitely in order.

kchickenlord
07-27-2004, 07:02 PM
i will go for a 9800 so, from what ive heard theyre a better buy than the nvidia fx's,

Cheers for the replies!

Maple_Tiger
07-27-2004, 07:15 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WTE_Galway:
the 4600 is your biggest bottleneck at present, do it first<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Hey! i have a 4600ti. I rairly have any paus's. I get an average of about 50 FPS. This is with excelant settings.

One way that will proubly fix the paus's, enable S3TC compression.

1) click on Start, All programs, UBI Soft, Setup.


Driver manue: OPenGL


Video Mode: 1024x768 32 bit.

Un check Stencil Buffer(don't need it, unless your running perfect landscape)


Video menue:

Settings: Custom

Texture midmap filter: trilinear

Texture Compression: S3TC

Un check Dither if your using 32 bit mode.

Enable Use Vertex Arrays.

Enable Polygon Stipple.

Extensions:

I have them all checked except Clip hint and Use Palette. Note, you need Texture Compress ARB enabled for S3TC to work.

Then press ok http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

The 4600ti will use alot of FPS if you use AF and AA. I usualy leave mine at 2x AF and AA. Also, i have it set to Performance instead of Quality.

Any further questions, please PM me.

Capt. 361stMapleTiger.
http://img52.photobucket.com/albums/v158/Maple_Tiger/FBAA2.gif
Proud member of the FBAA and Nutty Philosohpy Club.

zjulik
07-27-2004, 07:21 PM
Jeez..it`s time we had a "low end" thread again.

WinXP
PIII 940Mhz
512MB SDRAM
Geforce 420MX (64MB)
+ Every tweak in the book.
Tons of fun.

kchickenlord
07-27-2004, 07:35 PM
Maple_tiger, youre a legend!!
Those settings are an incredible improvement over the preset!
Now i can actually play the finland campaign!!
I owe u one!
Ill be able to wait now, cheers m8!!

georgeo76
07-27-2004, 07:43 PM
You've got some kind of issue w/ hardware/settings or software. My system is almost identical to yours (a little weaker to be precise) and I get wonderful performance w/ FB.

you may want to post your Dxdiag over in Tech Support for a little advice

JG54_Arnie
07-28-2004, 02:58 AM
I agree, you should be able to run IL2 perfecly on that, you should even be able to run it on perfect but defenitely excellent will do! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
But if you want better, go for a new graphics card, you wont need a new Mobo or cpu.

I've got about your system but with a Geforce 4 Ti4200. Runs great on excellent. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

And dont worry about Pacific Fighters as its using the same engine. Should give no problem at all.

dieg777
07-28-2004, 03:42 AM
Agree with stiglr- your processor should be adequete-memory fine so go for the graphics card if your itching to spend- dont be afraid to go for Nvidea I am very pleased with gainward fx5900xt but if you can hang off then all this type will be falling in price again soon due to uptake of newest generation of nvidea and ATI

GUNNER
Gunner get a decent signature
Gunner learn to fly
Gunner learn to shoot
Gunner not run out of bullets just as I get on his six

carguy_
07-28-2004, 04:50 AM
You have too good specs to get pauses or even stutters.

Something with your software is not right.

http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sig23d.jpg

Red_Storm
07-28-2004, 05:54 AM
AMD Athlon 1300
256MB RAM
GeForce 2 MX http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

So don't you guys whine. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

---
http://www.albumsnaps.com/viewPhoto.php?id=42993

plumps_
07-28-2004, 07:33 AM
Red_Storm, please check your Private Topics.

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)
My Missions (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/missionen-en.html)

Zayets
07-28-2004, 07:44 AM
Hmmmm,have almost the same specs and a ti4600 and I play at 1280x960 excellent settings. Have no stutters,nothing,niks,nada.Something is really wrong there.Also I can play Lomac at the same resolution and also no stutters whatsoever.
Of course,I will buy another rig by the end of this year.System I have is 4 years old.

Zayets out

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/Zayets-sigIAR.jpg

JG54_Arnie
07-28-2004, 08:00 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Red_Storm:
AMD Athlon 1300
256MB RAM
GeForce 2 MX http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

So don't you guys whine. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/34.gif
http://schildersmilies.de/noschild/streichel.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

kchickenlord
07-28-2004, 10:38 AM
Ive been playing for hours without a stutter at this stage, it seems that the geforce preset makes the game freeze up, once i used maple_tigers settings the game runs fine on excellent settings, im not too worried about not having perfect water anyway, as long as thats not the only option in pacific fighters in which case im in trouble!!

AirBot
07-28-2004, 01:39 PM
Before upgrading, you need to tweak your PC as best you can. First of all, kill unneeded background apps, run spyware and virus scans, defrag your hardrive, possibly even reinstall Windows if it's been a while since your last reinstall. Next, start tweaking up your setting - both in-game and outside. I see you've already found a tweak that eliminated your problems. You can probably get even more out of your PC.
Tweak first, upgrade later.

Skullin
07-28-2004, 02:26 PM
agree, the Vid card. My bottleneck is my mobo and processor too, but when i upgraded to the 9800pro it made a world of difference !! i can run Perfect almost perfectly... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/blink.gif