PDA

View Full Version : O/T bow do i check my computers running temperature???



73GIAP_GSXR1000
07-26-2004, 11:07 AM
i would like to know(see Title). please reply if you know how because i think my comps overheating (its got to be overmodelled lol) and would just like to confirm my suspicions.
thanks in advance

http://img19.photobucket.com/albums/v58/TransAm/da04caef.jpg

PC Specs:- Pentium 4 3 Gig
512MB Ram
GeForce FX5200 56.64 drivers
Windows XP (Home Edition)
Direct X 9b
Realtek AC97 Audio sound card

73GIAP_GSXR1000
07-26-2004, 11:07 AM
i would like to know(see Title). please reply if you know how because i think my comps overheating (its got to be overmodelled lol) and would just like to confirm my suspicions.
thanks in advance

http://img19.photobucket.com/albums/v58/TransAm/da04caef.jpg

PC Specs:- Pentium 4 3 Gig
512MB Ram
GeForce FX5200 56.64 drivers
Windows XP (Home Edition)
Direct X 9b
Realtek AC97 Audio sound card

tsisqua
07-26-2004, 11:25 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by 73GIAP_GSXR1000:
i would like to know(see Title). please reply if you know how because i think my comps overheating (its got to be overmodelled lol) and would just like to confirm my suspicions.
thanks in advance

http://img19.photobucket.com/albums/v58/TransAm/da04caef.jpg

PC Specs:- Pentium 4 3 Gig
512MB Ram
GeForce FX5200 56.64 drivers
Windows XP (Home Edition)
Direct X 9b
Realtek AC97 Audio sound card
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hi, and nice to meet ya.

There is a utility called Motherboard Monitor that may, or may not see your temp sensor.
http://mbm.livewiredev.com/

You can see it in your bios, but by the time that you are in BIOS, the MoBo may have cooled, not giving you an accurate reading.

I also see that you have the 5200 Nvidia, which I suppose isn't a bad card, and 512megs of ram . . . You should be able to run FB fine on good or excellent settings.

If you suspect overheating, you may want to clean your heatsink and fan . . . you'd be surprised at how nasty it gets, and how fast it gets that way.

More help might be available for ya in Tech Support, or community help . . . whichever they are calling it today.

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/784.gif Welcome To The Madness http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/784.gif

http://server6.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-bird1.JPG

Black Sheep
07-26-2004, 11:31 AM
Check to see if your bios supports temperature monitoring.

I have Award Modular Bios (forget exactly which) and it has a section titled 'PC Health Status' - this allows you to check current system and cpu temp.

It also allows you to set a temp at which a warning goes off if the cpu reaches it and set another at which the pc shuts down if the cpu reaches that; mine are set at 70 and 85 degrees respectively.

If your bios doesn't allow you to do this then try google for cpu temperature monitoring - there are lots of products and software out there that covers this.

Hope this helps http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

eddie_slovik
07-26-2004, 01:51 PM
interesting that someone should post this querie just now as i believe my box is getting too hot too.
i have an xp3000 processer and it runs at 58-60c during general surfing,around 62c for relatively simple games like combat mission but if i plaY il-2 or H&D2 it can creep up to 68c. are these typical readings ?

Inadaze
07-26-2004, 02:05 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by eddie_slovik:
interesting that someone should post this querie just now as i believe my box is getting too hot too.
i have an xp3000 processer and it runs at 58-60c during general surfing,around 62c for relatively simple games like combat mission but if i plaY il-2 or H&D2 it can creep up to 68c. are these typical readings ?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

They seem a bit hot Eddie, I'm using a 3.2 Barton and it ticks over around 47c, goes up to 51-55 with a moderate load and peaks around 59-60 under full load. (it Depends how hot my room is, on a cool day drop those max temps by a few degrees.

I'd look into getting a decent cpu fan if I were u. The stock AMD fans are terrible. I dunno why they bother shipping them with the CPUs, they might be ok in a cool airconditioned enviroment, but they don't really cut it when things get too warm.

All the best ~ Inadaze

potver
07-26-2004, 02:16 PM
My comp.temp is 60-62 while playing Il2/FB from the beginning and I never could find a solution.
Asked many times on the forums ( Great help from a lot of folks) but never had succes in bringing down the temp.
My specs;
Intell 3.2 Ghz with Zalman Cooler+arctic silver
Albatron mobo
memory 1024mb
Ati 9800pro
I even have an open caseon one side.

But FB plays well under the circumstances.
Perhaps it,s my mobo but it has a good reputation.

_VR_ScorpionWorm
07-26-2004, 02:25 PM
If you have had your rig for more than a year, then you should consider checking the heatsink for dust accumulation. Ive had mine for 1 year 3 months and noticed my system started running real slow after playing FB for a few hours, I took it apart the other day and was amazed at how much dust was on the heat sink, I cleaned it out and my rig runs fine no matter how long I run it. Be sure to also clean out any fans and vents that will slow the flow of cool air to your machine. My rig is located about 2 meters from a window unit A/C so keeping it cool is not hard for me http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif thats why I suspected that something was stopping the cooling process.

http://img55.photobucket.com/albums/v169/Scorpion08/Hurri-1.jpg

www.vultures-row.com (http://www.vultures-row.com)

73GIAP_GSXR1000
07-26-2004, 02:31 PM
ok thanks guys, im having a total brain freeze (well actually the hamster in my head is having a rest) so if some nice person wouldnt mind telling me how to access my bios it would be a great help

http://img19.photobucket.com/albums/v58/TransAm/da04caef.jpg

PC Specs:- Pentium 4 3 Gig
512MB Ram
GeForce FX5200 61.76 drivers
Windows XP (Home Edition)
Direct X 9b
Realtek AC97 Audio sound card

Inadaze
07-26-2004, 02:38 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by 73GIAP_GSXR1000:
ok thanks guys, im having a total brain freeze (well actually the hamster in my head is having a rest) so if some nice person wouldnt mind telling me how to access my bios it would be a great help

http://img19.photobucket.com/albums/v58/TransAm/da04caef.jpg

PC Specs:- Pentium 4 3 Gig
512MB Ram
GeForce FX5200 61.76 drivers
Windows XP (Home Edition)
Direct X 9b
Realtek AC97 Audio sound card
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

When the PC boots, it should do the memory test and check the drives, usually you press del at that point to get to the bios, though on some systems it might be a different key. You have to be quick to do it before windows starts to boot.

The temps are usually in pchealth or some such in the bios.

S! Inadaze

eddie_slovik
07-27-2004, 11:28 AM
thanks for the advice inadaze,i removed my cpu fan and it was a touch messy underneath, i vacked it out and now the peak temp is 62c.
potver mentioned running his box with the side off. to my way of thinking would this not make matters worse as the fans would not be able to draw cool air in or expel hot air ?
finally, would an exhaust fan make a difference ? i have the cradle and vent ready to go.

Sam_the_greek
07-27-2004, 01:59 PM
After you have been playing a while, take of your sidepanel and putt it in a horizontal position. Then, take 1 egg from the fridge, smash it and put it on the panel. If you can cook it =&gt; temp WAY to high dude!!!


http://mysite.wanadoo-members.co.uk/ilsigs/spitfire.jpg

G├┬Âring: "Gibt es noch etwas das ich f├╝r Sie tun kan?"
Galland: "Jawul Herr Feldmarschalk, geben Sie mir ein Staffel Spitfires!"
"The Battle of Britain"