PDA

View Full Version : elevator trim & mouse wheel??



gmot_ka
05-27-2004, 08:23 AM
Hallo,

does anybody use the wheel to trim your elevator? I tried this but it was not easy since you never know the level of the elevator trim at the bigining of a flight. there is no message like: "your elevator trim is neutral" or " your trim is 10% down" etc.

in the air you see the effect of the trim on your plane. so you can level it out. but on the ground you never know the position of the triming. so take off is challenging!!

the second problem I had: then I was looking with the outside view other planes, my on plane did't stay horizontal.i crashed a view times vary surpricengly. i gues the trim changed.

thanks

gmot_ka
05-27-2004, 08:23 AM
Hallo,

does anybody use the wheel to trim your elevator? I tried this but it was not easy since you never know the level of the elevator trim at the bigining of a flight. there is no message like: "your elevator trim is neutral" or " your trim is 10% down" etc.

in the air you see the effect of the trim on your plane. so you can level it out. but on the ground you never know the position of the triming. so take off is challenging!!

the second problem I had: then I was looking with the outside view other planes, my on plane did't stay horizontal.i crashed a view times vary surpricengly. i gues the trim changed.

thanks

SeaFireLIV
05-27-2004, 08:33 AM
I have trim on my Joystick throttle and I have `neutral` trim set to a button so i can immediately go back to default ( rarely use it).

Try flying the Spit as that has a trim indicater on the lower left of the cockpit. As I fly I just adjust as necessary. In fact my joystick throttle usually lets me know where my trim is at now (right back-lowest trim to Forward -full trim).

SeaFireLIV...


http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/storm.jpg

want to see more?
http://members.lycos.co.uk/gritier/

Kasdeya
05-27-2004, 08:37 AM
I tried that once but everytime I moved my mouse( not the wheel) my trim went nuts. I figured it was because of the way the mouse acted to windows. I got a CH Pro Throttle and converted the throttle on my joystick to trim like Seafire did. BTW good tip about the neutral button, never thought of that.

http://img61.photobucket.com/albums/v186/Kasdeya/demonmoving.gif (http://www.361stvfg.com/)
CWoS Forums. More Cheese, Less Whine (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

Stalker58
05-27-2004, 08:38 AM
I'm using mouse wheel as elev. trim trying to simulate "poor man's" HOTAS with Cyborg joy and mouse...there is really problem you never know how are oyu trimmed, especially on ground it's annoying sometimes.I remember a time ago on Virtualserver I was trying to take off with B239 and always crashed, after seventh try I finally learn that I'm trimmed totally up http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Altitude, speed, manoeuvre and.... CRASH!

ASM 1
05-27-2004, 09:28 AM
Seafire SNAP! LOL! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gifhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif just posted about this today over in community help - have the mousewheel as throttle now and the FFB2 throttle as elevator trim:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=301109334

S!

Andrew

http://home.comcast.net/~nate.r/ta152Hns-2.jpg

ucanfly
05-27-2004, 10:47 AM
WHn you are using mousewheel , the neutral trim key binding is overwritten by the mouswwheel position. The FWs have trim indicator gauge on the left side (armrest of cockpit), If you have externals enabled look at elevator position to determine trim. If online , no externals, try neutralizing trim offline first and them dont use mousewheel to scroll. I wish more planes had in cockpit trim indicated.

bail0ut
05-27-2004, 10:57 AM
All,

I'm trying to write a small application using the devicelink capabilities that will display this. I have done some research on the UDP protocol and I think it will be straightforward.

I'll keep you posted.

bail0ut

Vmax1968
05-27-2004, 11:10 AM
I have my elevator trim mapped to the mouse wheel and love it. Neutral trim is relative to airspeed. Neutral trim at 90 knots is not the same at 120 kts. You will however see a "take off" trim setting on real airplane. You should expect to adjust the elevator trim anytime airspeed changes if you want to remain in level flight.

[This message was edited by Vmax1968 on Thu May 27 2004 at 10:19 AM.]

LEXX_Luthor
05-27-2004, 01:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>WHn you are using mousewheel , the neutral trim key binding is overwritten by the mouswwheel position.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>mmm not for me. I trim elevator and then get Neutral again with the neutral key. mmm

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Crimea_River
05-27-2004, 04:29 PM
Tried but couldn't get used to it. Some guys use the mouse in the left hand, but I don't. I found this too hard for my feeble mind to handle.

Ketalar
05-27-2004, 04:48 PM
I don't really see what the problem is guys. I have my elevator trim on the mouse wheel, and I have now learned how many clicks of trim I need for different planes at different speeds. When I've taken off and the gear is up I simply trim for the speed I'm at, then when I crash (or land) I simply scroll the wheel back accordingly. (I guess if you do it right you'd re-trim during landing patterns too.)

It's not that hard to remember the trim settings, just use it and you'll learn. Works great for me. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

ucanfly
05-27-2004, 04:57 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>WHn you are using mousewheel , the neutral trim key binding is overwritten by the mouswwheel position.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>mmm not for me. I trim elevator and then get Neutral again with the neutral key. mmm

__________________
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Do you have a fancy way of programming the mousewheel? I just use the HOTAS setting in game. Logitech mouse. What I see when I command neutral trim is that at first elevater trim goes to neutral then it goes to wherever the mousewheel was last at. This is easier to see with P-51s.

LEXX_Luthor
05-27-2004, 05:21 PM
mmm, no just a cheap 10$ optikal mouse USB mapped as Z axis (I think) in the hotas game menu. Have not tried it on P~51 though. mmm

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif