PDA

View Full Version : Exploring map!



Sha22-88
10-19-2015, 04:58 PM
Does anyone know if the whole map is unlocked to explore from the start?

cawatrooper9
10-19-2015, 05:11 PM
Not sure, but probably. It seems like the AC series is moving away from locked areas in maps.

m4r-k7
10-19-2015, 07:03 PM
Yes I remember the director saying that the whole map is open from the beginning in an interview

EmptyCrustacean
10-19-2015, 07:05 PM
Not sure, but probably. It seems like the AC series is moving away from locked areas in maps.

which is a mistake imo locking areas and then opening them is one of the ways I personally identify progression and flow, not just skill upgrades.

cawatrooper9
10-19-2015, 07:44 PM
which is a mistake imo locking areas and then opening them is one of the ways I personally identify progression and flow, not just skill upgrades.

For me, it depends. I liked it in AC1 because it was done with purpose. It made the earlier sections of the game easier, because your playground was smaller.
In games like ACB, it could be really frustrating. Sometimes, all I wanted to do was get another Borgia tower, or do a Romulus mission... but I was blocked because of some inexplicable and immersion-breaking force field. I don't support limiting players' freedom like that.

SofaJockey
10-19-2015, 07:49 PM
I dislike force fields...

UbiJustin
10-19-2015, 11:10 PM
Does anyone know if the whole map is unlocked to explore from the start?

Yes, and no. You do not start in London and you will need to unlock the first district of London before you can explore the full map.

Billiam301
10-19-2015, 11:44 PM
I liked Black Flag's system, where technically you can go anywhere but certain islands we guarded by difficult ships encouraging you to level up

cawatrooper9
10-20-2015, 02:12 PM
Yes, and no. You do not start in London and you will need to unlock the first district of London before you can explore the full map.

So kind of like Unity then? I thought that was an okay system- giving the player a bit of a tutorial and a few warm up missions in one area, so that by the time the main city is revealed they're ready to go all out.

Sha22-88
10-20-2015, 02:22 PM
I just watched Gamespots game play video and they were exploring London and they were on level 1 and they were on the conquer White chapel mission.

phoenix-force411
10-20-2015, 07:35 PM
I prefer no Animus Memory Borders. It was stupid, but it made sense in AC1 more than it did in II and Brotherhood. I think they got rid of it in Revelations, but I don't remember.