PDA

View Full Version : how to use game port from second sound card?



rssmps
05-17-2004, 03:07 PM
I've got a question on using multiple sound cards. I just upgraded to a MSI 865 neo2 platinum. Now, I would like to use the 6 ch. sound that comes with the board.

The problem is that there is no gameport!!!
how do I connect my ch pro pedals?

I thought of 2 options:
1) get a usb-game port adapter. However, I'm not sure how the drivers would work with usb since it was written for the game port.

2) install my old sound card and just use the game port from it.

is this possible? how can I set it so they both live happily together? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

rssmps
05-17-2004, 03:07 PM
I've got a question on using multiple sound cards. I just upgraded to a MSI 865 neo2 platinum. Now, I would like to use the 6 ch. sound that comes with the board.

The problem is that there is no gameport!!!
how do I connect my ch pro pedals?

I thought of 2 options:
1) get a usb-game port adapter. However, I'm not sure how the drivers would work with usb since it was written for the game port.

2) install my old sound card and just use the game port from it.

is this possible? how can I set it so they both live happily together? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Weather_Man
05-17-2004, 11:25 PM
I think you can install the second sound card and disable it in the device manager. The game port should still be active as that's listed as a separate device. Then you can still use the on-board sound.

Not positive you can do that, but if it doesn't work, you can just uninstall it.

NetDaemon
05-17-2004, 11:33 PM
You can also try to find out either in your new mobo`s documentation or in MSI`s web site if it comes with a game/midi port header, if so all you need to buy is a gameport bracket and plug it in the mobo`s header.

I know most MSI mobos do come with that feature but don`t include the gameport bracket or list it as an option only.

If not, you may try Weather_Man`s advise, but I wouldn`t recommend it, since having both cards installed in Windows may bring some hardware-resource related issues to software in general and FB in particular.

Your call, good luck!



"Friends don't let friends buy Nvidia FX cards"

rssmps
05-19-2004, 11:32 AM
Thanks for the advice.
Everything worked great. XP installed both fine with out complaint.

now that I've got 2 cards.... I wonder if there is any benefit to have sound output on one and mic input on the other.
would this spread the load when I use Teamspeak?

F16_Fatboy
05-19-2004, 12:24 PM
Yes! Have a look at:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=352104814

FLSTF

http://img41.photobucket.com/albums/v125/F16_fatboy/Album1/sig_fatboy.jpg

rssmps
05-19-2004, 03:48 PM
Ok, now that I know it's possible.

The question is are there benefits to having sound output on one and mic input on the other?

would this help spread the work load or would it add more work load.?