PDA

View Full Version : Draw Distance

_Ddave_
07-11-2004, 01:12 AM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/88.gif I have a question about the draw distance in FB.I am rather new to this game but have for a number of years designed many sceneries in MS flight sims (3rd party addons).The draw distance for 3-d objects seems very short to me,especially if you make a scenery in an area where the 3-d mesh is using resources to reproduce mountains.Some objects do not become "visible" until you are extremely close,some times as close as 1 kilometer.This is my main objection to this sim.So many people are concerned about picking apart such a great sim as IL2 FB and I am not one of those.But if the concern is to mirror real life physics for aircraft performance and the like,I would hope that there might be a way to improve on the draw distance issue.I have built a few coops and sceneries and for instance,stone castles in the mountains do not show up till you are VERY close on final approach.Rather disconcerting and rather unrealistic.As fabulous as FB is, and with all the great minds working on this premier sim, i would hope that someone might be able to improve a little on this issue.Is there a solution using the grapics engine that FB uses?
Thank you for your time and thank you for such a wonderful flight simulator :-) http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/88.gif
Ddave

_Ddave_
07-11-2004, 01:12 AM