PDA

View Full Version : DCG problems...HELP!



stelr
03-20-2004, 11:13 AM
I have selected "Auto Generation" and "Replace In Game Generator" but cannot get the thing to generate a Campaign!!

When I start up the DCG program (and set the paths for the il2dcg executable and the il2fb executable as per instructions), the DCG screen comes up in the default "Grand Campaign" for German player.

What I'm unable to do, is select another campaign at all. Even if I just hit the "Generate Mission" button, I get the error message that says "Warning: A Career Mode Campaign must be selected in IL2-Forgotton Battles before generating any missions when IL2DCG is in Full Auto-Generation Mode."

OK...but there are no instructions that I can find that tell me how this is done. Must I start up IL2 first? If so, how far must I go in the campaign selection process before starting up DCG and hitting the "Generate Mission" button for it (DCG) to take over. No matter what I do, DCG never seems to actually work...or do anything.

I know I'm missing something, but the instructions for running campaigns are lacking. Installation instructions were good, but not so on the use of the program itself.

Also, when I try to select a campaign from the files in the il2dcg folder on the hard drive, there are no "squadron" files to select. They only appear in the "Grand Campaign" files. So how do you get it to generate a US PAC campaign, with P-38s for example??

v/r
Stel
AKA "Machek"

http://home.nc.rr.com/stel/LTCSTEL11.jpg

stelr
03-20-2004, 11:13 AM
I have selected "Auto Generation" and "Replace In Game Generator" but cannot get the thing to generate a Campaign!!

When I start up the DCG program (and set the paths for the il2dcg executable and the il2fb executable as per instructions), the DCG screen comes up in the default "Grand Campaign" for German player.

What I'm unable to do, is select another campaign at all. Even if I just hit the "Generate Mission" button, I get the error message that says "Warning: A Career Mode Campaign must be selected in IL2-Forgotton Battles before generating any missions when IL2DCG is in Full Auto-Generation Mode."

OK...but there are no instructions that I can find that tell me how this is done. Must I start up IL2 first? If so, how far must I go in the campaign selection process before starting up DCG and hitting the "Generate Mission" button for it (DCG) to take over. No matter what I do, DCG never seems to actually work...or do anything.

I know I'm missing something, but the instructions for running campaigns are lacking. Installation instructions were good, but not so on the use of the program itself.

Also, when I try to select a campaign from the files in the il2dcg folder on the hard drive, there are no "squadron" files to select. They only appear in the "Grand Campaign" files. So how do you get it to generate a US PAC campaign, with P-38s for example??

v/r
Stel
AKA "Machek"

http://home.nc.rr.com/stel/LTCSTEL11.jpg

antifreeze
03-20-2004, 06:45 PM
These are the instructions you are supposed to follow for 'Full Auto-Generation Mode':
==============================
Run DCG.
Select "Auto-Generation" from the DCG Menu "Mode".
Select "Replace DGen" from the DCG Menu "Mode" and click "Yes". Close DCG.
Run Forgotten Battles.
Select any of the stock campaigns available in Forgotten Battles. DCG will generate and run the campaign based on your selection criteria.
Play the campaign.
===================================
The thing is, you won't see any difference using this particular mode; all that is different is that DCG is run in the background instead of DGen (the built-in generator). You won't know that you are playing a DCG campaign. Everything is the same as if you were using DGen. You don't have the DCG interface open at any time during the campaign (and I think you can't even edit the campaign 'on the fly' using the DCG interface). You only use the default Forgotten Battles' campaign screens in this mode and choose the stock campaigns that are already listed.

So why use DCG? The difference is that DGen uses a '.DB' file with a definitive schedule-list in it to determine the path of the war. Whereas DGC uses the outcome of the played missions to determine where the front line is and who is winning or losing. The DCG campaign can go anywhere depending on how well you play, but DGen missions always follow their course; you can determine how quickly and how successfully the scenario is played out, but you can't 'change history'.

More interesting (to me anyway) is DCG's 'Auto Generation mode'. This is where you get to select the map, year, number of missions, distance flown, squad, mission type, planes, ground positions, weather, etc, to make a completely fictional and 'made-up-on-the-spot' campaign. I think this is more what you were expecting DCG to do. If so, you need to uncheck 'replace in-game generator' and choose your campaign map by clicking the blue 'world' button in the DCG interface.
The instructions you need are in 'Installation and Settings.txt' and go something like this:
After clicking the world, selecting your map and clicking 'start', you then set-up your campaign details and generate ONE mission with 'auto generation' UNCHECKED. You then start FB, open the campaign screen, select the country that you chose to play for in DCG, and select the DCG campaign listed at the bottom. Without doing anything else, you alt-tab back to the DCG interface, CHECK 'auto generation' so that it is ON, and click 'generate' again. Close DCG. Alt-tab back to FB, set rank and difficulty, and click 'start'. You then play the campaign as you would normally; no need to start the DCG interface again unless you want to change some details 'on the fly' (Eg. change plane, weather, time, specify mission type, etc).

However, be aware that (for me anyway) DCG takes alot of babysitting. Prepare yourself for the possibility of a few hours of blood and sweat before you know how to 'tweak it' so that it works consistently. I have re-installed DCG over thirty times during my path to enlightenment; often the best thing to do if it is not working is to start again from scratch.

http://forgotten.battles.pulpo.co.uk/il2logo.gif

[This message was edited by antifreeze on Sat March 20 2004 at 06:00 PM.]

Slammin_
03-20-2004, 07:25 PM
You are a good person! I'm more than likely going to head down this path, so thanks for the write-up!

I'm more into what-if than history, and you may be a great resource in helping me understand how to do this, so thanx in advance antifreeze!

stelr
03-20-2004, 08:51 PM
Antifreeze....much thanks friend! I believe you are spot-on with your assessmment. I will try your suggestion to turn off the "replace DGen." You are correct in that I wanted to create a campaign that is tailored for specific year & plane set.

I'll re-**** and give it a go.

THANKS!

v/r
Stel
AKA "Machek"

http://home.nc.rr.com/stel/LTCSTEL11.jpg

ucanfly
03-20-2004, 11:10 PM
Oh contrare you can edit the squadron (using the squadron edit panel) once a mission has started with DCG. This is important because you can upgrade to any plane this way.

P.s. don't forget to check the ACES options if you have the AEP version!

antifreeze
03-22-2004, 05:33 PM
ucanfly, are you sure? When I said that you couldn't edit the campaign 'on the fly' I was talking about 'FULL auto-generation mode (replace DGen)', not just 'auto generation mode'.
To edit a mission 'on the fly', the DCG interface needs a 'squadron.dcg' file specified. But in 'replace DGen' mode, there is no squadron.dcg file, because you are playing a stock campaign. Ergo, (I thought) you can only change campaign details 'on the fly' when using 'auto-generation' mode(?).
I don't doubt your statement, just saying that I can't figure out how to do what you're suggesting; maybe you could quickly list the instructions? Thanks.

http://forgotten.battles.pulpo.co.uk/il2logo.gif

Tailspin2
03-22-2004, 06:10 PM
You can edit campaigns in 'any' of the DCG modes. All effects take place in the next generated mission.

Just click on the 'Select Existing Campaign' icon and browse to "IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles\Missions\Campaign\CountyId\Campaign folder for DGen replacment mode to select the squadrons.dcg file.

Browse to "IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles\Missions\Net\ngen\Campaignfolder" for the NGen replacement mode and select the squadrons.dcg there.

You have to do this for all the DGen/NGen created campaigns if you switch between campaigns. You must do that for all my DCG add-on campaigns that you play in DGen or NGen.

FYI, all those "stock" campaigns are really DCG file campaign files. There are no DGen files. DCG just use the nice interface provide by Starshoy and uses its own data files. So 'every' campaign that you are playing using DCG has a 'squadron.dcg file'. Paul just replicated all the names of the stock DGen campaigns that comes with FB to reduce the confusion of users.

Tailspin's Tales
http://mywebpages.comcast.net/Tailspin/index.htm

[This message was edited by Tailspin2 on Mon March 22 2004 at 05:42 PM.]

Tailspin2
03-22-2004, 06:41 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>If so, you need to uncheck 'replace in-game generator' and choose your campaign map by clicking the blue 'world' button in the DCG interface.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you want stats for your fictional campaign, don't uncheck the Replace In-game Generator. There is absolute no difference in any DCG campaign whether you use single player career, auto gen, coop, DGen Replacement or NGen replacements modes. You will get exactly the same planes, tanks, vehicles, ships, trains etc, for say Kuban 42, no matter which mode you pick. The only difference between all the modes is how you play them in FB.

So create your single player career campaign with auto-gen and replace in game generator. Open DCG any time you want and point to your campaign folder if it isn't visible in DCG. Then make all your changes. Don't generate a mission. "CLOSE DCG". Your changes will take effect the next time a new mission is generated in your single player career campaign in FB.

I know as I spent over six months building my DCG add-ons and inundated Paul's with 100's of questions. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

If you want more information on how DCG can work, go to the DCG add-on section and download my campaigns for the readme files. You don't have to play the campaigns. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

The trick with DCG is to find a balance between aircraft types and air and ground units. Too much of anything can really screw up a campaign IF you want a chance for either side to win.

Be sure to drop into the DCG forum for any questions you may have using DCG.

Tailspin's Tales
http://mywebpages.comcast.net/Tailspin/index.htm

stelr
03-22-2004, 09:32 PM
Version 2.53 is now out and WORKS GREAT!!!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

The bug has been squashed.

It now auto-generates campaigns and missions with the settings you want. I have the P-38 in the US Pacific! May hat's off to Paul for his DCG. It is a must have for FB. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/11.gif

v/r
Stel
AKA "Machek"

http://home.nc.rr.com/stel/LTCSTEL11.jpg

antifreeze
03-23-2004, 01:05 AM
Tailspin:
Just click on the 'Select Existing Campaign' icon and browse to "IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles\Missions\Campaign\CountyId\Campaign folder for DGen replacment mode to select the squadrons.dcg file.

Hmmmm... that doesn't work for me... no squadron.dcg file there (as per usual). That's why I thought that you couldn't edit missions in 'replace' mode; there seems to be no way of telling DCG which campaign to alter.
I will install 2.53, and start again from scratch, and work out how to get a squadron.dcg file into the campaign folder in 'replace' mode.
Thanks for the heads-up ucanfly and tailspin!
Sorry for giving the wrong info!

http://forgotten.battles.pulpo.co.uk/il2logo.gif

Tailspin2
03-23-2004, 04:11 AM
Antifreeze,

Have to rush off to work but I just did it and there is a squadrons.dcg file in my SmolenskGS41 campaign. Now that is my self designed campaign so I will have to check a stock DCG version later.


DCG works off of data text files that you can open in Notepad. There has to be a squadrons.dcg file somewhere. I'll check later tonight.

Tailspin's Tales
http://mywebpages.comcast.net/Tailspin/index.htm

antifreeze
03-23-2004, 11:05 AM
I reinstalled DCG just now, and tried the 'replace' mode again. It was immediately apparent that something was different this time, because 'DCG' was prefixed before the campaign title in the FB campaign selection screen; last time I tried 'replace mode' I just had the normal title displayed.
Also, the debriefings were noticably different from the normal DGen ones, and again, last time I got standard DGen debriefings.

So it looks like last time I tried 'replace mode', DGen wasn't replaced for some reason, and so no squadron.dcg file existed when I went looking for it. This time it was easy to find; right in the campaign/RU folder where you said it would be, so the campaign could be edited.
Thanks again for the 'heads up'.

http://forgotten.battles.pulpo.co.uk/il2logo.gif

Tailspin2
03-23-2004, 05:55 PM
Your welcome. Enjoy the stats while flying your DCG/DGen campaign.

Tailspin's Tales
http://mywebpages.comcast.net/Tailspin/index.htm