PDA

View Full Version : AEP, which cd?



TPCMike
03-13-2004, 01:27 AM
My FB CD2 has a hairline crack in the centre. It's only a small one but I've had a cracked CD shatter while in use before taking out my CDROM in the process.

AS this is the CD used in the copy protection check I'm getting more and more worried about using it.

I'm hoping that when AEP arrives next week it will use the AEP cd for the cd check meaning I can retire my FB cd 2 apart from the odd install after a format.

Is this the case?

Tech PC (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk)
PC hardware discussion and tech support (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/forum)
http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/mike/b17sig.jpg

TPCMike
03-13-2004, 01:27 AM
My FB CD2 has a hairline crack in the centre. It's only a small one but I've had a cracked CD shatter while in use before taking out my CDROM in the process.

AS this is the CD used in the copy protection check I'm getting more and more worried about using it.

I'm hoping that when AEP arrives next week it will use the AEP cd for the cd check meaning I can retire my FB cd 2 apart from the odd install after a format.

Is this the case?

Tech PC (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk)
PC hardware discussion and tech support (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/forum)
http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/mike/b17sig.jpg

tenmmike
03-13-2004, 01:29 AM
yes .you will only need to run your aep cd then

http://www.2-60inf.com/2-60_crest.gif U.S INFANTRY 1984-1991

TPCMike
03-13-2004, 03:29 AM
Cool thanks.

Tech PC (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk)
PC hardware discussion and tech support (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/forum)
http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/mike/b17sig.jpg

steve_v
03-13-2004, 04:04 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>I'm hoping that when AEP arrives next week it will use the AEP cd for the cd check meaning I can retire my FB cd 2 apart from the odd install after a format.

Is this the case?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>On my install, FB will only launch after disc two verification.

tenmmike
03-13-2004, 04:21 AM
steve please check your pm

http://www.2-60inf.com/2-60_crest.gif U.S INFANTRY 1984-1991

HH Quazi
03-13-2004, 04:35 AM
I didn't have that problem. It ran from the AEP disk. S!

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by steve_v:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>I'm hoping that when AEP arrives next week it will use the AEP cd for the cd check meaning I can retire my FB cd 2 apart from the odd install after a format.

Is this the case?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>On my install, FB will only launch after disc two verification.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

TPCMike
03-13-2004, 05:41 AM
Are you talking about with the AEP steve?

Tech PC (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk)
PC hardware discussion and tech support (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/forum)
http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/mike/b17sig.jpg

steve_v
03-13-2004, 06:05 AM
I can only speak for my install which I can verify.

Uninstalled all FB material.

Fresh install to default location: FB v1.0
Ran AEP: FB v2.0

If I try launching from the desktop shortcut or the AEP splash screen Start tab without FB disc 2 in the drive, I am asked for it. Once verified, the sim starts.

TPCMike, my email is g8tr45@yahoo.com if you would like more details.

Uh...
03-13-2004, 06:24 AM
Just use a NO-CD crack. It makes your gaming life so much easier.

Gershy
03-13-2004, 06:39 AM
check private topic

-----------------------------

So long.We wish you well.
You told us how you weren't afraid to die.
Well then, so long.Don't cry.
Or feel too down.
Not all martyrs see divinity.
But at least you tried.

reddevil49
03-13-2004, 06:46 AM
The AEP disk works for me.

tsisqua
03-13-2004, 07:33 AM
Ok. It's time for a rant.

The earlier versions of most games did not (in the old days) need a CD in the tray to play. Your CD's last longer that way, and hey, I did sign the EULA saying that I bought the game. Let me say that again: I SIGNED THE AGREEMENT! I did not steal the software. Now, the game's creators require me to sign, AND they make me put one of the cd's that I NEED for installation into the tray.

Listen, crackerz will crack your game, no matter what protection you use. The only person your "cd check" really is a problem for is YOUR PAYING CUSTOMERS!. My Jane's WWII Fighter cd #2 got so hot that there has been damage to the surface of the cd. Sometimes it installs, and sometimes not. The bottom line is that the only persons that cd checking causes a problem for are PAYING customers.

No Sir, there's nothing like having a stack of hundreds of cd's laying around your computer desk, just so you can access your favorite games. They get broken this way also. They get scratched. They get in the WAY.

I won't even get into the debate that my purchase is actually data, just like an encyclopedia. If I want to make a backup copy of a page in my book, for my own use, that is my business.

I signed your EULA when I bought your game, Mr. distrubutor.

Tsisqua

http://server5.uploadit.org/files/tsisqua-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Galvladi

Udidtoo
03-13-2004, 07:55 AM
Mine runs from the AEP and Goooooo Tsisqua!

P.S. Installed same as Steve V 1.0 FB to 2.0 AEP, clean all the way through. Kind of wierd.

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

steve_v
03-13-2004, 08:06 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Udidtoo:
Mine runs from the AEP and . . .

P.S. Installed same as Steve V 1.0 FB to 2.0 AEP, clean all the way through. Kind of wierd.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Thats why I qualified any statement made with "my install". I also have BOE so that may be a factor. Don't know or care really. AEP and BOE are both quality products and performing as advertised.

TPCMike
03-13-2004, 08:14 AM
Interesting.

Anyone else have BOE installed as well?

Maybe this is the difference for Steve.

I guess I'll just find out next week but I don't really want to have to buy another copy of FB as well.

Tech PC (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk)
PC hardware discussion and tech support (http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/forum)
http://www.tech-pc.co.uk/mike/b17sig.jpg

mllaneza
03-13-2004, 08:20 AM
I'm fortunate to have a CD duplicator at work. Until I find a No-CD for AEP, I'll be playing off of a backup copy.

EULA notwithstanding, I have the explicit right under US copyright to make a backup of the CD. I haven't signed the darn thing.

If UBI wants me to stop doing that, then they can provide lifetime free media replacements - my lifetime, not the product. And 'Free', as in not even a shipping & handling charge. Free.

This goes for the rest of the publishing business, anyone who licenses product on shiny disks. Any publisher that hassles me about it will find their EULA challenged in court - I'm willing to write my own briefs in the case.

Veteran - Bermuda Triangle Expeditionary Force. 1993-1951.

steve_v
03-13-2004, 08:28 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by TPCMike:
Interesting.

Anyone else have BOE installed as well?

Maybe this is the difference for Steve.

I guess I'll just find out next week but I don't really want to have to buy another copy of FB as well.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Out of curiosity, I used the explore function and found a rts.dll on the AEP install disc. Did a copy/paste of that file to my FB directory and let it over-write. I could then launch from the AEP splash screen Start tab. It may very well be that BOE installed the v1.22 dll requiring FB disc 2. Don't know, but verifies what others are reporting.

Edit: There is also the possibility it was placed there by me when I put may saved files into the new install. I've done alot stupider things. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

[This message was edited by steve_v on Sat March 13 2004 at 07:42 AM.]

HH Quazi
03-13-2004, 08:39 AM
The no-cd crack was available the day AEP was released. Surprised me. I'm not going to ruin my investment and I will do so, along with the rest of you, if you play this sim as much as I do. S!

J30Vader
03-13-2004, 09:39 AM
I use the same no-cd thing I had for 1.22.