PDA

View Full Version : Why are tweaking options hidden?



XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:03 AM
I mean, why cannot we change all those settings we use to change in the conf.ini file with a proper explained switch in the game interface? I remember that the first IL-2 had an option to change sound attenuation with distance and other settings that have not disappeared... except from the interface. And there are others that have never been there, like campaign difficulty, lens flares or arcade mode. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

It seems like a half-cooked interface, and, if not for these forums, many important game settings would be a mystery for most people. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

They can do it better. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

- Dux Corvan -



http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612322300

</span></blockquote></font></td></tr>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:03 AM
I mean, why cannot we change all those settings we use to change in the conf.ini file with a proper explained switch in the game interface? I remember that the first IL-2 had an option to change sound attenuation with distance and other settings that have not disappeared... except from the interface. And there are others that have never been there, like campaign difficulty, lens flares or arcade mode. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

It seems like a half-cooked interface, and, if not for these forums, many important game settings would be a mystery for most people. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

They can do it better. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

- Dux Corvan -



http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612322300

</span></blockquote></font></td></tr>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:21 AM
I imagine a decision was made to keep the interface as streamlined as possible, so that all the Noobs would have less to mess with their heads. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

S! Simon.
<center>

'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' ''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Download the USAAF campaign folder here (http://www.downloadcounter.com/cgi-bin/download.pl?username=James_Jones&account=705).

http://extremeone.4t.com/images/USsig.jpg
<font color="#000000">It's my attitude not my aptitude that determines my altitude.</font></center>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:29 AM
The game menu screens are coded in several different languages it would be lots of work to change all the versions, with the different fonts etc (chinese and japanese and cyrillic etc) but a adding switch in conf.ini is easy.



<center>
http://www.imgmag.org/images/delta9tetra/lurch-avatar.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:38 AM
you can use Il2 manager or Shtab to make some modifications with friendly interfaces.

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_07.gif


She turned me into a newt, but I got better.

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:48 AM
Other games do this too. Maybe something to do with the testing stage. They decide not to make it immediately accesible. Morrowind (different game type I know, but principle still applies) is one classic point, it has advanced Quad lighting and ability to take screen shots, but you`ve got to go into the confi. ini to get it working. Why? Dunno.

"Tis better to work towards an Impossible Good, rather than a Possible Evil."

SeaFireLIV.
(Spitfire & Escape Whiner Member).

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 12:23 PM
Maybe an idea to publish a list of 'hidden features' on Mudmovers or a similar site?
That way everybody has an idea what the possibilities are.

<center>http://members.ams.chello.nl/pgkiljan/il2/signature.jpg