PDA

View Full Version : * Warning * 9800Pro



lil_labbit
05-26-2004, 09:24 AM
I'm lucky I just caught this in time...
Seems some manufacturers produce (and name) Radeon 9800Pro with a 128bit memory bus EFFECTIVELY CUTTING FRAMERATE IN HALF!

Look at this thread at Guru3D:

http://www.guru3d.com/newsitem.php?id=1508

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

lil_labbit
05-26-2004, 09:24 AM
I'm lucky I just caught this in time...
Seems some manufacturers produce (and name) Radeon 9800Pro with a 128bit memory bus EFFECTIVELY CUTTING FRAMERATE IN HALF!

Look at this thread at Guru3D:

http://www.guru3d.com/newsitem.php?id=1508

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

Heavy_Weather
05-26-2004, 09:28 AM
they must be really good friends with Bill Gates http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

"To fly a combat mission is not a trip under the moon. Every attack, every bombing is a dance with death."
- Serafima Amsova-Taranenko: Noggle, Ann (1994): A Dance with Death.

NegativeGee
05-26-2004, 09:33 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lil_labbit:
I'm lucky I just caught this in time...
Seems some manufacturers produce (and name) Radeon 9800Pro with a 128bit memory bus EFFECTIVELY CUTTING FRAMERATE IN HALF!

Look at this thread at Guru3D:

http://www.guru3d.com/newsitem.php?id=1508

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sly. I wonder if there is a price difference between these and "full" spec cards?

I noticed one UK stockist has noted this already(look up graphics cards under system components):

Sapphire 9800Pro "Lite" (http://www.cclcomputers.biz/acatalog/)

"As weaponry, both were good, but in far different ways from each other. In a nutshell, I describe it this way: if the FW 190 was a sabre, the 109 was a florett, or foil, like that used in the precision art of fencing." - Günther Rall

http://www.invoman.com/images/tali_with_hands.jpg

Look Noobie, we already told you, we don't have the Patch!

SlickStick
05-26-2004, 09:44 AM
Well, son of a gun. I was wondering why the 9800 PROs I was looking at recently dropped like $25.00. Looking closer at the descriptions of those cards, I see the 128-bit reference now.

Not that I didn't know the diff, I wasn't even LOOKING at the fact that there might be a 128-bit version of the 9800PRO.

Personally, I find this to just be another one of those "fine print" type changes that will skunk quite a few novice hardware buyers. Man, I would have been pissed if I had bought one and got it home to find it only had a 128-Bit wide bus. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

It shouldn't be labeled as a 9800PRO like the 256-bit one. They should have made it a sperate designation for sure. Like 9800PRO(L) or similar. Phew, good lesson in always reading the fine print.

Thanks for the link lil_labbit.

___________________________
çk"*¯k 2004

http://imageshack.us/files/sigSpitIX.JPG
Coming Soon to a Six near you...http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Fox_4
05-26-2004, 10:29 AM
PHEW!

That Sapphire Radeon 9800pro Lite is the card I bought back in January...

With the exception of the '128 bit edition' thing on the box. I was VERY worried there for a moment http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

adlabs6
05-26-2004, 10:46 AM
Wow... Shocking to think that the card in lil-labbits link appears to be the very Radeon 9800Pro I considered buying last weekend. I had no clue that there was a slower version out there. In the end, I hesitated on the ATI with concerns over driver issues and bought a PNY FX5900SE instead, and it's like night and day over my old Ti4200. Lucky hesitation!

In any case, the naming system on this card is rediculous and should be adjusted.

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON | ScreenshotArt.com (http://www.screenshotart.com/home.php)

Xnomad
05-26-2004, 10:57 AM
Yep I have a Sapphire 9800 pro and although I get pretty good frames I checked Riva Tuner for my bus speed just in case I had been diddled. LOL

http://www.xnomad.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg

musickna
05-26-2004, 11:22 AM
Interesting. So this card is basically the same as the old Radeon 9500 Pro - maybe a bit faster. I can tell you - having both the 9500 Pro (overclocked, what's more) and the 'real' 9800 Pro - that the performace of the 9800 is significantly superior with FB, particularly at high resolutions with AA and AF on (where the 128 bit memory controller is a bottleneck).

So well worth it to spend the extra $30 or so for a 256 bit memory controller Radeon 9800 Pro.

tsisqua
05-26-2004, 11:35 AM
Hmmm.

My Sapphire's default clock speed is the 380/680 that it should have. The card is fine, depending on the maker of the additional chips on the board. Sanyo made mine, and from what I can see, I did ok. I've overclocked, and seen tremendous results in DirectX. OpenGL doesn't seem to make much difference. I'm using ATI Tray Tools for my tweaking and measuring. The utility comes with an overclocking tool, and is a free download from guru3d.

Shew! Got lucky, I guess.

Tsisqua

p1ngu666
05-26-2004, 12:06 PM
i hacked my card http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/59.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/784.gif

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg
&lt;123_GWood_JG123&gt; NO SPAM!

lil_labbit
05-26-2004, 12:15 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by p1ngu666:
i hacked my card http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/59.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/784.gif

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg
&lt;123_GWood_JG123&gt; NO SPAM!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Into how many pieces ? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/88.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

JG52Uther
05-26-2004, 12:47 PM
just checked Evesham.com, advert again in panic!!!!woooohoooo 256 bit http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

T_O_A_D
05-26-2004, 01:26 PM
I would of been so torked,but lucly I took Steve_V advice and just went ATI made last night when I purchased or I might of over looked it. http://www.buyxtremegear.com/r9800pro256.html

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

Cyrano
05-26-2004, 02:45 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Xnomad:
Yep I have a Sapphire 9800 pro and although I get pretty good frames I checked Riva Tuner for my bus speed just in case I had been diddled. LOL

http://www.xnomad.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Where can you get this Riva Tuner. I'd like to check too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Udidtoo
05-26-2004, 03:23 PM
Can someone in the know tell me what I posess here if my box says Powered by 128MB DDR memory and a 256-bit memory interface?

This is an ATI built card by the way.
..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

P.S. The answer is found right at ATI products page, the 9800 pro is available in both 128 mb DDR and 256 mb DDR both with 256 bit interface, what ever the hell that means.

I started to think I should be upset and then I remembeed that I am playing at 1152x864 with 4XAA ans 8XAF and getting around 45 to 50 FPS down to 35 over cities and hardly any drop over forests, no more mini-stutters either.

So really what do I have to feel badly about. Best I ever seen this simm look on my own screen.

[This message was edited by Udidtoo on Wed May 26 2004 at 02:41 PM.]

adlabs6
05-26-2004, 03:45 PM
If it says 256 bit memory interface, your fine I think. It's not the amount of memory that's the problem, but its bus size I think.

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON | ScreenshotArt.com (http://www.screenshotart.com/home.php)

Cyrano
05-26-2004, 05:42 PM
Warning, this internet seller sells only 128bit type Radeon 9800pro cards and they do not tell you that you are purchasing the substandard type.
http://www.buyxg.com/

EPP-Gibbs
05-26-2004, 06:19 PM
If the Card is ATI Manufactured, you're ok. Is that right?

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"

EPP-Gibbs
05-26-2004, 06:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Udidtoo:
I started to think I should be upset and then I remembeed that I am playing at 1152x864 with 4XAA ans 8XAF and getting around 45 to 50 FPS down to 35 over cities and hardly any drop over forests, no more mini-stutters either.

So really what do I have to feel badly about. Best I ever seen this simm look on my own screen.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What are your detail settings? Excellent? Perfect? What is the spec of the machine?

Cheers,

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"

buggggggged
05-26-2004, 06:59 PM
I have 9800 non pro, works great, but how do I tell if I have 256 bus , I got rid of the box last year?

Weather_Man
05-26-2004, 08:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by buggggggged:
I have 9800 non pro, works great, but how do I tell if I have 256 bus , I got rid of the box last year?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You can use AIDA32. Great tool. http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail.php3?fid=1033800563

http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/160/Clipboard13.jpg

Udidtoo
05-27-2004, 07:03 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by EPP-Gibbs:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Udidtoo:
I started to think I should be upset and then I remembeed that I am playing at 1152x864 with 4XAA ans 8XAF and getting around 45 to 50 FPS down to 35 over cities and hardly any drop over forests, no more mini-stutters either.

So really what do I have to feel badly about. Best I ever seen this simm look on my own screen.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What are your detail settings? Excellent? Perfect? What is the spec of the machine?

Cheers,

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.djurovich/Sig4.jpg
"If I had all the money I'd spent on drink..I'd spend it on drink!"<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Lets see.....P4 2.5, 1 gig ddr, everything set to excellent useing Steve V/Hunters settings from the top of the community help forum.

Aida says I have the required 256 bus width so I must have got lucky when I picked up this card as I would never have known the difference.

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

Aeronautico
06-17-2004, 07:34 AM
I have been given a 9800 Pro (128 bit) in change of a 9700 Pro under warranty.

I'm mad about this. Before I storm the PC shop (they also gave me the Sappihire instead of the original Hercules...), would anybody tell me if the 128 bit version is supposed to be superior to the 9700 Pro anyway? Benchmarks?

Thank you very much.

A!

--------------------
Airplanes are now built to carry a pilot and a dog in the cockpit: the pilot's job is
to feed the dog, and the dog's job is to bite the pilot if he touches anything...

- Arlen Rens, Lockheed Martin test pilot

Hawgdog
06-17-2004, 07:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by p1ngu666:
i hacked my card http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/59.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/784.gif

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg
&lt;123_GWood_JG123&gt; NO SPAM!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Me too! Easy also, I had posted in tech about simply using the different driver supplied with 9700 pro's and picking a few points in the benchmarks.

Direct X?? Who's using that? I thought OGL was Thee only way to fly in FB????

http://img5.photobucket.com/albums/v22/HawgDog/sharkdog.gif
When you get to Hell, tell 'em HawgDog sent you!