PDA

View Full Version : So UBI your response to HOSTing problem is....



XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 03:23 AM
silence?

"It is well that war is so terrible, lest we grow too fond of it."
-- Robert E. Lee

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 03:23 AM
silence?

"It is well that war is so terrible, lest we grow too fond of it."
-- Robert E. Lee

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 04:16 AM
If you want a response directly from UBI I suggest you contact them through email or telephone.

If you want to complain I suggest you do it in General Discussion.


<center> http://www.4yourfuture.net/handshake.gif
<font size= 2>

"Altitude, speed, maneuver, fire!"-The "formula of Terror" of Aleksandr Pokryshkin, Three times awarded the rank of Hero of the Soviet Union

Hunter82
08-21-2003, 04:23 AM
Cartix is covering for other people who are on vacation...he is working but not available here for a few weeks...... They are working on it but that's all the info I have for you right now.

<center><FONT COLOR="white">[/i]</FONT>
<center><FONT COLOR="white">Hunter82 wrote:
"I did not have technical relations with that question"
[/i]</FONT>
<center> Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com/) </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 04:43 AM
Thank You Hunter .

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 12:51 PM
Sorry georgeo76 but UBI is doing the same mistake they did BEFORE the patch, which is NOT responding until there's a near riot.
I've posted general discussion, but as I've had NO response and STILL cannot HOST on UBI I must cast a wider net.
Terrible customer relations point out the dichotomy between "OLEG" [the good], "UBI" [the bad], and Patch 1.1b [the ugly].
Thank you Hunter for at least responding in proxy for UBI


"It is well that war is so terrible, lest we grow too fond of it."
-- Robert E. Lee

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 01:59 PM
georgeo76 wrote:
- If you want to complain I suggest you do it in
- General Discussion.

Really? If being unable to play the game online isn't a technical problem requiring support, what is it?

I appreciate Hunter's honest response, but I also appreciate the writer's frustration with this problem, so why slap him down?

Brando

Stuff the fugitive....here comes the one-armed man!!

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 03:13 PM
brandau wrote:
- georgeo76 wrote:
-- If you want to complain I suggest you do it in
-- General Discussion.
-
- Really? If being unable to play the game online
- isn't a technical problem requiring support, what is
- it?
-
- I appreciate Hunter's honest response, but I also
- appreciate the writer's frustration with this
- problem, so why slap him down?
-

Well said.

Attitude adjustment please!

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Definately a technical problem. Can only be answered by UBI. Answer should be posted in this forum because that is where we seek the answers.........

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 04:45 PM
I've had the same problem but fortunately I found a work round.

I run ICS on my home network. I have cable broadband over ethernet and one extra ethernet card for my network.

I disabled ICS and my home network card leaving me with just one IP address to have internet access and it worked.

I heard that port forwarding works for NAT routers but I can't commit on that. Only on ICS and my network.


BBloke

XyZspineZyX
08-21-2003, 10:10 PM
Try Hyper Lobby and you can host all you want. Ther best pilots are there. There are some squadrons you might or might not want to join.

google Hyper Lobby

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 12:47 AM
I think I found a possible solution, if you activated the option "don't publish my ip address for ping" on general lobby settings, deactivate it and leave your ping visible, it worked, and hosting was possible again, at least in one case.

<FONT COLOR="yellow">BBB_ABRAXA</FONT>

<center>http://ourworld.cs.com/Abra772/mc205_3.jpeg </center>

<marquee> <FONT COLOR="red"> Si vis pacem, para bellum</FONT></marquee>


Message Edited on 08/22/0301:47AM by Abraxa

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 03:54 AM
Abraxa wrote:
- I think I found a possible solution, if you
- activated the option "don't publish my ip address
- for ping" on general lobby settings, deactivate it
- and leave your ping visible, it worked, and hosting
- was possible again, at least in one case.
-



THAT WORKED FOR ME ! Thank You Abraxa

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 12:08 PM
If we wanted to try hyper lobby we would. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

As it happens we don't. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Hence the post! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

For some the convenience of UBI (I guess that is now past tense) means that is all they want use.
Groups of us have met up there and enjoy 'flying' together
and the thought of trying to communicate a change of venue to the 'regulars' when you don't know their contact details is, well.......too much to contemplate!

I have used Hyperlobby and it is very good, don't get me wrong, the issue here is that a service was provided in the past that has now been 'nobbled'.

As Hunter posted, at least it looks like UBI are aware of it and a fix may be in the pipeline.

Abraxa's post re/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif ublish IP looks interesting.....

LastRights wrote:
- Try Hyper Lobby and you can host all you want. Ther
- best pilots are there. There are some squadrons you
- might or might not want to join.
-
- google Hyper Lobby
-
-

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 12:16 PM
Abraxa wrote:
- I think I found a possible solution, if you
- activated the option "don't publish my ip address
- for ping" on general lobby settings, deactivate it
- and leave your ping visible, it worked, and hosting
- was possible again, at least in one case.
-


This has no effect, doesnt work for me, cant host at ubi.com (clients get timeout), can only join.

Never had any problems before, but since ubi updated their ubi.com software due to the 1.1b patch hosting at ubi.com is no longer possible for me.

I have a private network with hardware router. For testing I configured the router to pass ALL incoming requests from the internet to one CPU, no ports blocked, but with same results: cant host at ubi.com.

To me it looks like the ubi.com software is passing the internal IP address now - regardless the internal/external setting in ubi.com - when registering a host from my private 192.168.x.x network. So nobody can join when I try to host (clients get timeout).

It should send the external IP address of my router instead.

No problems when hosting 1.0 or 1.1b games at Hyperlobby or via direct IP in multiplayer.

Ubi needs to fix this as soon as possible.

schofei

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 01:53 PM
schofei wrote:
- Abraxa wrote:
-- I think I found a possible solution, if you
-- activated the option "don't publish my ip address
-- for ping" on general lobby settings, deactivate it
-- and leave your ping visible, it worked, and hosting
-- was possible again, at least in one case.
--
-
-
- This has no effect, doesnt work for me, cant host at
- ubi.com (clients get timeout), can only join.
-
- Never had any problems before, but since ubi updated
- their ubi.com software due to the 1.1b patch hosting
- at ubi.com is no longer possible for me.
-
- I have a private network with hardware router. For
- testing I configured the router to pass ALL incoming
- requests from the internet to one CPU, no ports
- blocked, but with same results: cant host at
- ubi.com.
-
- To me it looks like the ubi.com software is passing
- the internal IP address now - regardless the
- internal/external setting in ubi.com - when
- registering a host from my private 192.168.x.x
- network. So nobody can join when I try to host
- (clients get timeout).
-
- It should send the external IP address of my router
- instead.
-
- No problems when hosting 1.0 or 1.1b games at
- Hyperlobby or via direct IP in multiplayer.
-
- Ubi needs to fix this as soon as possible.
-
- schofei
-
-Hi there! If you are connecting trough a router with a built in NAT firewall, you might have to check enable DMZ in router firmware, check this out: http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zwjsz

It might help, S! nighnight
-
-
-
-
-

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 09:06 PM
I have read some of your posts regarding my comments. I admit that my critics are correct; the remarks made by myself were harsh and inappropriate. I apologize for making them.



georgeo76 wrote:
- If you want a response directly from UBI I suggest
- you contact them through email or telephone.
-
- If you want to complain I suggest you do it in
- General Discussion.



<center> http://www.4yourfuture.net/handshake.gif
<font size= 2>

"Altitude, speed, maneuver, fire!"-The "formula of Terror" of Aleksandr Pokryshkin, Three times awarded the rank of Hero of the Soviet Union

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 11:31 PM
still don't account for the heads buried in tha sand syndrome though does it? UBI make it a habit, not a rare happening

XyZspineZyX
08-23-2003, 09:43 AM
georgeo76 wrote:
- I have read some of your posts regarding my
- comments. I admit that my critics are correct; the
- remarks made by myself were harsh and inappropriate.
- I apologize for making them.
-
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

It is an emotive subject!

And I too share your desire to keep this, the technical forum, free of rants and whinges!

Keep up the good work georgeo, I have seen your many posts assisting others!

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 02:14 AM
bump

"It is well that war is so terrible, lest we grow too fond of it."
-- Robert E. Lee

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 09:23 AM
nightnight wrote:
-
- schofei wrote:
-- Abraxa wrote:
--- I think I found a possible solution, if you
--- activated the option "don't publish my ip address
--- for ping" on general lobby settings, deactivate it
--- and leave your ping visible, it worked, and hosting
--- was possible again, at least in one case.
---
--
--
-- This has no effect, doesnt work for me, cant host at
-- ubi.com (clients get timeout), can only join.
--
-- Never had any problems before, but since ubi updated
-- their ubi.com software due to the 1.1b patch hosting
-- at ubi.com is no longer possible for me.
--
-- I have a private network with hardware router. For
-- testing I configured the router to pass ALL incoming
-- requests from the internet to one CPU, no ports
-- blocked, but with same results: cant host at
-- ubi.com.
--
-- To me it looks like the ubi.com software is passing
-- the internal IP address now - regardless the
-- internal/external setting in ubi.com - when
-- registering a host from my private 192.168.x.x
-- network. So nobody can join when I try to host
-- (clients get timeout).
--
-- It should send the external IP address of my router
-- instead.
--
-- No problems when hosting 1.0 or 1.1b games at
-- Hyperlobby or via direct IP in multiplayer.
--
-- Ubi needs to fix this as soon as possible.
--
-- schofei
--
- Hi there! If you are connecting trough a router with a
- built in NAT firewall, you might have to check enable DMZ
- in router firmware, check this out:


See in my post:
"...For testing I configured the router to pass ALL incoming requests from the internet to one CPU, no ports blocked..."

This feature is called "Default Forwarding", some routers call it "DMZ".

However, even with option enabled hosting is no longer possible at ubi.com from within a private network.


schofei

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 04:18 PM
I realize that WE the Faithful know there's a problem. I keep bumping it so that the Unwilling [UBI] pays attention to our dilemma - they have developed a bad habit as of late of not releasing a word until the clamor of the boards forces them to[bad business model for all you UBI MBAs]. Sorry to annoy anyone but UBI needs to 'fess up and fix up before we ALL go HL [and yes I played my first game there, but me and my friends LIKE [er liked] UBI pre-patch

and thank you Georgio et. al. for being helpful and civil

"It is well that war is so terrible, lest we grow too fond of it."
-- Robert E. Lee

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 04:18 PM
hey guys, i changed the compatability tab for my ubi-soft launch icon to win98, and am now able to host!!!!!, i get stuck in the game afterwards, but i can host as many missions as i want from the game menu, then i have to reset pc, but its an improvement, hope this helps, its on the right track!!!
I am on win XP home edition