PDA

View Full Version : P - 38 Torque can it be fixed?



Xnomad
03-23-2004, 11:35 AM
As I've read as much of the P-38 thread in ORR as I can handle I thought I would ask the question here.

Does anyone know if the P-38 can/will be made torque-less? I understand that it's a game engine issue.

This isn't a whine!

It's just I couldn't find any information on if this was fixable or if that's how the Lightning will fly from now on.

http://www.xnomad.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg

Xnomad
03-23-2004, 11:35 AM
As I've read as much of the P-38 thread in ORR as I can handle I thought I would ask the question here.

Does anyone know if the P-38 can/will be made torque-less? I understand that it's a game engine issue.

This isn't a whine!

It's just I couldn't find any information on if this was fixable or if that's how the Lightning will fly from now on.

http://www.xnomad.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg

BuzzardHead
03-23-2004, 11:55 AM
Since the p-38 has counter rotating props,have you tried seperate engine management?It's in your dificulty settings.

You can run but...You'll only die out of breath.

p1ngu666
03-23-2004, 12:33 PM
im guessing on not http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
u could turn it off on single player/some coops tho

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg

BlitzPig_DDT
03-23-2004, 12:50 PM
It seems that even the jets have a slight rolling moment that is apparently torque, just dialed way down.

Might be a limitation of the physics engine.

==================================
The Blitz Pigs - Not a squad, a Movement!

Come and spam on our front porch.

http://www.blitzpigs.com

ZG77_Nagual
03-23-2004, 12:57 PM
I was reading somewhere the P38 does have some torque due to variance in the props angle of attack relative to airflow in certain maneuvers.

Xnomad
03-23-2004, 02:14 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ZG77_Nagual:
I was reading somewhere the P38 does have some torque due to variance in the props angle of attack relative to airflow in certain maneuvers.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yup that sounds logical but the torque is very strong close to stall and when you shift power abruptly which shouldn't be the case with this bird.

http://www.xnomad.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg

Call_me_Kanno
03-23-2004, 03:25 PM
A very notable airplane modeler for FB, I won't drop names, has stated that FB was not designed to support no torque in the plane's. So there will be some torque in every FB plane.

http://img5.photobucket.com/albums/v22/Kanno/Sig.jpg