PDA

View Full Version : How do i paint like dirt or somthing???.



Shask343
03-25-2004, 09:42 PM
ive read the manual a few times..and i dont know get how to paint..i want like a grass island..but then beable to add dirt and sand for paths and beaches..help please

Leader of Final Roar http://www.freewebs.com/shask666/ (Now Recruiting)

Shask343
03-25-2004, 09:42 PM
ive read the manual a few times..and i dont know get how to paint..i want like a grass island..but then beable to add dirt and sand for paths and beaches..help please

Leader of Final Roar http://www.freewebs.com/shask666/ (Now Recruiting)

Skuggan-BIA
03-26-2004, 04:43 AM
I know what you mean it took me awhile to get that to work but what you do to paint on objekts
is go to the selection next to objekts and pick enviorment and pick the blue little map to load brush, you can see on the small thumbnail how it will look once painted on the map, then pick one dubble click on it and the little dot next to it will turn red this means its ready to paint with the select the radius of the brush.
and away we go. good luck http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Shask343
03-26-2004, 10:11 AM
i dont get any of that.just click eviorment and thats all..btw i already got grass on it..i just need to paint trails..

Leader of Final Roar http://www.freewebs.com/shask666/ (Now Recruiting)

candk
03-26-2004, 10:15 AM
I am having the same problem, and I couldn't really follow your instructions.

Shask343
03-26-2004, 10:17 AM
i already got grass and trees and bushes on there but i want to paint trails

Leader of Final Roar http://www.freewebs.com/shask666/ (Now Recruiting)

candk
03-26-2004, 10:29 AM
Notice how you are painting layers? You have to make another layer for the dirt texture for the path

antistar_
03-26-2004, 03:05 PM
When you add layers in the layers editor, uncheck the "automatic" option. This will make the layer show up in the layer painter, and you can paint away with it just like a brush.

aka Tim Partlett

Shask343
03-26-2004, 03:37 PM
thx man...it works ...*hugs antistar*...

Leader of Final Roar http://www.freewebs.com/shask666/ (Now Recruiting)

geno_604
03-26-2004, 05:28 PM
Didnt help me at all, can some one make a more detailed description on layering.. i cant get it.. where is this paint brush!? click off auto what??


Please can someone do a better walk through for applying texture..

Van B.C. the place to be!

I am 89% addicted to Counterstrike. <a href="http://seanism.com/addiction/cs.php">What about you?</a>

ozbirdboy
03-26-2004, 06:15 PM
Ok geno i will try and do it as best as possible ok.

1) Once your new map is open and you have made your terrain, open the texture box.
2) Once there make a new layer and call it sand
3) Once you have renamed it, click on the big square to choose what texture you want to use. Just use sand_bright found in the terrain folder. Click OK.
4) Ok under that box where you just selected what texture you were goign to use it has a check box called 'Auto Generate Mask'. Unselect that.
5) Now press Ok and you should now be in the main screen of the editor.
6) Now on the rollup bar (the menu on the right) select the terrain option, then the layer painter option.
7) it is here that you choose what layer you want to manually apply, how big it will be applied, and opther key tools. Select the layer you just made, 'sand' then on your little island just click where you want the texture to appear.

After all that go generate the surface maps.

HINT: You might of been trying with the default layer, however this does not appear in the layer painter option. Only layers you make can you manually add.

Please post if you need more help.

<a href="http://www.far-cry.net/" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.far-cry.net/images/logo.jpg" border="0"></a>
The biggest english speaking far cry community.Offering the most images, info and downloads to the community there is.Also Come Chat In Our Forums.
#far-cry on irc.enterthegame.com

antistar_
03-26-2004, 06:17 PM
I'm going to update the manual with a small section dedicated to the layer painter. In the meantime, as long as you have set up the layer properly in the layer editor window, and unchecked the automatic box, you should be able to paint with the layer editor, just like you can with vegetation. Just select the layer you want to paint with, and paint. If that isn't enough, maybe you could explain your exact problem in more detail, and I will try to help you solve it.

edit: or just read ozbird's excellent walkthrough http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.

aka Tim Partlett

geno_604
03-27-2004, 12:30 AM
Sorry antistar.. i was just pissed at the editor for being stupid.. and thanks ozbird. i understand it now.. its kinda like flash, with the layers in all.

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Van B.C. the place to be!

I am 89% addicted to Counterstrike. <a href="http://seanism.com/addiction/cs.php">What about you?</a>

BodybagCCC
03-28-2004, 12:11 AM
Ok, here's my problem:

Using the above method I am able to paint trails or roads or what have you in various textures, but the detail to the texture for all of them is the same. That is to say, I have my island textured in the default grass texture, but when I choose "road" or "sand" to paint a trail the underlying details are exactly the same as the grass texture. If you zoom up close enough it looks like scaly, dried up dirt. The only difference between grass and dirt is one is green and the other is tan.

I have tried fooling around with the Surface Type settings for the different textures to make the grass more grassy and the rocks more rocky, but the only changes I was able to make made the textures either blurry with no detail or red "Replace Me" tiles. What am I doing wrong? I read the section on page 8 from the editor docs and I'm just as confused as I was before.

For an example: I want leafy green grass to cover my island, and in places on this I want to paint a concretish pathway with a rocky gravel surface. Let's assume something in my current texture settings is faulty and I need to start over from scratch, texture-wise. Could someone pretty-please walk me through from untextured terrain to having different layers with different surfaces painted on it? I thank in advance anyone who can help.

jarin26
03-28-2004, 03:19 AM
After painting, try generating your textures again? mayeb that will make a difference.

- Jarin

BFWibble
03-28-2004, 06:38 AM
I can't get more than one texture to appear in the layer painter. I followed the instructions and added sand to the beaches of my map, however when I added a layer for rock it does not appear in the layer painter. Furthermore if I close the editor and come back to my map later the sand layer also disappears from the later painter.

slayer007
03-28-2004, 07:53 AM
I followed your directions but when I try to paint like sand by the shore it paints out side of my radius to.How do I keep the paint just in the radius.I try it and it paints half my map with the sand texture.
Thank you.

slayer007
03-28-2004, 09:14 AM
Well I kinda got it to work.What I did is just exported layers for there levels to mine.It works now I still dont know why mine werent working right but o well.

BFWibble
03-28-2004, 11:38 AM
I got it working but painting textures randomly stops working. I created a beach with wet and dry sand, then I added some grass, I began painting grass down and suddenly the texture stopped painting. Now I can't paint any texture on my map, the zoomed in detailed texture changes wherever I paint but the texture colour does not change, I've got a grass coloured beach. Generating my textures does not change this.

STEELH3D
03-28-2004, 05:02 PM
I cant get my layers/Textures to show up in my layer box to even select them, Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Alls I can do, Is generate a texture for the whole terrain.....

Boneseed
03-28-2004, 06:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by STEELH3D:
I cant get my layers/Textures to show up in my layer box to even select them, Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Alls I can do, Is generate a texture for the whole terrain.....<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Probably you are missing this step from the instructions above:
4) Ok under that box where you just selected what texture you were goign to use it has a check box called 'Auto Generate Mask'. Unselect that.

(It's in the manual too)

--------------------------------
" 'Swim, swim' thought the whale, flapping his... flappers."

BodybagCCC
03-28-2004, 06:44 PM
Bump for my problem =(

BFWibble
03-29-2004, 10:42 AM
So far I like the editor a lot and I have no problems creating the terrain, my problems occur when texturing. Here is what I have done:

- I created a small test island.
- I create several textures with "Auto Generate Mask Enabled", in theory anything between 0 - 14 should be coral, 14 - 16 should be wet sand, 16 - 17 should be dry sand and 17 - 255 should be grass.
- I click the generate textures option and when it comes back it is almost right, the coral and sand are fine but the grass is patchy, a large flat landmass of 20 height contains sand when it should be all grass.
- I decide to create a grass texture to fill this in "Auto Generate Mask Disabled"
- The texture appears in the paint panel but it will not paint at all, not even the detail texture changes as I paint. I even tried creating a dirt path texture but that will not paint onto grass or sand.

I have tried generating my terrain again but it makes no difference, I just can't seem to texture land, can anyone suggest a mistake I might have made that is preventing me from texturing?

ShinobiNoMono
03-30-2004, 08:04 AM
I cant even get my layers to show up in the paint texture panel...HELppppppp

Nostradamus92
03-30-2004, 08:13 AM
BFWibble:
make sure your land is entirely flat and generate at 4000x something

shinobi: disable auto generate, and go into another window and back to the layer paint window...and there it is http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

------------------------------------------
Fighting for peace is like ****ing for virginity

Mangapork-"the CryEditor makes me mess my pants."

KingGing101
03-30-2004, 03:33 PM
I'm having the same problem. And also another one i'll ask about while i'm here. Here is my map as it stands at the moment:

http://www.lancs.ac.uk/~meyersd/farcryeditor1.jpg

First of all, how do I get rid of the purple tint to the sand? I've regenerated my textures and lightmaps and stuff, the sun is fairly high in the sky (tho not midday). There does appear to be a slight bump to the sand in front of the purple, so i'm assuming it's some kind of shadow, but it just looks baad, and I would like some bumps to my sand without having that there.

For my second point, that pic is fine. And then I try to draw a path on it. I create a layer with a road texture, and create an associated surface type with a road detail texture. I turn off auto generation of the mask and it appears in the Layer Painter window. So I select it, change the radius to 1, and don't touch the hardness ((cos this happens no matter what hardness I use) or the value (cos I don't know what it does. Could someone explain this to me too please?). Then I click to draw on my map in the same way that I would raise terrain. And this happens (after it's done some processing the first time. If I keep trying to do stuff subsequent times don't need the processing):

http://www.lancs.ac.uk/~meyersd/farcryeditor2.jpg
http://www.lancs.ac.uk/~meyersd/farcryeditor3.jpg

Not only has it not drawn my path at all, it's put a damn big yellow square on the ground (OK, my path texture was kinda yellow/brownish, but up close this looks like it's just given a yellow tint to everything it's overlaid on. That is also blatently larger than the radius of 1 that I specified for the layer painter. So what the hell am I doing wrong?

Ta

Dan

CrEEPInG_MonKEY
03-30-2004, 04:43 PM
Im havin the same problem, as you king...I am doing verything right, up until this point...I have auto off, i see it in the layes window, yet its doing that too.

DISREGAURD MY POST...IM A MORON

[This message was edited by CrEEPInG_MonKEY on Tue March 30 2004 at 05:05 PM.]

User123abc
03-30-2004, 06:03 PM
As far as I can tell, the yellow area is absolutely normal. It marks that terrain tile to be modified. The discoloration won't show up on your map after you generate textures.

As for the painter not working, I've had this myself a few times as well. I'm thinking maybe something gets unloaded from memory if you browse the editor too long, or if you make changes in the texture editor. Either way, if your brush isn't painting any texture, just open and close the layer painter, and select your brush again (which should reload the texture info), and it should be back to normal. It works for me.

That color in the sand is shadow, yeah. Don't know if there's much you could do about that. You could try playing around with the lighting color, or the environment color. Messing with other settings, like shadow intensity and blur might help too. Or, you could try changing the direction of the sun.

AcidOsmosis
03-30-2004, 07:20 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by User123abc:
As far as I can tell, the yellow area is absolutely normal. It marks that terrain tile to be modified. The discoloration won't show up on your map after you generate textures.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Shows up on the map for me when I'm finished, after generating textures or even playing the map in the game.

KingGing101
03-31-2004, 03:41 AM
I tried reopening and closing the layer painting winow and even shutting the editor totally and reloading it and then trying again etc et. nohing seemed to work. I got a layer to paint once (albeit with the giant yellow square) but it looked *really* blurry even up close and from a distance and I don't know why cos I had a detail texture and a normal one and everything. But I haven't managed to get it to paint since.

I've also noticed that if you try to 'undo' this change the yellow square doesn't go away, which is also weird.

Dan

We are Pentium of Borg, you will be approximated.

KingGing101
03-31-2004, 07:28 AM
I found the solution in another thread on this forum somewhere. You can't pain with a layer that was created before the last Texture Generation. So to paint a texture onto the map you have to create it anew after a Generate Surface Textures job. And the yellow squares will go away once a generate surface textures job has been done *after* the layer has been painted.

Dan

We are Pentium of Borg, you will be approximated.