PDA

View Full Version : optimal fps - what's minimally acceptable/ideal?



pterodactyl77
04-30-2004, 08:35 AM
hi,

just wondered what "ideal" fps levels are or even what "minimally acceptable" fps levels are...

been running between 10-20s. how high are some of you w/ rip-roaring machines getting and under what circumstances?

may be time to upgrade/modify if i'm quite behind...

thxs.

pterodactyl77
04-30-2004, 08:35 AM
hi,

just wondered what "ideal" fps levels are or even what "minimally acceptable" fps levels are...

been running between 10-20s. how high are some of you w/ rip-roaring machines getting and under what circumstances?

may be time to upgrade/modify if i'm quite behind...

thxs.

Dmitri9mm
04-30-2004, 08:49 AM
I usually run around 50-60 FPS, and my aim becomes really bad around 20, I don't know how you do it! What graphics card do you own?

http://barella.mat.ehime-u.ac.jp/kumac/P51/pics/079s1.gif
The n00b, the n00b, the n00b is on fire.
We don't need no Ponys let the ************ burn. Burn ************! BURN!

nellip
04-30-2004, 08:55 AM
Difficult to give a definitive answer. 10 to 20 is certainly playable.

My machine is about a year old - P4 2.5gHz, Radeon 9700 Pro and 1 GB RAM - so reasonable spec I guess but not cutting edge. I get up to 80fps on reasonable detail with just me at high altitude. At average altitude with other aircraft around I probably average 23-30 fps. Down low with flak then you start getting into single figure slide shows.

If you find 10-20 fps OK then stick with what you have.

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_06.gif

taisto_s
04-30-2004, 09:10 AM
To me over 30fps gives a good realistic feeling to flight and combat. About 40-50 is ideal and above that it doesnt really matter unless Im flying close to deck.

Large forest tend to slow me down to about 35-40fps in a combat situation with several fighters and big formations of B-17s also to 35fps. Generally it stays in 40-70fps.
AA fire from big battle ships like Tirpitz with escort ships drops my fps to about 30-40.

I play All maxed out except the terrain at excellent. With AF=8x-16x and AA=2x,1280x960.

System is pretty basic:AMD3200+, 9800pro, 1024mb

pterodactyl77
04-30-2004, 10:34 AM
thxs all, i'm running a 1 gigahertz Pentium 3, 512 RAM, and a 128 MB ATI Radeon 9000 Pro graphics card...

Appreciate the input...i'll look into tweaking things or upgrading in a major way.

Blade_X_
04-30-2004, 10:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by pterodactyl77:
hi,

just wondered what "ideal" fps levels are or even what "minimally acceptable" fps levels are...

been running between 10-20s. how high are some of you w/ rip-roaring machines getting and under what circumstances?

may be time to upgrade/modify if i'm quite behind...

thxs.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I run between 15-21 FPS, and i usually score a lot of kills, on full-real servers(warclouds/GG). If only i had a good vidcard, my gunnery would rock without all the FPS stalls. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

KADESH70
04-30-2004, 10:51 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by pterodactyl77:
hi,

just wondered what "ideal" fps levels are or even what "minimally acceptable" fps levels are...

been running between 10-20s. how high are some of you w/ rip-roaring machines getting and under what circumstances?

may be time to upgrade/modify if i'm quite behind...

thxs.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I'm using a state of the art machine so I get minimum 35, top 130 FPS, but I think above 30 it's completely playable

If I'm on your six, don't get hurt, BAIL!!!!

taisto_s
04-30-2004, 11:06 AM
A system with 1024mb of RAM, a 9800Pro based card and a AMD 2800/3200+ is all you need for this game currently, if Excellent setting does it for you.

Obi_Kwiet
04-30-2004, 11:21 AM
Well, I play on 1280x960 on Perfect... Everything alce on as high as it will go. I get around 25-30 FPS. Is that ok?

LEXX_Luthor
04-30-2004, 11:26 AM
My 9200 puts out 30pfs at 1152x864x32 flying low over the grafix heavy mountain and forest terrain of south-east Kuban map. ATI made 9200 (non-SE version) is all you need cos IL2/FB is 3 years old now, but spend more money if you like.

You don't really want to PAY to be a volunteer Beta Tester for ATI or Nvida http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Athalon 1700+
WinXP Homely
256MB 133MHz SDRAM
ATI 9200 (non-SE)


__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

scootertgm
04-30-2004, 12:09 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by pterodactyl77:
thxs all, i'm running a 1 gigahertz Pentium 3, 512 RAM, and a 128 MB ATI Radeon 9000 Pro graphics card...

Appreciate the input...i'll look into tweaking things or upgrading in a major way.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Your processor and RAM are as much abottleneck as the rest of your machine. I had a PIII 1000 and 512 and dropped in a radeon 9600XT and saw almost no improvment in FPS as the processor and ram were the bottleneck. Upgrade the motherboard, processor and ram and video card and you'll see night and day difference. with my new rig, down low online at perfect settings I get 60 fps.

LEXX_Luthor
04-30-2004, 12:23 PM
Yes, save for new computer. The most expensive video card will have same fps as cheapest motherboard video if your CPU is choking on too many planes and surface combat units....the CPU load ramps up alot during combat firing between units (here units means AI aircraft and surface tanks, armoured cards, ships, etc...

armoured cards lol http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

PBNA-Boosher
04-30-2004, 12:46 PM
I play generally at 18 fps, but over cities, or if there are more than 8 planes in the air, I drop down to 5-9 fps.

adlabs6
04-30-2004, 01:04 PM
I play at between 25-45, map depending.

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON (http://777avg.com/omegasquad/) | ScreenshotArt.com (http://www.screenshotart.com/home.php)

huggy87
04-30-2004, 01:23 PM
Can somebody post a link, or tell me where to find, the test to determine your average performance in FB. I can't remember what it is called.

Thanks in advance.

LEXX_Luthor
04-30-2004, 01:34 PM
I think that test "Black Death" is in your trak menu in FB. I once found it somewhere in the game and the results surprised me, possibly cos...

I also think that trak measures CPU/memory as well as video, so you must be careful interpreting the numbers the fps meter feeds you during trak playback.

For pure video testing, you need to set up a FMB one-plane "flyable" mission with Onwhine Summer 4 map, the one with the uber high mountains. Alot of grafix intensity on that map. Also, Berlin city is really hard on fps if you fly too close to Berlin (I never use that map).

For CPU testing, set up 32 fighters in QMB and see how much time speed increase your fps can Tolerate when the shooting starts and CPU must calculate thousands of flying shells as well as all the airplanes.

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

huggy87
04-30-2004, 01:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
I think that test "Black Death" is in your trak menu in FB. I once found it somewhere in the game and the results surprised me, possibly cos...

I also think that trak measures CPU/memory as well as video, so you must be careful interpreting the numbers the fps meter feeds you during trak playback.

:<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks Lexx,
But can you elaborate on "interpreting the numbers the fps meter feeds you".

pterodactyl77
04-30-2004, 02:42 PM
thks again everyone (esp scootertgm)
for thoughts on fps and how to improve...



enjoy the weekend

BuzzU
04-30-2004, 02:46 PM
I don't like to ever see less than 30 fps. That's pretty hard with BOE sometimes, but less than 30 fps looks jerky to me.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Buzz
http://www.elknet.pl/acestory/foto/anderson9.jpg

Xiolablu3
04-30-2004, 04:02 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by taisto_s:
A system with 1024mb of RAM, a 9800Pro based card and a AMD 2800/3200+ is all you need for this game currently, if Excellent setting does it for you.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL, you really need to set your system up so its running properly if this is the case.

I have never read such rubbish. My 2500+ with a Radeon 8500 and 256 mb ram runs the game on excellent settings beautifully at 1024x768.

I would reckon that with a 1.4 ghz cpu, a Radeon 8500/9200 or GF 3 TI500 and 512 mb ram set up properly you would have a perfectly decent framerate on excellent settings.

I used to play on medium settings 1024x768 and get perfectly fine fps with a Athlon 800, 256mb ram and a GF 2 MX!

LEXX_Luthor
04-30-2004, 04:15 PM
pterodactyl77, the fps or framerate meter in FB spits out your fps at top of screen. Activate it by Shift+Tab chat command line and typing in FPS show start then press ENTER to exit the chat command line. Replace "start" with "stop" to eliminate fps meter.

By interpreting the numbers I mean the fps may be taken down by grafix card ~or~ by CPU choking on massive AI combat.

This is my idea about this. If there is alot of AI activity going on, the CPU can choke, depending on computer system. The game then slows (fps drops) while waiting for CPU to calculate every bullet or cannon shell. I would ~love~ to get my hands on the Black Death mission file to see the AI aircraft and surface unit setups. Or is the Black Death mission file in FB?

Buzz, if BOE is hitting fps it may be CPU issue with all the ground and air units in the heavy missions.

An interesting concept. As the years go by the older missions written long ago may not be as large or intensive as they can be today with newer CPU and/or memories.

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

PF_Coastie
04-30-2004, 05:23 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Xiolablu3:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by taisto_s:
A system with 1024mb of RAM, a 9800Pro based card and a AMD 2800/3200+ is all you need for this game currently, if Excellent setting does it for you.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL, you really need to set your system up so its running properly if this is the case.

I have never read such rubbish. My 2500+ with a Radeon 8500 and 256 mb ram runs the game on excellent settings beautifully at 1024x768.

I would reckon that with a 1.4 ghz cpu, a Radeon 8500/9200 or GF 3 TI500 and 512 mb ram set up properly you would have a perfectly decent framerate on excellent settings.

I used to play on medium settings 1024x768 and get perfectly fine fps with a Athlon 800, 256mb ram and a GF 2 MX!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL, Just goes to show you how different peoples perception of smooth or playable is! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif

If you are running with 256 megs of system ram, you are accessing the hard drive in any kind of action. This will mean many pauses and jitters and a very low fps.

I would never play the game if I had to go back to something like that. But, If you are used to it and have never seen the game running 40+ fps constantly on excellent settings and 4xAA, 8x aniso, then you just don't know how awesome this game can really look and feel.

The bottom line is, If you are happy and are having fun, Go with it. If you can afford to upgrade, do it big so you can enjoy the game to its fullest potential.

WUAF_Badsight
04-30-2004, 08:30 PM
anything over 30 FPS is a smooth running game

Tully__
05-01-2004, 01:11 AM
The borderline performance point varies from person to person. For me, anything over about 28fps seems to work ok, anything increase beyond 40fps isn't noticeable.

For 1st person shooter games, and extra 5-10fps is desirable as targets move through bigger angles in shorter times during close quarters combat.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/legalsig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully