PDA

View Full Version : Joystick with separate Throttle Quad Support?



VF-11 Vadger
08-15-2004, 02:20 PM
Ok I think this was mentioned but I couldnt find the post. Does this game support joysticks with a separate throttle system? I have my Thrustmaster HOTAS system and It absolutly drives me nuts when a flight sim does not support all of this equipment. Its like trying to play a FPS that doesnt support all 5 Mouse buttons.

http://www.highalpharc.com/COD/cod2.jpg

VF-11 Vadger
08-15-2004, 02:20 PM
Ok I think this was mentioned but I couldnt find the post. Does this game support joysticks with a separate throttle system? I have my Thrustmaster HOTAS system and It absolutly drives me nuts when a flight sim does not support all of this equipment. Its like trying to play a FPS that doesnt support all 5 Mouse buttons.

http://www.highalpharc.com/COD/cod2.jpg

Fliger747
08-15-2004, 04:00 PM
There are ways of monkeying around with the system, at least in FB, to get such to work. I presume you have USB controls? It took a bit ofdoing but I got my Saitek X45 with seperate quadrant to work WITH a pair of CH-Pro USB Pedals. A reasonably good setup.

If you use all controls of one make, you may be able to use manufacturer provided software to configure the seperate pieces to act as one (virtual) control unit. I know CH software allows one to do this with their products.

VF-11 Vadger
08-15-2004, 05:06 PM
Ive got the X45 as well usually I can get one or the other to work in the sim. MS FS 2k4 had the best control setup than any other sim on the planet. It was so easy to setup what I wanted.

http://www.highalpharc.com/COD/cod2.jpg

Fliger747
08-15-2004, 05:24 PM
In attempt to make things "easy" FB is supposed to sense which control you are using, which is where I had problems setting up the rudder pedals. As the brakes had no 'null zone' to speak of, it was sensing I wanted the rudder assigned to the left brake!

Go to the HOTAS section of controls, which is used to set up various "control axes". You should be able to split off the various controls as you desire. For the Saitek I had to assign the squeeze rudder bar to some other function so as to not have a conflict.

I admit it's not as good as some at assigning the switchology as you desire. CFS2 Was much better in some ways.

Good luck!