PDA

View Full Version : How to change mix control in German planes?



XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 04:49 PM
A noob question I know, but I cannot set the mixture to manual in any german plane I tried (109 E, F, G, K).

The "Mixture 100 (auto rich)" key doesn't work. Before, pressing it would change between auto and manual mix, now it doesn't.

Does anyone know how to enable manual mix control?

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 04:49 PM
A noob question I know, but I cannot set the mixture to manual in any german plane I tried (109 E, F, G, K).

The "Mixture 100 (auto rich)" key doesn't work. Before, pressing it would change between auto and manual mix, now it doesn't.

Does anyone know how to enable manual mix control?

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 05:14 PM
bump

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 05:22 PM
I thought there was something in the patch that disabled the manual mixture control - however some were reporting that the planes had auto-mixture.

Can anyone confirm?

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 05:24 PM
Can't do it manually on the late 109's its auto, just one less thing to worry about.

As for Early i don't fly them, and 190's i don't fly them.



Message Edited on 08/18/0309:25AM by EyesBlack

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 05:37 PM
"its auto, just one less thing to worry about."



gah!

... if that is correct then it's just one less adjustment to help get you home when low on fuel and still over the Gulf of Finland.

sigh!


Falcon

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_euro_us_02.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 06:02 PM
Yup thats about it to, at least it better be on auto and not stuck at 100 or something like that to cause worse performance at high altitudes... cause that would cheese me off. But meh the fact is on the late 109's there is no mix, that at least I can deal with.

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 07:23 PM
... but what about all P-39's, all P-40's except the Field Mod and at least some of the hurris? No mixture control!

ak!


falgone?

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_euro_us_02.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 07:30 PM
not sure if its a bug or historical but many ac now do not have fuel mixture control only yak & la and a few others

I know the late 109 had auto mix built in too them

It never did anything anyway prepatch I tested late 109 pre patch no effect when mixing fuel

<center><FONT COLOR="white">”öFJ-M √Ňď R D √ňú ”°[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059752328.jpg </center>

<center><FONT COLOR="white">The "Ace Edge"(c).
With my incremental trim
I am actually able to turn so quickly that, I never turn at all.
In Fact the Planet Earth rotates around the Axis of My PC, thus giving me the optimum turn rate and insuring that you
the bandit are promptly fraged !!!
In memory Of Ray R.I.P.[/i]</font>

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 08:09 PM
Look at the folowing scenario which happened to me twice and to many other pilots as well:

Flying the VEF, we fly F2/F4 and upon returning to base we are bingo fuel. It's OFTEN a race whether we will reach base before fuel runs out. And no droptanks on F2 and F4.

And you know how important it is in a war that you don't have to think whether you'll have enough fuel to get home after a difficult mission.

Before the patch I used mix regularly and it DID have an effect.

I know that late 109's had auto, but early ones should have it on manual.

And why not have an option for ALL planes to have it on manual? Experienced flyers will sure benefit from it, and the newbies (and those who don't want to bother with it) can have it on auto.

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 08:20 PM
From what I read in FB manual,all Me109 should have manual mixture setting available.



Robi_15_JG52 wrote:
- Look at the folowing scenario which happened to me
- twice and to many other pilots as well:
-
- Flying the VEF, we fly F2/F4 and upon returning to
- base we are bingo fuel. It's OFTEN a race whether we
- will reach base before fuel runs out. And no
- droptanks on F2 and F4.
-
- And you know how important it is in a war that you
- don't have to think whether you'll have enough fuel
- to get home after a difficult mission.
-
- Before the patch I used mix regularly and it DID
- have an effect.
-
- I know that late 109's had auto, but early ones
- should have it on manual.


Me109F have enough fuel for every mission.You just can`t go with 100% throttle all the time.Even now F lets a 15min fight go on.Emil is another story.Either take the droptank or cruise at 65% throttle and have 5min combat.



"degustibus non disputandum"

<center>http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sig23d.jpg

<center>"Weder Tod noch Teufel!"</font>[/B]</center> (http://www.jzg23.de>[B]<font)

michapma
08-19-2003, 07:55 AM
I should think that the throttle and especially RPM settings have a much bigger impact on fuel economy than mixture.

As for the P-40 and P-39, they had auto settings, you couldn't control it manually. (100% shure about auto setting, 95% sure you couldn't control it manually.)

Don't know about the early-model 109s (E and F for FB). The E's were before the Kommandoger√¬§t, don't know about the F's. I think the Kommandoger√¬§t controlled all engine-related settings, but I agree that there was quite probably the ability to control it manually.

Mike

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="10"><tr valign="middle" bgcolor="#3e463b"><td height="40" colspan="3" align="center">The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide project (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/)</a></td></tr><tr bgcolor="#515e2f"><td width="40%">FB engine management:
Manifold Pressure sucks (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182081-1.html)
Those Marvelous Props (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182082-1.html)
Mixture Magic (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182084-1.html)
Putting It All Together (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182085-1.html)
Those Fire-Breathing Turbos (Part 1 of 6) (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182102-1.html)</td><td align="center">

‚ =69.GIAP=Chap‚

69.GIAP (http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/giap/)</p></td><td width="40%" align="right" valign="top">Hardware:
Flight Simulation Performance Analyzed (http://www.simhq.com/_air/air_062a.html)
Building a home-made throttle quadrant step by step (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=zkavv)
Sound Can Be Hazardous for Games (http://www6.tomshardware.com/game/20030405/index.html)</td></tr></table>

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:25 AM
Well it doesn't have anythin to do with mixture but i have another problem. I can't manually adjust prop pitch in some BF's- E4 for example, before the patch i managed to increase or decrease prop pitch or use shift1,2,3 for some preset prop piutchs that i mostly used for that plane.
But now, i'm a bit lost. I just can't do that anymore.
Please help me. Some ppl told me to toggle the manual prop pitch but i can't find a setting in controls to bind somethin like that. As i said before i didnt use any toggling of manual prop pitch just increased it or decreased it as needed.
What am i doing wrong?
Thanx

P.S. Robi jel mi mozes pomoc mozda?

<marquee>TEAM VIKINGS (http://www.teamvikings.net)</marquee>

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:58 AM
It is auto

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 10:13 AM
Yeah but it's not reactin to shift+0 like K4 for example, it's not switchin: prop pitch100% and porp pitch/auto...
I really loved messin with prop pitch on Emil it gave me better performance dependin on situation.


Message Edited on 08/19/0310:15AM by VK_Dim

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 10:44 AM
VK_Dim wrote:
- Yeah but it's not reactin to shift+0 like K4 for
- example, it's not switchin: prop pitch100% and porp
- pitch/auto...
- I really loved messin with prop pitch on Emil it
- gave me better performance dependin on situation.

Very strange indeed. Manual prop pitch works like a charm for me. Maybe you have to check key assignments to see if "auto pitch" key is still the same after patch..?


--
Joques
Ok, so you've got a Yak
That don't impress me much

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 05:54 AM
Pozdrav, Dim!

Nisam √¬®uo za "VK" squad, mozes li stavit URL za site?

Ovako: Prop pitch se moze mijenjati na SVIM 109-kama. Default je "shift+0". Ukoliko ti ne radi, probaj promijeniti tipku za "prop. pitch auto" u igri.

Ina√¬®e, ne bih ti savjetovao ru√¬®nu kontrolu pitcha na kasnijim 109-kama, osobito K4 budu√¬¶i da ima prevelik momenat i ubrzanje za u√¬®inkovitu ru√¬®nu kontrolu. I ja sam pokusao ru√¬®no upravljati pitchom ali mi u dosta slu√¬®ajeva zna riknut motor.

Jedini slu√¬®aj kada bih ti preporu√¬®io ru√¬®nu kontrolu u K4 jest kod penjanja (100% pitch) te kad moras nekom pobje√¬¶i (MW50+ pitch 0%).

Nadam se da sam ti pomogao.

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 09:00 AM
Ma VK ti je moj bivsi team za ghost reocn. A inace sam bio u tvojem squadronu samo sma imal problema s kompom tak da sam odustal. Sve ti ja kuzim u ovoj igrici tu nemas beda jedino me jebe taj prop pitch sa Emilom. Cesto ga vozim pogotovo na serverima '39-'42. Ne mogu bez toga sa Emilom. Danas cu probati reassignati key.



<marquee>TEAM VIKINGS (http://www.teamvikings.net)</marquee>

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 05:54 PM
Ah da, Dim, sje√¬¶am se.."most wanted" hehe http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Kaj probleme nismo mogli rijesiti?
Ina√¬®e, kad nekog nekaj mu√¬®i s kompom, pita na forumu i onda nasi softwerasi/hardwerasi pokusaju pomo√¬¶i.


Ak si sad rijesio probleme i jos si voljan u√¬¶i u squad, uvijek si dobrodosao!

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 06:02 PM
Mixture on german Ac is auto.

Always was, even before the patch.

Prepatch the mixture used to change on screen but never really changed the mixture. Try cutting the mixture to 0 in an emil prepatch and it will still run fine!

"Do unto others before they do unto you"

XyZspineZyX
08-20-2003, 06:57 PM
I see alot of ppl saying that the Mix. control in most of the 109`s were auto control!

Question:
When this came up before FB`s first released I looked around on the web. and found a site (will look again) that had the AOM (airmans operation manual) that stated that the 109 K4 did have automixture control but also had the lever for manual control of the mixture. I got to play around with beta 7 and the mixture control worked in it and also made a difference in the engine running you could also bring the mix control back to idle cut-off and the engine would stop. I still have beta 7 if someone wants to try it out.

Now if this is just a case of the incorrect modeling and the 109 G6/AS K4 really has auto control only then why is the a lever in cockpit and was it normal operating procedures to shut down the engine by turning off the mags?

Which seems A little strange after calling a few museums with late 109`s and they have mixture control and shut down the engine with it as in normal operation, not by using the mags.

Not trying to start a food fight here would really like to no one way or the other. Because last time never got an answer.
TKS

~S~