PDA

View Full Version : mouse wheel & trim: posssilbe solution



gmot_ka
06-01-2004, 06:34 AM
Hallo,

Anyone who tried to use the mouse wheel as a elevator trim knows the problem of not knowing the position of the trim at the begining of a fight. This makes take off difficult.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=678102434&r=678102434#678102434

There is a possible solution. I used the mouse wheel as throttle and found out, that if I have full (or 0%) throttle I need 25 'clicks' with the mouse wheel to get 50% throttle. The same is the case for the elevator trim. So before taking off I trim totaly up and then trim down counting 25 clicks with the mouse wheel. After that I have nearly neutral elevator trim.

I think thats what some other off you are also doing.

gmot_ka
06-01-2004, 06:34 AM
Hallo,

Anyone who tried to use the mouse wheel as a elevator trim knows the problem of not knowing the position of the trim at the begining of a fight. This makes take off difficult.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=678102434&r=678102434#678102434

There is a possible solution. I used the mouse wheel as throttle and found out, that if I have full (or 0%) throttle I need 25 'clicks' with the mouse wheel to get 50% throttle. The same is the case for the elevator trim. So before taking off I trim totaly up and then trim down counting 25 clicks with the mouse wheel. After that I have nearly neutral elevator trim.

I think thats what some other off you are also doing.

LEXX_Luthor
06-01-2004, 06:43 AM
Hey not bad.

But I can feel the trim position in the joystick, and take off is no problem. Also you can hit the trim neutral key and then you should be centered.

And if I recall my few times in Cessna 152, you don't have any trim indicator but you feel the trim in the control wheel. mmm

Thanks!

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

RxMan
06-01-2004, 06:45 AM
There is a key assignment for neutral trim, just use the keyboard or assign a stick key, or maybe even the right mouse button for neutral trim.

gmot_ka
06-01-2004, 06:53 AM
the problem is that the neutral key is overwritten by the position of the mouse wheel. So if I hit the neutral key the trim is neutralize maybe for a second and then it is back where it was before.

I had only problems with take off. In the air you see the effect of the elevator trim. But on ground ...

Anyway this small procedure I can take off normaly and use the mousewheel as elevator trim. Maybe some of you find that procedure helpfull.

swambast
06-01-2004, 06:55 AM
LEXX,

Just quick comment, I know it's probably been a while for ya. But your Cessna, like almost all planes, does have a trim indicator. In fact, it plays a pretty critical role for cross-checks: i.e., Before take-off, set the trim indicator to the take-off position. Just an FYI, that's all...

LEXX_Luthor
06-01-2004, 06:58 AM
Yes I am starting to remember now. Okay set trim for takeoff--I am "kinda" remembering that...not well though but if its there I did it with insturctor that's for sure. Its been awhile...THANKS


FB...okay the neutral trim button works for me, and is independent of current mouse wheel position if I hit the neutral trim button. mmm


__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

gmot_ka
06-01-2004, 07:34 AM
LEXX, did you assign the mouse wheel to the elevator trim and your trim neutral button is working? The button is working only if I don't assign the mousewheel to the elevator trim. At least in my case. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/blink.gif

Dawg-of-death
06-01-2004, 08:31 AM
I have programed Elv Neutral key with mouse middle by pressing down on mouse wheel. Controls will not recognize mouse wheel fwd or mouse wheel back. If I could get that to work it would be nice. I wonder why it dosn't see mouse wheel fwd or mouse wheel back?

S~

BadM-F(Mongrel-Fighter)...... AKA Dawg-of-death

Tully__
06-01-2004, 08:51 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dawg-of-death:
I have programed Elv Neutral key with mouse middle by pressing down on mouse wheel. Controls will not recognize mouse wheel fwd or mouse wheel back. If I could get that to work it would be nice. I wonder why it dosn't see mouse wheel fwd or mouse wheel back?

S~

BadM-F(Mongrel-Fighter)...... AKA Dawg-of-death<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Right at the bottom of the controls screen in the section under the "HOTAS" heading you'll find an axis assignment for elevator trim. You can assign mousewheel rotation there. The assignment near the top of the controls screen is for keyboard/dxbutton assignment only.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

ucanfly
06-01-2004, 09:45 AM
Unfortunately not all of us can use the neutral trim command when using the mousewheel because the mouse wheel position overrides the neutral trim command. Must be a mouse driver thing. The first post is therefore a good suggestion when in doubt and when there is not a trim indicator in cockpit or when you don't have externals where you can look at the elevator position.

Hrannar
06-01-2004, 10:26 AM
I set up the mousewheel for trim, and ran a quick test in the FMB with the Spitfire. I could reset the trim with the assigned key, but when I moved the mouse, the trim indicator jumped back to the previous position http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/blink.gif

http://www.simnet.is/neindecker/misc/tonyjonsson.jpg

LEXX_Luthor
06-01-2004, 12:15 PM
I was (choke) wrong again. Tested and yes neutral trim button is overidden by mouse view look. I am using Windows mouse driver, so never installed any mouse driver. mmm I never use the neutral button, the mouse trim wheel works so natural I never needed it.

Well that's the second screw up I made here, so I will get out and stay out now.

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif