PDA

View Full Version : Is it me or do others see the runway being drawn a few hundred feet out in front of the plane



XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:25 PM
I think it is called draw distance in some older games - but I running in perfect mode ?

</script><center>
http://www.aviation-history.com/curtiss/p40jf.jpg
<marquee align="middle" behavior="alternate" loop="infinite"HSPACE="230<tt>[i]<span style="color: cc0033; font-size: 13pt<p align=center style="width:100%; filter:glow[color=#33CCFF, strength=2)">~ ArtAttack ~</span></table></tt>[i]</marquee<



Message Edited on 09/19/0305:26AM by artatack

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:25 PM
I think it is called draw distance in some older games - but I running in perfect mode ?

</script><center>
http://www.aviation-history.com/curtiss/p40jf.jpg
<marquee align="middle" behavior="alternate" loop="infinite"HSPACE="230<tt>[i]<span style="color: cc0033; font-size: 13pt<p align=center style="width:100%; filter:glow[color=#33CCFF, strength=2)">~ ArtAttack ~</span></table></tt>[i]</marquee<



Message Edited on 09/19/0305:26AM by artatack

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:32 PM
I get that as well

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:45 PM
I'm not running perfect but I do see the runway. However the runway detail out past 100 yards sort of blurs.
The better your mode the farther you should be able to see. Unlike me at 4,000 feet if they're below say 1,000 feet they magically dissappear.
I guess I should turn it back up. I ran perfect originally with only a little jerkiness over cities etc. So I switched it down to good. I' rather have smooth play that photographic graphics.

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:53 PM
I don't run perfect mode - but I do see this effect,

I suspect a big high quality template is is being used for the near distance - with smaller templates in the distance.

<div align="center">

http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/signature/paint_sig_003.jpg

I've given up correcting my own spelling
Unless I've corrected it here <MAP NAME="paint_sig_003"><AREA SHAPE="rect" COORDS="0,159,199,199" HREF="http://www.il2airracing.com" TARGET="_blank" alt="Air Racing" title="Air Racing"><AREA SHAPE="rect" COORDS="0,0,199,159" HREF="http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/" title="Painter's home page" alt="Painter's home page"><AREA SHAPE="rect" COORDS="199,0,399,199" HREF="http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/index.html" TARGET="_blank" alt="Painter's IL2 Pages" title="Painter's IL2 Pages">
</MAP></div>

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 01:58 PM
Try some anisotrophic filtering



<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 02:06 PM
It's more noticeable on the grass I see textured grass near me and untextured further out, then it gets filled in a large block at a time.





</script><center>
http://www.aviation-history.com/curtiss/p40jf.jpg
<marquee align="middle" behavior="alternate" loop="infinite"HSPACE="230<tt>[i]<span style="color: cc0033; font-size: 13pt<p align=center style="width:100%; filter:glow[color=#33CCFF, strength=2)">~ ArtAttack ~</span></table></tt>[i]</marquee<

Zayets
09-19-2003, 02:09 PM
AF will kill my Ti4600 I believe and most of the time I bail out , what's this stuff with landing your crate?

Zayets out

http://www.arr.go.ro/iar81c.JPG

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 02:48 PM
How are you to do final approach in the 262 since this final leg is begun at a 3km distance, if one can't see the runway? In fact the cicuit is 2km wide. Who can see a runway from 2km?



http://www.stenbergaa.com/stenberg/west-battleline.jpg



"Only a dead 'chamber pot' is a good 'chamber pot'!"

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 02:49 PM
Hopperfly22 wrote:
- I'm not running perfect but I do see the runway.
- However the runway detail out past 100 yards sort of
- blurs.

Same with me.
And also roads and railroads...



http://www.uploadit.org/files/170903-G55_Firma.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 02:55 PM
As RBJ said, you'll need to activate anisotropic filtering, preferably from the FB setup menu rather than your graphics drivers.

The trilinear filtering "plane" [literal] is only ever going to be so far ahead of your point of view in the game world, and it's set where it's set.


http://home.iprimus.com.au/djgwen/fb/worker_parasite.jpg

Need help with NewView? Read this thread. (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=yzbcj)

XyZspineZyX
09-19-2003, 04:05 PM
Guess I will do some digging in the setings - I thought perfect would have maxed everything out. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

</script><center>
http://www.aviation-history.com/curtiss/p40jf.jpg
<marquee align="middle" behavior="alternate" loop="infinite"HSPACE="230<tt>[i]<span style="color: cc0033; font-size: 13pt<p align=center style="width:100%; filter:glow[color=#33CCFF, strength=2)">~ ArtAttack ~</span></table></tt>[i]</marquee<