PDA

View Full Version : AC Rogue, Viking History fail?

mauerman
03-13-2015, 11:59 AM
I started playing Rogue, and I came across a tablet with some of Otso Berg's profile. He told a story of the Viking raid on the monastery in Northumberland in 793. He called it Lindsifarne. The name is Lindisfarne. Is this on purpose (if so, why change the position of two letters, when all other facts are correct) or is it just an incredibly stupid spelling mistake that no one thought to correct?

Regards,
mauerman

ze_topazio
03-13-2015, 01:35 PM
Probably just a spelling mistake.

JamesFaith007
03-13-2015, 01:49 PM
Normal spelling mistake, happens all the time.

And I wouldn't call it incredibly stupid, even best collector can't hunt down all typos in such long text and for every one he missed there are dozens he found and corrected.

bitebug2003
03-13-2015, 05:17 PM
Little pedantic to worry about a typo (the fact it's not a common word either).

i.e. the very first instance of 'Esper' was misspelled as 'Espier' in FFVI for Android - obviously fans picked up on that immediately and Square Enix changed it. <--- This I can understand.

Megas_Doux
03-13-2015, 05:21 PM
I noticed because Im a huge history nerd, but meh! A typo and nothing more.

ze_topazio
03-13-2015, 05:33 PM
Back in AC4 in the Kenway fleet missions, in one of the missions in Lisbon, they call the Portuguese royal palace the "Rebeira palace", but the palace was called "Ribeira" and not "Rebeira".

Just as a curiosity, in Rogue, the last building Shay enters before jumping in to the river is the Ribeira palace.

Locopells
03-13-2015, 06:03 PM
Probably a typo.

Been, to Lindisfarne, nice place.

mauerman
03-13-2015, 07:18 PM
It may just be a typo, but the actors who read it say Lindsifarne, multiple times.
How come no one, in the sound studio, the actors themselves, or the hundreds of proofreaders didn't catch it?