PDA

View Full Version : I managed to send the nonspinning La-5 into spin



XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 10:51 AM
Some airplanes in the game are said to be very easy to fly since they hardly stall and their spin recovery is favourable. In particular, for a month of playing with La-5 my stall recovery practice was just to leave the stick in the middle position and wait (unless too low). And this worked all the time till yesterday.

Yesterday it was the first time that I experienced the stall and then spin all the way to the ground (3000m) in a La-5. I am by no means an expert here but I pretend to know now how to yank the stick without stalling. At least in a stress free situation as yesterday (offline). I spent nearly 3 hours in various planes I had felt familiar with and it was all the same: whenever I pull the stick just a little I hear a buffeting. The result was, for any plane, very similar; let's say I am trying to loop, initial speed between 320 - 400km/h depending on the plane.
- if I pull the stick gently, I hear just buffeting, my speed drops like a rock (increased drag during buffeting) and on the top of a loop I am under 100km/h - spin.
- if I pull the stick a little harder (I mean a little, say in the middle of the joystick's backward movement range) I hear a louder buffeting, the plane gets up (quite slowly) by some 30 degrees and then spins.

Other manoeuvres the same or worse (instantaneous spin on exit of a split-S).

I know this is far from reality and a bad habit but until yesterday I was able to pull the stick all the way back and the La-5 did not stall unless too slow...

Then I took a look into my cockpit. Joystick left in the middle position, hands off, and I see the flight stick vibrate. External view - the elevators vibrate as well. I am sure it was not aerodynamically induced effect.

In the meantime I calibrated the joystick, tried to adjust the noise filters, restarted the computer 5 times etc. Nothing works. Then I tried it in another game (an arcade called Xenocracy) and it was OK. Nevertheless, Xenocracy is not that sensitive to joystick.

Now I don't understand, is my knappstick damaged (after 6 months or so), is something wrong with the game or am I too old for this?

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 10:51 AM
Some airplanes in the game are said to be very easy to fly since they hardly stall and their spin recovery is favourable. In particular, for a month of playing with La-5 my stall recovery practice was just to leave the stick in the middle position and wait (unless too low). And this worked all the time till yesterday.

Yesterday it was the first time that I experienced the stall and then spin all the way to the ground (3000m) in a La-5. I am by no means an expert here but I pretend to know now how to yank the stick without stalling. At least in a stress free situation as yesterday (offline). I spent nearly 3 hours in various planes I had felt familiar with and it was all the same: whenever I pull the stick just a little I hear a buffeting. The result was, for any plane, very similar; let's say I am trying to loop, initial speed between 320 - 400km/h depending on the plane.
- if I pull the stick gently, I hear just buffeting, my speed drops like a rock (increased drag during buffeting) and on the top of a loop I am under 100km/h - spin.
- if I pull the stick a little harder (I mean a little, say in the middle of the joystick's backward movement range) I hear a louder buffeting, the plane gets up (quite slowly) by some 30 degrees and then spins.

Other manoeuvres the same or worse (instantaneous spin on exit of a split-S).

I know this is far from reality and a bad habit but until yesterday I was able to pull the stick all the way back and the La-5 did not stall unless too slow...

Then I took a look into my cockpit. Joystick left in the middle position, hands off, and I see the flight stick vibrate. External view - the elevators vibrate as well. I am sure it was not aerodynamically induced effect.

In the meantime I calibrated the joystick, tried to adjust the noise filters, restarted the computer 5 times etc. Nothing works. Then I tried it in another game (an arcade called Xenocracy) and it was OK. Nevertheless, Xenocracy is not that sensitive to joystick.

Now I don't understand, is my knappstick damaged (after 6 months or so), is something wrong with the game or am I too old for this?

fluke39
10-16-2003, 11:01 AM
i'm not quite sure whaty your saying, but i think that sounds normal to me

opr are you saying you have alot of experience at flying - (hardly ever stall) and now all of a sudden you keep stalling for no apparent reason?

<center><img src=http://mysite.freeserve.com/Angel_one_five/flukelogo.jpg>

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 11:06 AM
I am saying that after some month of a spin-free gaming experience I cannot even make the simpliest air manoeuvre in the easiest airplane. As if I were on my first time in the sim. By then I was pulling the stick too hard. Now I don't know why. Has anyone encountered a similar phenomenon?

fluke39
10-16-2003, 11:18 AM
bizarre - never seen or heard of that before

perhaps you are loading up il2 instead of FB ? /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

J/K



sorry i can't help - perhaps you should try posting in the tech forum aswell - good luck anyway

<center><img src=http://mysite.freeserve.com/Angel_one_five/flukelogo.jpg>

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 11:19 AM
Did you have "stalls and spins" unchecked in difficulty settings before and didn't know it maybe?



PF-Coastie

<p align="center">http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/images/419x100phantomfighters01.gif (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/default.asp)

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 11:20 AM
I am having Il2 instead of anything else http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_redface.gif)
Sorry for not having mentioned this.

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 11:31 AM
Check your stick output. If the pots are dirty the output values can be non-linear.

This happens very often with Cougar. You get the authentic feeling when you have to do maintenence after every 100 flight hours.

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 11:39 AM
Sane appen to me!... (MS FF " 1st old model...).. stall and spins ever cecked till I installed the game...

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 11:40 AM
Oh... that may be the problem, will check it today.

The reality settings have been the same all the time.

Tully__
10-16-2003, 11:46 AM
I have seen spiky pots (usually caused by dirt in the pots, but in older j/sticks can be just plain wear & tear) in logitech, saiteck, cougar, gravis, and thrustmaster sticks. It's almost certain to happen from time to time in any joystick that uses pots, though the frequency will depend on the quality of the pots and the environment in which they're used.

To check for spiking, go into the Windows joystick properties and see what the cross is doing in the "test" tab. Test at centered and partly deflected positions in both axes. There should be no more than a small amount (5% of total movement or less) of "flutter" in a brand new joystick, with most better quality items being rock steady. If there's more than 10%, your stick is in need of attention.

I once had a Saitek that was giving full scale spikes. Nasty trying to fly with that, particularly on take-offs and landings /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> The "under performing planes" thread (http://www.simhq.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=35;t=007540) /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif </center>
<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>
<center> Sig size limits (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=yzrgs)</center>
<center><font size="-2" color="#88aadd">IL2 Forums Moderator</font></center>


Salut
Tully

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 06:21 PM
The maintenance didn't help... I do not have spikes anymore, but anyplane stalls at any speed under the lightest touch on the stick. I will uninstall the game and install it again. Heilig's Blechle...

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 07:51 PM
fluke39 wrote:
- bizarre - never seen or heard of that before
-
- perhaps you are loading up il2 instead of FB
- J/K
-
-
-
- sorry i can't help - perhaps you should try posting
- in the tech forum aswell - good luck anyway



:-D

Also, if you change the "pilot" that you are flying in the offline game menu that will change your game assignments and perhaps sensitivity as well, you may want to check that you haven't ramped up the curves.

(I got used to mine all at 100 because of a strange anomoly with CH pedals, and now normal settings just don't seem right!)

S!
TX-EcoDragon
Black 1
TX Squadron XO
http://www.txsquadron.com

(Former)Reserve Pilot Aircraft #2 of Gruppo 313
Pattuglia Acrobatica Virtuale
http://www.pav-amvi.it

http://www.attitudeaviation.com/

http://www.calaggieflyers.com/



http://www.txsquadron.com/images/txsquadron_main.gif




Message Edited on 10/16/0310:54AM by TX-EcoDragon

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 08:07 PM
No it wasn't that - I have only one pilot and I was playing on the default sensitivity settings all the time - was happy with them till now. I have tried changing them yesterday but it didn't help also...