PDA

View Full Version : Help Using Downloaded Skins



ManiK_Impresive
01-21-2004, 08:39 AM
What do I need to do to do to a skin that I have just downloaded to get it to work ingame?

ManiK_Impresive
01-21-2004, 08:39 AM
What do I need to do to do to a skin that I have just downloaded to get it to work ingame?

TX-Zen
01-21-2004, 08:52 AM
Make sure it is unzipped (if thats how you downloaded it) and then copy and paste into the specific plane folder.

You can then select that from the list of skins in the arming screen in game.

TX-Zen
Black 6
TX-Squadron CO
http://www.txsquadron.com
clyndes@hotmail.com (IM Only)
TX-OC3 Server 209.163.147.69:21000
http://www.txsquadron.com/library/20031218144359_Zensig2.jpg (http://www.txsquadron.com)

Slush69
01-21-2004, 08:53 AM
You need to save it in the right folder in the game directory.

I'm at work right now, but I believe the folder is called "skins". Save the file in the subfolder with the corresponding planetype, and you're all set.

I assume that you know, that you can change the skin in "aircraft customization" during the briefing.

cheers/slush

http://www.wilcks.dk/crap/Eurotrolls.gif

ManiK_Impresive
01-21-2004, 04:18 PM
I've tried just unzippin them into the skins folder then the subfolder (the skin is polished aluminum for the P-93N1) and it wont work

BTW I only have IL-2, not FB yet so if there is something different that I have to do to get them to work what is it?

TX-Zen
01-21-2004, 04:21 PM
IL2 doesn't read the FB skins because they are 1024x1024.

IL2 uses 512x512 lower resolution skins...pasting 1024x skins in the IL2 folders doesn't help, they won't show up in game and can't be selected.

TX-Zen
Black 6
TX-Squadron CO
http://www.txsquadron.com
clyndes@hotmail.com (IM Only)
TX-OC3 Server 209.163.147.69:21000
http://www.txsquadron.com/library/20031218144359_Zensig2.jpg (http://www.txsquadron.com)

ManiK_Impresive
01-23-2004, 07:24 PM
oh, I see, is it posible to change them to 512x512? and if not do you know any places that have skins for IL-2 not FB?

willyvic
01-23-2004, 09:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ManiK_Impresive:
oh, I see, is it posible to change them to 512x512? and if not do you know any places that have skins for IL-2 not FB?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, you can resize them to 512x512. They are still only 8 bit by 256 images. The same format that IL2 uses. I use Paint Shop Pro or Adobe Photoshop to resize mine. The standard windows Paint program will not resize properly. Hope this helps.

http://www.rcaf-squadron.org/willyvic/images/mig3u.jpg